Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.4 out of 5
5 Stars
35 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
28 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
5 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
0 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • good

    This was my first book by this author, but I will read her previous book. I love historical romance and also a duel timeframe. This book contains beautiful description of the Scottish Highlands and Invermoray House with the grounds, the loch and villages. I loved reading Kate’s story and everything that had to do with turning the house into a B&B. And then there is Constance story. I was so curious to find out what had happened to her and what events led to her name to be crossed out from the family records. It is a story about a young woman stuck into a life she doesn’t want, with a longing for more. The ending was satisfying. I recommend this book.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • great story!

    Thank you to Netgalley, the publisher and the author for the opportunity to read a complimentary advance reader copy of this book in return for a review based upon my honest opinion. I love the way this author tells a story; the way she pieces together memorable characters, stunning vistas and dual timeline stories with such ease. She always makes me want to travel to these distant locations. In this book, the past is 1940's Scotland; the eve of Constance's 21st birthday, where events take place that alter her and her family's lives forever. An event that leaves one dead, one jailed and one disinherited. In the present, Kate takes a job assisting in getting Invermoray House turned around from money pit to bead and breakfast. Great story, I really liked both the past and the present stories, the characters were well written, the scenery lovely. Lorna Cook is quite quickly turning into one of my favourite authors.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • The Forbidden Promise

    This was a lovely read, relating a story that drew me in at the turn of each page. In times when authors consistantly use shock and horror accompanying brutality to sell their produce, here is a beautifully told tale of life and one familys historical tragedy written with passion and belief in the subject matter. An excellent story and read. Thankyou Lorna.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Enjoyable read.

    Thoroughly enjoyed the book. Easy to go from 1940 to present. Enjoyed the descriptions of the landscape around the action and since we’ve been to Scotland had a clear picture in my mind of the setting. Good story line as well.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Fabulous story.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The author goes from one century to the other very smoothly. They paralleled each other very well so both intertwined stories flowed. Interesting story. I would have just like to know a little more about their life Once they found each other again.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS