Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

3.6 out of 5
5 Stars
6 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
3 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
5 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
1 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
2 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Emotive Excellence

    Safe and Sound by Philippa East is a beautifully written and totally captivating story and I was transfixed from the outset. Housing Association manager Jennifer Arden, along with two bailiffs, is on her way to evict a tenant, Sarah Jones from a bedsit in Brixton, south London. Sarah hasn't been paying her rent, but when they arrive at the property, they can't gain access, even though they believe Sarah is inside as a radio is playing. The police are called and Jenn makes a shocking discovery, one which sets off her anxiety, forcing her to look into how an apparently popular and cheerful woman can lay dead in a flat, undiscovered for ten months. This delightfully compelling story alternates between past and present and is told entirely from Jenn's perspective. The reader is provided with the opportunity to get right inside Jenn's head as she interprets events while running from her own past. As her thoughts churn around and around, my own contemplations and attention are kept focused with Philippa East's soupçons of information dropped into the narrative, hither and thither. The author has written this cleverly constructed tale complete with realistic and believable characters, and a winsome plot. Anxiety-sufferer Jenn has an eight-year-old son Charlie and they live an insular life. Philippa East's portrayal of Jenn made for a claustrophobic, tense but engrossing read. Safe and Sound is a cracking novel and the author continues to wow me with her tremendous talent. I'm tickled pink that I had an opportunity to read this book, and I will certainly be keeping an eye out for future releases from Philippa East. I recommend this family-drama-style, emotional thriller with confidence. I received a complimentary copy of this novel at my request from HQ via NetGalley. This review is my own unbiased opinion.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    11 person found this review helpful

    11 people found this review helpful

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Not For Me

    I did not like this book, the character of Jennifer was a massive helicopter mom bordering on child abuse. The book itself was very repetitive to the point of rambling and I didn't find it ..."A masterfully plotted, intelligent and emotionally riveting psychological thriller for fans of Sally Hepworth and Lisa Jewell"...as it says in the blurb. The ending was a real let down and left me wanting more, the pace was too slow for me and Jennifer was such a whiner she ended up getting on my nerves, so much so that I almost DNF this one. It was only because of the short length that I ended up finishing it at all. Having said all that, this author just isn't for me, many others have enjoyed this book so take my review with a grain of salt.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS