Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.4 out of 5
5 Stars
15 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
6 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
3 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
1 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • History and Romance

    For fans of The Black Moth, These Old Shades, Devil's Cub, The Spanish Brideand Regency Buck, an Infamous Army has some of Heyer's most memorable characters, their children and grandchildren in a real romance set against the backdrop of the Battle of Waterloo. If you haven't read the other five books I have mentioned, read them first in the order listed before diving into An Infamous Army. You will not be disappointed. You may also surprise yourself by developing an interest in military history. I did!!!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Uneasy going from romance to action

    Follow Judith Worth and her husband from Regency Buck as they settle in gay Brussels on the eve of the great battle of Waterloo and get mixed up in Worth's brother Charles love life as he falls in love with a beautiful shrew, Lady Barbara. Try to keep up with Wellington's social life and warfare which the author painstaikingly depicts while the civilian protagonists struggle to keep up your interest in their superficial lives. Heyers's uneasy passage from classical romance to historical action is in my view a failure as she completely misses any interesting romancing of Waterloo. To top it off, French reading readers will be appaled by what passess off as French dialogues which are at best full of mistakes or at worst completely incomprehensible. Any hope is lost on the interest of love after marriage as one couple is almost broken up and the other drifts into boredom and misunderstandings. I was utterly disappointed.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Huge fan of Georgette Heyer

    Georgette Heyer was such a proponent of historical accuracy that she wrote a lot about it in her books. Some of her books have lots of history and a little romance, and some are the opposite - mostly romance with a little history thrown in. But she never forgot the importance of "time and place" in that she always got the time period right and really knew her own culture. All that being said, this is not a "little romance story" but both the history and the romance are enthralling. If you can stick with it to the end, you will not be disappointed. This is one of her best!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS