Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem
  • Lieutenant Schreiber's Country

    The Story of a Forgotten Hero

    Jean-Claude Servan-Schreiber enlisted in the French army at the outset of World War II and quickly rose to the rank of lieutenant. Despite his patriotism and courage in defending his country, in which he narrowly escaped death several times, he suffered the bigotry of his fellow soldiers until he was expelled from the army for being Jewish. He sought exile in Spain and was deported and interned in ... Read more

    $20.99 AUD $1.99 AUD

  • Rumi

    A New Translation of Selected Poems

    by Rumi ...
    Translated by Farrukh Dhondy ...
    Championed by the likes of Madonna, Donna Karan, and Deepak Chopra, Rumi has won such a following in this country that a few years ago he was proclaimed our bestselling poet. But translations that have popularized the work of this thirteenth-century Sufi mystic have also strayed from its essence. In this new translation, Farrukh Dhondy seeks to recover both the lyrical beauty and the spiritual ... Read more

    $15.99 AUD

  • The Hitler Virus

    The Insidious Legacy of Adolph Hitler

    by Peter Wyden ...
    More than a half-century after Adolf Hitler committed suicide in a Berlin bunker, the dictator’s legacy and influence lives on, precisely as he predicted before putting the gun to his head. In the spring of 1945, as it became increasingly clear that the Nazi cause was lost, Hitler dictated his final political testament to his secretary: Out of my personal commitment the seed will grow again one ... Read more

    $16.99 AUD $1.99 AUD

  • Trail of the Fallen

    A Tommy Smith High Country Noir, Book Four

    by Bart Paul ...
    Book 4 - Tommy Smith High Country Noir
    A suspense-filled western noir thriller set in California's Sierra mountains—for readers of Craig Johnson and C. J. Box.Tommy Smith, former sniper and Army combat veteran, wants nothing more than to be left alone to raise his young family with his deputy-sheriff wife, Sarah, as they run a wilderness outfitting business in the eastern Sierra ranching country where they grew up.A mass breakout at ... Read more

    $25.99 AUD

  • Jimmy Stewart

    A Wonderful Life

    by Jonathan Coe ...
    Over a career that spanned forty-three years and seventy-seven films, Jimmy Stewart went from leading man to national idol. Classics such as Mr. Smith Goes to Washington, The Philadelphia Story, Harvey, and, of course, It’s A Wonderful Life are far more than mere movies; they are visions of America as it wanted to be seen. With his inimitable (though widely mimicked) down-home drawl, Jimmy Stewart ... Read more

    $22.99 AUD $1.99 AUD

  • Danny's Mom

    A Novel

    by Elaine Wolf ...
    Friday Night Lights meets Ordinary People when Beth Maller returns to her job as a guidance counselor at Meadow Brook High School shortly after an unspeakable family tragedy. Railing against the everyday injustices she had overlooked until her world cracked apart, Beth stirs up the moral battles being waged in her school, where administrators cling to don’t-rock-the-boat policies, homophobia ... Read more

    $15.99 AUD

  • A Long Crazy Burn

    A Darby Holland Crime Novel

    by Jeff Johnson ...
    series Darby Holland Crime Novel Series
    The second in the Darby Holland Crime Novel****series of humorous noir novels set in Portland, Oregon's seedy side, featuring resourceful Darby Holland, owner of the tattoo parlor called The Lucky Supreme, and his brilliant and slightly mad side kick—the twiggy, vinyl clad tattoo artist, Delia.Time is up in Old Town. As the pace of gentrification reaches frenzy in Portland, Oregon, Darby Holland’s ... Read more

    $23.99 AUD $1.99 AUD

  • Zero Gravity

    by Woody Allen ...
    His first new collection of short humor in fifteen years is classic Woody Allen.Zero Gravity is the fifth collection of comic pieces by Woody Allen, a hilarious prose stylist whose enduring appeal readers have savored since his classics Getting Even, Without Feathers, Side Effects, and Mere Anarchy. This new work combines pieces that have appeared in The New Yorker along with eleven written ... Read more

    $30.49 AUD

  • What Comes with the Dust

    A Novel

    As The Kite Runner and The Swallows of Kabuldid for the Taliban regime in Afghanistan, this slim, profound novel illuminates the plight of those living under the Islamic State as well as the spirit of the Yazidi people.Today is Nazo’s wedding. Today she will set herself on fire.Nazo Heydo has drenched herself in kerosene and is ready to light the match in order to avoid marrying the Syrian elder ... Read more

    $20.99 AUD

  • The Times They Were a-Changin'

    1964, the Year the Sixties Arrived and the Battle Lines of Today Were Drawn

    An award-winning historian on the transformative year in the sixties that continues to reverberate in our lives and politics—for readers of Heather Cox Richardson.If 1968 marked a turning point in a pivotal decade, 1964—or rather, the long 1964, from JFK’s assassination in November 1963 to mid-1965—was the time when the sixties truly arrived. It was then that the United States began a radical ... Read more

    $27.99 AUD

  • Wealth Management

    A Novel

    For Fans of Jess Walter and Gary Shteyngart, a Financial Thriller Featuring Three Ivy League MBAs who Must Put Their Lopsided Love Triangle Aside to Snare International TerroristsIn the lush world-banking capital of Geneva, Switzerland, three friends from Harvard Business School find their lives and their work unexpectedly intertwined. Catherine and Majid are handling investments for clients with ... Read more

    $27.44 AUD

  • The Dead Secret

    A Novel

    Wilkie Collins was the first great detective novelist. His dark and complex mysteries influenced the work of other writers, such as Anthony Trollope and Charles Dickens, with whom he developed a close personal friendship. Swinburne found his work worthy of serious criticism, and T. S. Eliot credits him even more than Poe with the invention of the modern detective novel and the popular thriller. ... Read more

    $15.99 AUD $1.99 AUD