Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.2 out of 5
5 Stars
93 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
91 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
41 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
4 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
2 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Even better than the first one

    Misty Evans and Adrienne Giordano always make an impressive pairing and 1st Shock, the first book in their new Schock Sisters series, is the perfect example of how well their work blends. One was an FBI profiler. One was an FBI forensic artist. Now these sisters have brought those special talents to their own private investigation agency. They not only help law enforcement identify unknown victims and help catch the killers, they reunite living families. In 1st Shock, we get to see them working on both kinds of cases. Naturally the serial killer, who targets the sisters when they tie the style of the murder of the new victims to a killer they have already captured, is the more exciting tale but both are fascinating. Perfect for fans of Iris Johansen, but not quite as dark as her books with a bit of humor to provide some balance and they get to work with the living sometimes! I requested an ARC from Misty Evans, as I do whenever I get the chance. Who wouldn't want to read any of her books as early as possible? I will be buying a personal copy as soon as it is available and look forward to spending more time with Schock sisters, Meg and Charlie, and with Matt and JJ. IF you are already a fan these two awesome authors, you might remember meeting Matt and the Schock sisters in Missing Justice, Matt and Taylor's story.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Great new series with this sister duo

    This is a great start to a new series. Together, Meg and Charlie Schock solve a mystery after a skull is found. Meg brings the skull to life with her artistic skills and Charlie is the 'true' investigator but together they are unstoppable! The end of the book had me on the edge of my seat.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Great.

    Loved this story and the characters. Look forward to the next adventure.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • A great mystery to kick off this new series!

    Another great story from Misty Evans and Adrienne Giordano. With a great mystery to solve and an undercurrent of romance, First Shock was a great start to this new series! The Schock sisters are an interesting pairing and I loved how they worked together, playing off of each other’s strengths and weaknesses while always keeping each other’s best interests at the forefront. Charlie, a forensic psychologist, was tough as nails when it came to solving cases and doing investigative work, while Meg, a forensic sculptor, was more emotion driven and had a hard time keeping an emotional distance from her subjects. And despite the vast differences between these two, they way they are brought to life just works – it works in how they play off of each other during an investigation, it works when they look out for each other emotionally and physically, and it works when it comes to sticking up for each other and having each other’s back. This book was more suspense/mystery than romance, but I liked how the romance was used in the book to help define the characters and move the story along, and also setting the stage for future books as the relationship between Charlie and JJ gets further defined. The mystery itself was very well done, keeping me fully engaged even though I had an idea of who the bad guy was going to be. I also liked that there were a few other cases that were touched upon, which has me interested to see where this series can go, especially with the teaser at the end that looks to set up the next book. As usual, Evans and Giordano have a way of writing together that is seamless and always craft dialogue that conveys emotion, using humor and heart. The story is told from alternating points of view from Meg and Charlie, and it was nice to get a look inside both their heads and get to know them both in this book. I also loved getting to visit with some characters from the Justice Team series, especially Matt, who works for the Schock sisters and is one of my favorite characters, and was featured in Missing Justice, the book where the Schock sisters were first introduced. Definitely one to pick up!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Loved!

    This is a great start to a new series. The Schock sisters deal with the macabre on daily basis - from Charlie, the forensic psychologist and former FBI profiler, to Meg, the sculptor that recreates the faces from the skulls of murder victims. They are attempting to identify the victims of a serial killer that they helped to convict years before when they realize that he couldn't have killed them all. What follows is a well written story that kept me flipping pages just as quickly as possible. I loved the characters and can't wait to read more of their exploits. This series is off to a great start and fans of the genre will love this one. Put this on your must read list. The two authors are on my must read list, both individually and as a team.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS