Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.1 out of 5
5 Stars
12 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
14 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
6 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
0 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
1 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Miss Peregrine Meets X-Men

    I read The Academy of Peculiars Box Set: A Paranormal Academy Romance (Academy of the Peculiars Saga Book 4) several months ago. I found the boxset to be engaging and very much a page-turner. Reading each book outside of the boxset is no different. The stories are a cross between the Miss Peregrine series and X-Men. Unlike the kids in the Miss Peregrine books, these young people's libido gets much exercise. Of course, I love the book Stranger, which is the first book in the series. There is action in the story via the Peculiars using those powers in paranormal fights, typically to protect themselves or someone else. There are also budding romances, suspense, and mysteries that are unfolding. Unfortunately, one of the young women experiences what she calls "the incident" that far too many young people experience, especially during their college years. There are parallels to characters from X-Men and quite a few distinctions. Ethan reminds me of Xavier, and where would a story like this be without a wolf shifter who reminds me of both Wolverine and Wolfsbane. The female characters are different. Sophie, Ellie, Jane, and Brie are best friends, each with a unique power and a vulnerability that makes the men around them quite protective. They are young adults, but there is still an immaturity about them that makes you want to scream at them one minute and protect them from the world the next. There is an interesting and evolving theme of absolute power corrupting absolutely. How it plays out in this story and future storylines will keep you engaged. I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • One of my most favorite urban fantasy reads!

    I've currently become intrigued by books that are set in an Academy. I've read over 70 such "Academy" books and I can safely say that this is one of my favorites. I really can't wait to read the second book which I hope will be as good as this. I'd definitely recommend this book for fans of Vampire Academy, Fallen Academy and Immortal Academy. I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Great Series Starter

    The story line and character work was good. The book had a smooth flow to it. This was a great start to a series and an entertaining read. I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Finding Your Place Among Others

    Sophie Harper, even among the Peculiars, is different and doesn’t totally fit in. As she starts her attendance at the Academy for Peculiars, she has already killed a man and is finding out that her superhuman strength makes her a Peculiar and will alienate her even from some of her Peculiar peers at school because her talent is very rare. The story will focus on Sophie, Elle and Jane and their experiences as they find out more about themselves and their own particular talents. Will Sophie find others like herself, even with the rare talent she has? Will her peers accept her, even when her talent goes beyond what they possess? Will the school be able to teach her control so she won’t inadvertently harm anyone else? Will Sophie and her roommates escape the danger that will come from a different group at school with the same abilities? This was a good story line. I liked the theme of people being different and their desire to find acceptance and fit in. No one likes to be alone. Friendship is so very important. And in this case, with so many varied talents, it must be even harder to fit in and find a place of safety. Grab your copy and see how the students cope with their Peculiar status.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Stranger

    The storyline kept me reading, the adolescent romantic scenes were unrealistic. Overall a good read

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS