Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.2 out of 5
5 Stars
9 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
11 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
3 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
1 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Good y

    I love this gorgeous cover! This is a love story set during WW2 and amid the backdrop of a circus. It has a cast of interesting characters each trying to survive during a troubling time. I enjoyed the story Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the early copy

    Thanks for your feedback!

    6 person found this review helpful

    6 people found this review helpful

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Circus love story set during WW2

    I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. The description of this book said it was good for fans of Water for Elephants, The Nightingale and The Tattooist of Auschwitz. All of these are books I enjoyed. The cover of the book is beautiful and has the words "A beautiful and heartbreaking Word War 2 love story. I have read a number of WW2 love stories and I would not have classified this book as being one. It is a love story and it does take place during WW2. While this is a very good book it is also very similar to the books listed in its description. The title is a bit of a disappointment as it is one of the big reveals in the book. I did enjoy the book which is why I gave it 4 stars but it did not grab my attention like it should have.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Really good book

    When the Nazis begin invading Paris in 1940, Michael Bonnet hops aboard a train leaving the city, not knowing he is a stowaway on a circus train. The name of the circus is Le Cirque Neumann and it is owned by Warner Neumann, a crabby man who does not want Michael to be a part of his circus, despite his obvious afinity for horses. He grudgingly allows him to stay, and as the days go on he becomes more and more a part of their band of misfits. This book was really good. I was a bit confused about the title of the book because it didn't seem to fit until about halfway through the book. I enjoy books that are during World War II, so I thought it was an interesting book. I felt at times that it seemed to drag, with nothing much happening. The writing style changed at the very end, which threw me for a loop. It was almost like someone else had written the ending. Overall it was a good story, and if you enjoy books set in that time period then I think you will enjoy it.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • The Circus

    When the German Army entered France at the start of WWII life changed for everyone. It was a life changer for Michel a twenty year old living in Paris. His mentor, Bertrand, a neighbor that helped him find a job and a place to live after his mother died, persuades him to leave Paris because the Germans were coming. They go to the train station but it was so packed they couldn't get in , they went to a second station with no luck. Bertrand talked to a friend and was told about a train coming through that Michel could run and catch. He runs and catches the train not knowing it is a circus train. Michel joins the circus taking care of the horses. He falls in love with Freda, the ringmaster's daughter, and stays with the circus. Unknown to him the circus was made up of a German man , the ringmaster, and a circus troupe filled with Jewish performers. The story is about the circus, the performers, and their journey one step ahead of the Germans, sometimes performing for them in plain sight. The story is about the separate relationships between each of the performers and their stories. It is about the War, how they survive and what happens when they are finally betrayed. The book was a good read and I would recommend it. Thanks to Carly Shabowski, Bookouture, and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advance copy of the book in return for an honest review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A Bit of a Slow Burn

    WWII and the Circus are two of my absolute favorite things to read about. Admittedly I read an absurd amount about these subjects but there is no shame in my game! The Ringmaster's Daughter perfectly combines them in a quiet and melancholic story of love and friendship in the face of war. Set in France right at the beginning of the German occupation, we meet Michel a young Parisian man seeking to find his place in this new time of uncertainty. With some luck and help from a generous friend he escapes the city by stowing away on what turns out to be a circus train and his story begins. I'll admit, as much as I was excited about this book, the first half of it was pretty slow and didn't capture me as much as I expected it to. However, around the midway point something changed for me and I was all in. At this point the story started snowballing and before I knew it it was over and I was left wanting more. A great read based on true events, this book is perfect for fans of Sara Gruen and Pam Jenoff.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS