Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.1 out of 5
5 Stars
7 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
3 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
3 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
1 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • A Version of the Truth

    A devastating secret has simmered beneath the surface for over twenty-five years. Now it’s time to discover the truth. But what if you’re afraid of what you might find? It is 2019. Julianne is preparing dinner when her son shows her something suspicious on his iPad. It involves her husband. It makes her question her marriage and everyone involved. In 1990, Sophie is a freshman. She makes friends with a group of older students and starts to fall for one. As the year progresses, she realizes that maybe this is not the best idea. It was very well written and I enjoyed the idea of the story but it was a little to much at times. It may be a difficult read for some because of the violence. Thank you to #NetGalley and Avon Books for the ARC of #AVersionOfTheTruth

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Dramatic!

    Well, this book was a great surprise to me and I can’t remember how it ended up on my list of books ordered from the public library. It is a well written drama. The storyline may not be pleasant (or suitable) for some, but it did not upset me or made me want to stop. I was completely hooked and drawn to the story. I really needed to finish it. Only during the last 20% of the book I was finally shocked. To think that something like that may exist in real life is terrifying. It’s beyond my imagination.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Amazing debut

    I was impressed that this was a debut novel, it was well-written and the characters well drawn. I also appreciated the fact that enough time was spent on each character that you didn't confuse them, nor did any of their names start with the same letter! (small things). I read this book in two evenings, I liked Sophie in 1999, I liked Julianne in 2019, I vacillated between liking Aphrodite and despising her, I was ambivalent about James the entire time and despised Ernest the entire time. I usually do not enjoy books that switch between timelines but this was seamless, the transition did not jerk me out of the story each time. The ending, however, could have been better, for me anyway. I don't want to give any spoilers away. I'm not sure why the documentary producer was interested in the story when she didn't know that there was a story. Sophie certainly wasn't aware of the extent of it, would a documentary producer really get involved just on the basis of Sophie's one story? I realise not everyone gets their just desserts but I do wish the story had finished off just a tad more - even just a headline in a newspaper or tweet as she drank her morning coffee! I would definitely read the next novel this author writes. Thank you to #NetGalley and Avon Books for the ARC of #AVersionOfTheTruth !

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • The truth is whatever you believe

    A Version of the Truth by B P Walter February 2019 Fiction, psychological I received this digital ARC from NetGalley and Avon Books UK in exchange for an unbiased review. It isn’t often that I encounter a story so utterly disturbing that I’m captivated to the end. This is such a book that people will either abhor or vicariously partake of the disconcerting journey. With that said, this is not a book for those easily offended by controversial, morally corrupt characters. The themes addressed in this novel are unsettling: homophobia, sexual abuse, debauchery, and perversion. The story is told through the alternating time lines of Julianne Knight in London 2018 and Sophie at Oxford 1990. Initially, the connection between the two women is vague until their stories begin to unravel. Both women seemingly different, ultimately discover how they share a traumatic experience with mutual classmates at Oxford. This drives their desire to seek redemption once they acknowledge their denial of involvement. In London 2018, Julianne’s world is turned upside down when her 17-year old son, Stephen exposes incriminating information found on the family Dropbox account. She learns that her husband James is involved with unthinkable crimes dating back to their years at Oxford. Ignoring past regressions and deplorable mistakes doesn’t erase the sins. Some unethical decisions have everlasting consequences which eventually seek resolution. This is a well written book with developed characters deplorable in nature.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • definitely a must-read!

    This book goes back and forth between when the characters were all at the university and present day almost 30 years later. Something unspeakable happened to Holly at a party back then, something that has haunted her to this day. Julianne was one of the ones that Holly tried to turn to for help, but Julianne didn't know, or didn't want to know, what had happened. Now, Julianne has discovered the truth for herself and her world has turned upside down. Now she is at the proverbial crossroads; does she bury her head back in the sand or does she help Holly expose this terrible truth? I really enjoyed this book. My only complaint was that it took most of the book before it really explained the correlation between then and now, so at times it felt like it was dragging a little or focusing a little too much on the past. It was dark and twisty and had a shocking ending, which makes it perfect for all of those suspense fans out there. I say it is definitely a must-read.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID