More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
Ratings and Reviews (73 330 star ratings
73 reviews
)

Overall rating

4.6 out of 5
330
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
228 79 16 4 3

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Reviews

  • 6 person found this review helpful

    6 people found this review helpful

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Beautiful, Lyrical, Engaging

    Wow! I grew up in the city of Toronto, and have lived here for all of my life. The connection that the main character of Pendziwol’s first novel feels to the rural landscape is something that is utterly foreign to me. I did not grow up on an island. I did not spend my summers picking daisies and running around in the grass. Summers were spent shuttled back and forth to summer daycamps at the local community centre while both of my parents worked their jobs in the city. Yet, I feel as if I can identify with the attachment that Pendziwol’s heroine has to the island so central to her being that it becomes a character itself in the story of her childhood. I can feel the air off the Lake, and I can hear the wind in the trees. If I stop for a second and breathe, I can see the lighthouse parked high on Porphyry Point, with the two young girls playing in the grasses and the breeze, clutching daisies in their hands. All of this is a testament to the power of Pendziwol’s writing; she has the unique ability to make her reader feel simultaneously alien to while also peculiarly familiar with what is going on in her story. This novel displays a lyricism of writing that one does not see often. Pendziwol merges the power of her writing with a fast paced plot that kept me up well into the night. I usually find that it is one or the other when it comes to most novels, beautiful writing or an explosive plot, but Pendziwol manages to weave the two together seamlessly. I was most struck by her descriptions of Lake Superior, she manages to breathe life into the lake itself, creating a being that is both to be feared, respected, and revered. This book is perfect for fans of WWI or WWII historical fiction that acknowledges the presence of the wars, but focuses more on what life was like for those left at home, for those who are interested in learning about a long forgotten part of Canada's past, or for those simply looking for an engaging story woven with gorgeous writing. My thanks to Harper Collins Canada for sending me a copy of this book. Opinions are entirely my own.
  • 7 person found this review helpful

    7 people found this review helpful

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    The Ligtkeeper's Daughters

    A compelling story ~ icy and bleak with many twists an turns. I enjoyed it immensely!
  • 6 person found this review helpful

    6 people found this review helpful

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    The Lightkeepers's Daughter

    One of the best books I have read in a long time. I drove around the Lake Superior circle this summer and recognized some of the places mentioned. The descriptions in this book bring the lake alive, you almost feel you are there. I loved the mystery and needed tissues at the end.
  • 2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    A many layered, twisting tale

    I really enjoyed the story, the characters and the gradual revelation of the twists in the tale. And it flew me back to my roots, on the north shore of Lake Superior.
  • 2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Compelling

    Very informative relating to the early lighthouse life. The story of the family that comes to the surface is so gripping that I ended reading it in one sitting.
330

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS
  • WINDOWS