Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.3 out of 5
5 Stars
56 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
38 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
11 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
2 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
2 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • good detective and psychologist relationship

    I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I have some mixed feelings one this one. DI Baarda, an MIT detective in London and Dr. Connie Woolwine a psychologist from from America are called to Scotland to investigate the kidnapping of a member of a prominent Scottish family. Then a teenager is kidnapped. I like the relationship between Baarda and Connie. Connie is a brash American and Baarda, at first isn't sure how to take her. But they end up trusting in each other. What I didn't like was the story of the kidnapper. I got why he kidnapped the victims, he was clearly ill and all of that was explained, but his delusions left me not interested and not wanting to read. Meggie and Elspeth leaned on each other and their storylines help my interest. I felt like Xavier's story sort of ended, maybe to quickly. Also, and this is me personally, but Connie is America, so she wouldn't be happy that she wore her "trainers", or reach down to take off her "trainers". The ending was something I wouldn't have thought of happening so it was a bit of a shocker. Thank you NetGalley, Helen Fields and Avon.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    3 person found this review helpful

    3 people found this review helpful

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Pages turn themselves

    5 plus stars for me ! I wish I could give it 10. Helen Fields you have outdone yourself with The Shadow Man The Shadow Man, is a dark creepy compulsive read that keeps the lights on and you jumping at every noise. Elspeth, Meggie and Xavier have all been captured and held in a small room by The Shadow Man who's description is creepy enough thank you. That's after a murder he committed. Ambience is so well done I felt the cobwebs, smelled the decay and heard all the noises. I am truly hoping there is a sequel to Connie and Baarda the investigators. To the top of your unread pile you should put The Shadow Man If you have not read The Perfect Series by Helen Field you soon will after reading The Shadow Man. Hope I sleep tonight.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • What evil lurks in the heart of man?

    For fans of Fields' "Perfect" series who delight in her gritty, dark plots and expertly drawn characters, don't miss this stand-alone book. It is vintage Fields with a creep factor in her Shadow Man villain that is both off-putting and riveting. For those who have yet to read Helen Fields, you're in for a treat with this book. American freelance psychological profiler Connie Woolwine lands a job in Edinburgh, Scotland helping to solve missing person cases that forensic data shows have been going on for decades. The most recent abductees, Elspeth, a society wife and mother and twelve-year-old Meggy, are abducted with only the barest description of the perpetrator. Connie and DI Brodie Baarda are tasked with solving the abductions and possible earlier murders. Catching this Shadow Man, who is suffering both physically and psychologically, is a cat-and-mouse-game with time running out for his victims. Fields loves creating protagonists who are psychologically damaged themselves. In Connie's case, her own tortured background helps her understand the man she is after and aids in communicating with him. This fast-paced thriller takes the reader into the depths of some of the worst parts of past psychological treatment methods. It is both fascinating and gripping. I highly recommend <i>The Shadow Man</i> for anyone looking for an excellent crime thriller. Thank you NetGalley and Avon Books UK for this advance copy.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Scary and brilliant

    Wow this was scary the thought of the Shadow Man makes my skin crawl imagine being kidnapped by him it would give you nightmares we’ll it did me. I think I prefer DI Callanach and DCI Ava Turner instead of Connie but I’m sure I’ll warm to her definitely recommend this book and want to say thank you to the publishers and Netgalley for letting me read it

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Shadow Man

    Grips you from the first chapter. Very descriptive writing with interesting characters. You'll find it hard to put down. Highly recommend for lovers of detective stories.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS