Skip to Main Content
Header image

5 audiobooks to listen to if you love Mindhunter

By Kobo • August 21, 2019The Bookish Life

We love a good thriller and Netflix's Mindhunter is right up our alley. The series, currently in its second season, is based on the true crime book Mindhunter: Inside the FBI's Elite Serial Crime Unit. After you're finished watching it, dive into these audiobooks. They'll have you hooked and binge-listening for hours.

Mindhunter: Inside the FBI's Elite Serial Crime Unit by Mark Olshaker and John E. Douglas [Narrated by Richard M. Davidson]

Discover the classic, behind-the-scenes chronicle of John E. Douglas’ twenty-five-year career in the FBI Investigative Support Unit, where he used psychological profiling to delve into the minds of the country’s most notorious serial killers and criminals.

View Book

I'll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara [Narrated by Patton Oswalt, Gabra Zackman and Gillian Flynn]

I’ll Be Gone in the Dark—the masterpiece McNamara was writing at the time of her sudden death—offers an atmospheric snapshot of a moment in American history and a chilling account of a criminal mastermind and the wreckage he left behind. It is also a portrait of a woman’s obsession and her unflagging pursuit of the truth.

View Book

The Killer Across the Table by John E. Douglas and Mark Olshaker [Narrated by Jonathan Groff]

In The Killer Across the Table, John E. Douglas spotlights four of the most diabolical criminals he’s confronted, interviewed and learned from. Going deep into each man’s life and crimes, he outlines the factors that led them to murder and how he used his interrogation skills to expose their means, motives, and true evil.

Bonus: it's narrated by Jonathan Groff (he plays agent Holden Ford in Mindhunter).

View Book

A Serial Killer's Daughter by Kerri Rawson [Narrated by Devon Oday]

What is it like to learn that your ordinary, loving father is a serial killer? Written with candor and extraordinary courage, A Serial Killer’s Daughter is an unflinching exploration of life with one of America’s most infamous killers and an astonishing tale of personal and spiritual transformation.

View Book

Death in the Air by Kate Winkler Dawson [Narrated by Graeme Malcolm]

The Great Smog of 1952 remains the deadliest air pollution disaster in world history, and John Reginald Christie is still one of the most unfathomable serial killers of modern times. Journalist Kate Winkler Dawson braids these strands together into a taut true crime thriller about a man who changed the fate of the death penalty in the UK, and an environmental catastrophe with implications that still echo today.

View Book

For more audiobook recommendations, read Six of the best scary audiobooks

Follow us at @kobobooks on Instagram

"In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV. The operation takes less than two minutes..." Keep reading, link in bio 📚 #stephenking #theinstitute⁠ The book I've read more than once and will probably read again is _________ #thekobolife Summer isn't over (yet)☀️ SUMMER OF ’69 is a nostalgic tale that takes listeners to the island of Nantucket during the most tumultuous summer of the twentieth century. Perfect for historical fiction fans 🎧 Link in bio #thekobolife ⁠

If you would like to be the first to know about bookish blogs, please subscribe. We promise to provided only relevant articles.