We've added this item to your cart.
Your $5 CREDIT has been applied
YOU CAN GET $5 off YOUR FIRST PURCHASE

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
Ratings and Book Reviews (3 5 star ratings
3 reviews
)

Overall rating

4.4 out of 5
5
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Star
2 3 0 0 0

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    The Forgiving Jar

    Enjoyed this story, how so often we carry baggage. Asking forgiveness and let it go, changes your whole life.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Another Winner from Wanda E. Brunstetter!

    This is the second book in the Prayer Jars series and I have enjoyed both of them equally. In my review of the first book, 'The Hope Jar', I stated that "I feel that the Lapps have enough love for both a real granddaughter and the young woman who pretended to be their granddaughter" and this second story offers proof that they did. This is wonderful for Michelle Taylor, the young woman who impersonated their granddaughter, because she has finally found love and acceptance. The true granddaughter of Willis and Mary Ruth Lapp is now living with them and she doesn't understand or appreciate the love and kindness that her grandparents continue to offer Michelle. Much of this book revolves around Sara Murray's determination to uncover Michelle's true nature. Now I know that Michelle was clearly wrong in her deception but she has apologized and she has also asked forgiveness from the Lapps and from God. It seems, however, that the harder that Michelle tries, the harder that Sara resists. Sara's behaviour is often unkind and she is clearly envious; it soon becomes obvious that she herself has issues that need to be resolved. The Lapps are good Amish people and they are uncertain how to reconcile these two young women. Just a short time ago they were completely unaware that they even had a granddaughter and now they have been blessed with two girls to love! 'The Forgiving Jar' is centered around the Amish community but there are several "Englishers" who play important roles. There is romance and the possibility of marriage and there is the continued importance of the slips of papers found in hidden canning jars that offer encouragement, prayers, inspiration and the importance of forgiveness. Wanda E. Brunstetter has once again written a story that entertains and inspires and 'The Forgiving Jar' is very appropriately named. It shares the message of love and forgiveness and it shows that if we humans seek forgiveness, we must be prepared to offer forgiveness. Readers are also reminded that the ability to trust and to accept change is invaluable in our relationships with each other. This is an excellent book for fans of Amish books and Christian fiction and I look forward to seeing what the third prayer jar holds and hopefully learning the identity of the person behind these notes! I received a complimentary copy of this book but this in no way influenced my opinions.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Second book in The Prayer Jar series

    The Forgiving Jar is the second book in The Prayer Jar series. While The Forgiving Jar could be read as a standalone, I suggest reading The Hope Jar first. It will provide you with Michelle’s complete story and help you understand her motivations. I thought The Forgiving Jar was well-written with gentle pacing. I did find the story to be a little slow in the middle. I was drawn into the story and wanted to find out what would happen with Sara and Michelle. Sara has a hard time grappling with the concept of forgiveness. Her mother kept secrets from her and then Michelle impersonated her. Sara has trust issues and does not understand how her grandparents can easily forgive Michelle for her deception. We get to see how the slips of paper in an old canning jar help Sara understand the importance of forgiveness and being a Christian. The slips in the canning jar were encouraging, inspirational, guiding and thought provoking. With Michelle and Sara living in the same household, it is rife with tension. Mary Ruth talks with Sara about the issue. After that, Mary Ruth prays and leaves the issue in God’s hands. There is romance in the story as Michelle and Ezekiel King draw closer to each other. One of my favorite phrases was “turn your cares into prayers.” I did have trouble with Sara. She has a giant chip on her shoulder plus she is extremely resentful of Michelle. As time goes by, Sara along with Michelle mature. I liked seeing the women evolve, learn from their mistakes and grow in their faith. I look forward to reading The Healing Jar when it comes out. The Forgiving Jar is a sweet, heartwarming story that will touch your heart.
5

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS