Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.0 out of 5
5 Stars
8 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
8 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
6 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
0 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
1 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Creepy suspenseful story

    This is well written story involving insomnia as it resonates with many people. The setting is good as the island contains an abandoned monastery and a lighthouse which lends itself to some atmospheric sections. In the beginning I was getting claustrophobic because of the zombie like hallucinating scene. This was more of a dystopian/sci fic type book then a thriller as alot of the book seemed too far fetched and too futuristic The end feels like unfinished business and sort of fizzles out unless there’s to be a follow up? In which case, i will read I preferred the first half as I like the creepy suspense rather than the dystopian/sci fic of the second. However, I look forward to reading more from the author in the future.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A great debut

    Thea, who suffers from insomnia, signs up to participate in a sleep trial after she is involved in a car accident. But this isn’t just any sleep trial and it soon becomes clear to Thea, that this is not a trial to help her sleep, but is one that wants to control her sleep… When I was offered the chance to read Sleepless, I was immediately drawn to the title as I can relate to this, so I was very interested to see Louise Mumford’s take on sleeplessness. What I got though, was a story so much more than what I and Thea and bargained for! The plot is original, fresh, well written and researched and really gets under your skin. I was still thinking about this book weeks after I had finished reading it. It just consumes you and you will have a sleepless night racing through the pages to see how it will all unfold! Thea is an interesting character who I could definitely relate to, although now that I have read this, I will not be participating in any sleep trials in the present or in the future thank you very much! I also absolutely loved Vivian, Thea’s mother, who is a standout and is a big part of what makes this book great. Sleepless is clever, complex, twisty, unique and a very compelling story. As a debut novel, Louise Mumford has nailed it and I will be interested in reading more of her work going forward. It was a pleasure to read and review Sleepless, which I recommend.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A Bit of a Spine-Chilling Read!

    An unusual read for me, but no less interesting. Thea doesn't sleep; it's not that she doesn't need her sleep - it's just that she can't sleep for her full eight hours, or anything like it. So when she reads an ad on her phone promising to sort it all out, she realises that she has to pursue what may be her last chance as a decent night's sleep. What Thea doesn't realise is how high a price she'll have to pay in return for the elusive zzzz's. Separated from family and friends, kept isolated and having to seek permission even to leave her room . . . Now, I normally pass on anything with the word 'dystopian' anywhere near it, but this one appealed to me and certainly didn't disappoint. A gripping and enthralling read, I soon found myself totally immersed in the story and needing to find out where it was going. There is plenty happening and the creep factor figures large in this one - I shuddered, often! A good read which demonstrates how each of us can dig deep and find something in ourselves that we didn't know was there, and the type of book where once started, it has to be finished! If you enjoy a bit of a spine-chilling read, then this is one for you. Four stars from me.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A thriller for insomniacs like me!

    Thank you to NetGalley and HQ Digital for this copy of Sleepless by Louise Mumford. So, I'm an insomniac. Have been for my whole life pretty much so I could definitely relate to the main character of Sleepless, Thea, and her desperate search for a solution to her sleepless nights and miserable, tired days. When Thea is recruited to an experimental sleep study she makes the decision that any insomniac would make, she signs up. What could go wrong? Well, you have to read Sleepless to find an answer to that question! I was really looking forward to Sleepless based on the premise and I ended up mostly enjoying it. There were parts that I felt could have been omitted with no real change to the plot and characters that existed for such a short time that their existence in the book felt pointless. Mostly though, it was a good, solid thriller. I would definitely recommend it to all of the thriller fans out there!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Sleepless

    OK. I thought I had suffered from insomnia. I've gone days without sleeping. I have nothing on Thea. She sleeps about 1 hour a day. And she somehow makes it through her life. A close call with a car accident and some well timed advertisement bring her to a strange little island for a sleep study. I am such a rookie in the insomnia department. This book goes in so many different directions-sci-fi, thriller, horror...but it stills works. I was spellbound and hooked from page one. This is no ordinary island. A mysterious abandoned monastery and a shady tech company promising the impossible. Yes! bring me that. Any more would be too much. If you like any of the above genres then you should pick this one up.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS