Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.3 out of 5
5 Stars
48 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
49 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
12 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
2 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
1 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • A definite recommendation

    Miles Cookson is a very wealthy man, with everything he could ever want, except he has just been delivered a body blow when told he has a life changing disease and that it’s hereditary. Although he’s never been married and had children, years ago when he was just starting out, he donated his sperm for some much needed cash. Now that he’s trying to sort out his vast estate, he wants to find any children there may be from that ‘donation’. I was already a fan of Linwood Barclay and am pleased that this is back to his normally high standard. It’s a fast paced, well written thriller with good characterisation. The various different story lines add to the breathless pace, and keep you wanting more. Although towards the end you can guess whodunnit this doesn’t detract from the story, and there are enough twists to satisfy the reader. A definite recommendation. Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read and review this book.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    3 person found this review helpful

    3 people found this review helpful

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Exciting read

    I haven't read anything by Linwood Barclay for some years and I really don't know why but I had a word with myself and got stuck into this with relish. What we have here is an exciting thriller that had me hooked. The pace is unrelenting, the characters are just excellent ... even the horrid ones ... and the story is captivating. There are a number of threads to the story and to go into them all would ruin it so I will say nothing apart from you needing to keep your wits about you, but in a good way. There is tension, twists and nail-biting moments and, yes, you have to suspend reality at times but if you can't do that in fiction, when can you? All in all, a really enjoyable read and my thanks go to HQ (an imprint of HarperCollins UK) and NetGalley for my copy in return for an honest, unbiased and unedited review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Gripping fast paced thriller

    This definitely doesn’t disappoint I found it very addictive and had me hooked from the very first page I thought the story was very clever about a millionaire Miles Cookson who was diagnosed with Huntingdon’s disease and instead of enjoying his last years he tries to track down his children to see if they have it but it’s not all it seems there are so many turns in it you just can’t stop reading I want to thank Netgalley and the publisher for an early read of this fabulous book.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Fast paced thriller of a ride

    As always, Linwood Barclay pulls off yet another great standalone fast paced thriller. The main character Miles is extremely rich and has everything in life apart from a family. He finds out he has a life shortening disease. A couple of decades ago he donated his sperm to a fertility clinic and it turns out he fathered 9 children, so he sets out to find them to warn them that the disease may have been passed onto them. He wants to urge them to get tested and also to let them know who he is and he is willing to help them financially by leaving them part of his fortune. It soon becomes clear that somebody else is searching for these 9 too and so begins a race to find out who and why! The characters were all very believable and I really warmed to Chloe (the first Miles meets). Their bond was very heart warming and developed nicely throughout the book. This would make a great film so I hope Hollywood picks it up! Many thanks to netgalley and the publishers for an arc.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Great read

    Not at all the story line i was expecting but definetly did not disappoint.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS