Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.0 out of 5
5 Stars
11 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
17 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
4 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
2 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
1 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Just Okay

    Love in Lockdown by Chloe James is set in today's world with the pandemic and lockdown and how characters cope with their new normal. Jack hears Sophia crying on her balcony, and so this sets up the friendship (and maybe possible romance) for these characters. The story started strong and then lagged slightly in the middle, with scenes and interactions that felt a bit weighted to move the story forward. Kudos to the author for writing this book and the realistic nature of how some people are coping and getting to know their neighbors. I do hope, as others have mentioned, that the formatting is fixed on publication. The spacing and lack of clear chapter headings made it distracting and hard to read at times.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Sweet Story

    Love in Lockdown is a light, feel good love story. It is set during the Covid Pandemic, so both main characters are social distancing. Jack lives in a flat overtop of Sophia, when one evening Jack hears Sophia crying while out on her balcony. He says hello and tries to make her feel better. They both start listening for the other to be out on the balcony, and an unconventional relationship starts. It's a story not only about love, it's about loneliness, hope, fear and how a community can come together in a touching way. The story has a slow build, but is definitely worth reading to the end. I would highly recommend this book to anyone, I feel it is relatable to most age groups from starting to date to being married forever. Thank you to NetGalley, Chloe James and Avon Books, UK for my advanced review copy. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Love and kindness during lockdown.

    What a super-lovely book! I absolutely loved this cute romance story set during our first lockdown. Sofia and Jack share a wonderful conversation after the 'clap for carers' on a lovely evening. Not being able to see each other, Jack lives in the flat above Sofia's, doesn't stand in the way for these two to connect with each other. The chapters alternate between Sofia and Jack, making the story seen from their POV very relatable. After setting up a WhatsApp group, Sofia and Jack work together to be there for anyone in their little community, from telephone calls with lonely neighbours to doing shopping for those shielding or finding a dog for well-loved neighbour Bertie. Together with their neighbours they make lockdown liveable. Yes this is a romance novel, but it is also a book about kindness. Kindness towards your neighbours and offer companionship to those who are lonely or unable to shop. But also about kindness towards yourself, kindness towards the health issues both Sofia and Jack were dealing with, and cutting yourself some slack when adjusting to a new normal. Loved the uplifting spirit of this book! Thank you Avon Book UK and NetGalley for my eARC in return for an honest review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Fun read

    Thank you NetGalley, Chloe James and Avon Books UK for the ARC of Love in Lockdown. This is my personal review. The title alone was enough for me to want to read this book. It was nice to see the what ifs that could happen during the pandemic we all are living in now. To be able to communicate and connect with others when social distancing is so real right now was nice to see that it was possible even if it was only in a book. I had to giggle when Sophia and her room mate were discussing a toilet paper shortage and the ways they could solve they problem for them at home. Sophia and Jack being able to touch even thru words was heartwarming.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Cute & cheesy

    Love in Lockdown tells the story of Jack and Sophia. Jack has recently returned from a long journey to Greece where he was running away from family expectations and his chronic kidney disease and is now secluded in his apartment, just above Sophia's. Sophia is a teacher who is struggling with a recent breakup and diagnosis of epilepsy. When Jack finds Sophia crying on the balcony below his one night, they begin talking and quickly strike up a friendship. Over the next few weeks and months, they develop a close relationship and end up uniting the entire neighborhood to support each other during the Covid lockdown. Without ever meeting, they fall for each other over their shared illnesses and commonalities. The good: It was great to read a story that is relatable to our common times and I appreciated some of the funny bits--cutting your own hair, trying to find TP at the store, etc. I also appreciated the warmth of the story. As someone with a chronic illness, I really appreciated the author's dedication to the confusing feelings that come with disease diagnosis and knowing how to live with a new normal. This was probably the most realistic part of the book and I appreciated it. The bad: This book is cheesy. The premise itself is cheesy and the book itself is full of cliches. The dialogue is stiff and often sounds a little unnatural, and at times, the book comes across as falsely positive. No one in the book actually has Covid and sometimes their positivity and focus on community drowns out the fact that people are actually dying. Overall, this was a cute, light read that I wouldn't necessarily say was well written, but was fitting for the times.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS