Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.6 out of 5
5 Stars
32 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
12 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
3 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
1 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Wonderful Winter Story

    I was really excited to read this new book from Heidi Swain and I enjoyed it very much! I highly recommend it. It was a wonderful story about a woman called Freya Fuller. Freya was forced out of her job as a live in gardener and she ended up in a new life in Nightingale Square, where she loved living as a gardener who created a beautiful winter garden for the public. Local artist Finn caught her attention and their love/hate relationship was very interesting. I enjoyed reading about them and all of the beautiful hearted people who live in Nightingale Square. It was a cosy book and the characters all seemed to be like a big family. I liked the way they all helped each other all of the time.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Perfect romance to get you in the holiday spirit

    When Freya's friend, mentor, and boss dies she is bereft, then when the new owner of the Suffolk estate where she works makes it clear that he has no interest in maintaining the gardens or the house and definitely doesn't want to pay Freya for her work, she is devastated. But when one door closes another door opens and a chance radio chat show leads her to meet Luke, the owner of Nightingale Square, and a job offer to create a Winter Garden. Soon Freya is making new friends in the village and is heavily involved in a series of holiday-inspired classes (think making Christmas puddings, Christmas wreathes etc) to bring the villagers together and alleviate the symptoms of Seasonal Affective Disorder which impact Luke in particular. This is the third book in a series about the residents of Nightingale Square, I haven't read the others but this can definitely be read as a stand-alone. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Sue Moorcroft and Kate Hewitt. Cute, predictable, warm and comforting, this is an easy-read perfect pre-Christmas reading to get you ready for the festive season. I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Very enjoyable read, a warm hug in a book!

    I haven't read a Heidi Swain book for a little while, and now I'm wondering why! This book had such a lovely feeling throughout, friendly characters, a wonderful little dog, craft workshops, a wonderful garden on an estate, and lots of wintry feelings, with a build up towards Christmas. Freya is a gardener who worked at an estate for an elderly lady who felt more like her grandmother than an employer. But when the lady died and her (horrible) nephew took over Freya decided it was time to, reluctantly, move on. Luckily whilst visiting another garden in Nightingale Square in Norwich she met Luke, who owned the estate and gardens, and he offered her a job and a house to set up his new winter garden. So gradually Freya sets up the garden, meets new friends and neighbours, especially the lovely sculptor Finn and finds a new happier life. This is the third book in the Nightingale Square series and whilst other characters were mentioned from previous books it didn't detract from this one, it just made me want to go back and catch up with their stories too. Very enjoyable read, a warm hug in a book!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Just wonderful

    A cosy romance with little rwisrs and turns and the atmosper of Winter and Christmas that everyone dreams of; one full of good friends and happy times. Cheered me and raised my spirits during lockown 2.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • The story is like one big cuddle in a book

    Freya Fuller has been working as the live-in gardener for the last three years at a beautiful estate in Suffolk. Unfortunately the owner, Eloise, recreantly died and her home was taken over by her American nephew who has decided to sell the place, including Freya’s cottage which Eloise allowed her to rent. When she is offered the job as the gardener at the Victorian mansion in Nightingale Square, including accommodation Freya jumps at the chance, especially as she can bring Nell, Eloise’s dog with her. The residents of Nightingale Square are all lovely and friendly with the exception of local artist Finn who has been brought in to design some structures for the garden. He and Freya seem to clash on everything and have a frosty relationship. But with Christmas fast approaching can the two work through their differences and create the most amazing Winter Garden? The Winter Garden is the third book in the Nightingale series. I read book one, ‘Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square‘ back in 2018 and enjoyed it immensely, though I haven’t read book two in the series, even though I own a copy. However, whilst I always think series should be read in order I never felt like I didn’t understand what was happening or that I had missed any backstory, so I would say this works as a standalone too. Freya is a warm-hearted character who not only has had to deal with issues with her family, the death of her boss and best friend Eloise but also put up with the nastiness of her new boss and his unwanted advances. He was still trying to hurt Freya on her leaving day, such a vile human, and I was thankful Freya had found a better place to live and work, one where she would be appreciated. I love the idea of a winter garden. I’m not very green-fingered so in winter my garden tends to look bare, I’ve never thought about plants for winter before, but I have picked up a few tips from this book. The story is like one big cuddle in a book. It is inviting, enthralling, and so beautifully written. It made the dark days feel brighter and gives you a sense that it is never too late to change your life if you don’t like where it is heading or what is happening within it. It is a tale of love, friendship, and doing what is right for you. This is a must-read for the festive period. Whilst it is not a Christmas book it has all the sparkling elements you could want to put you in the holiday mood. Plus if you have read the others in the series there are some familiar faces within and a continuation of their stories.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS