Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.4 out of 5
5 Stars
43 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
19 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
6 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
0 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
3 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • It Costs Nothing to be Kind

    This is one of the most heartwarming books I have read all year. It is a heart breaking story about children that no one wanted and no one cared about until one young woman cared enough. Lauren was a privileged young lady of nineteen, the world was wonderful for her and she grew up with the house staff and was friends will all of them. Nanny Kat, the cook, Mary, Patty, Sam and Old Sal. The only one she didn't get along with was the sour caretaker Jackson. On a trip to the city she meets two ragged little girls and her eyes are opened to the poverty existing beyond the walls of her family home. When Nanny Kat takes her to the mountains and she meets the mountain people, Becky and her family she is more aware of the dire situation of some during this depression era. As she tried to help the less fortunate her father hampered her efforts and expected her to marry Justin a man of old money and rich connections. When she refused to do so it caused problems and put her in Jeopardy. Then she visits the private orphanage "The Home for Unloved Children". What happens next defines her as a caring and compassionate woman. She falls in love with those orphans especially with Ruthie. When her father fails her and disowns her she finds help from Becky, Mary and the wonderful townspeople and even the impoverished mountain folks. I loved this story and hope to read the rest of the series to find out what awaits the orphan's in the next book. I would definitely recommend this book and the series. Thanks to Rachel Wesson, Bookouture, and NetGalley for all allowing me to read a copy of the book for an honest review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Masterpiece of Truth! Unforgettable Moments!

    Tissues! I cried for how horrible the families and children were treated during the depression! This book is a phenomenal depiction of that time period! The author has taken a piece of history and weaved it into a remarkable intriguing storyline that will become a masterpiece of truth! Lauren once a rich debutante who thought nothing of paying $300.00 for a dress, is now struggling to stretch $5.00 to feed a houseful of orphans! Lauren refused to marry her fathers chosen pick, and he disowns her and kicks her out of the house with not so much as a boo! He gave her a heartless look and she wonders if he ever did love her or if she was just another piece of property to sell? Lauren and others are not going to let these children suffer and so she does everything she can in her arsenal of life choices that she has been taught by her Nanny Aunt. She refuses to give up!, The author does such a tremendous piece of work in bringing attention to the plight of the miners and the children who were underage that were made to work in the mines during the Depression years. The Great Depression was a a burden on the families and the owners and the lenders and the Government. This was a time that everyone suffered and the author depicted the lives of the Mountain people and their lives and the lives of the rich and how even some of the ones who tried to help became homeless themselves. The author does a magnificent development of the characters and their growth as they learned self discovery throughout the book. The flow of the book storyline was exceptional and it didn’t lag or chop off. The characters felt alive and believable the plot was eye-opening! I would give this book more stars if I could! I would definitely recommend this book to anyone! I received an advanced copy from NetGalley and these are my willingly given thoughts and opinions.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • One of the best stories for this year

    I enjoyed this book immensely. Inspirational ,heartbreaking, and also uplifting. The storyline and characters are flawless. I didn't want it to end and was happy to see it was book one in the series The Orphans of Hope House. I will be watching for the next release. Rachel Wesson is a true artist in storytelling and I recommend it highly. I received a free advance copy of this book and this is my honest and unbiased review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A beautiful compelling heart wrenching historical

    Title: A Home for Unloved Orphans Author: Rachel Wesson Publication Day: Oct 26th 2020 Description: Virginia, 1933: Her heart broke as she took in the scene before her. There were too many orphans and not enough beds. The rags they wore barely covered them and they hadn’t eaten in days. How could anyone let innocent children live like this? She picked up a tiny girl who’d cried as she moved past her cot. “I’ll be back soon, little one.” Never in a million years did Lauren Greenwood think she would be destitute and without a penny to her name. But when her father mercilessly disowns her in the depths of winter, that is her fate. Now homeless, Lauren finds America in the devastating grip of the Great Depression––children run wild in the icy streets, endless queues for soup kitchens line frosty sidewalks, and desperation hangs in the air. All alone in the world, Lauren finds an orphanage in the sprawling fields of the Virginia countryside, surrounded by snow-topped mountains and magnificent fir trees––a safe haven for those who have nowhere to go. But she is appalled to find children living in shocking conditions, huddled together for warmth, their hunger keeping them awake at night as the temperature plunges. The home for unloved orphans is on the brink of closure and the helpless innocents may lose the roof over their heads… Lauren, heartbroken by the rejection of her own father, vows to provide these poor orphans with the love she never received. With Christmas just around the corner, she refuses to see them cast out onto the street, where they will not survive. When she sees an advertisement in the local newspaper, with an anonymous benefactor donating money to families crippled by the Depression, it could be the answer to her prayers. Can Lauren save these children who have been rejected by the world? Or in a time of so much suffering, is there simply no hope? A heartbreaking yet hopeful tale about a brave young woman who gives up everything to help unloved children who have nothing. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan Train and Diney Costeloe will adore this poignant historical novel, which shows that a little bit of kindness can go a long way. BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'A Home For Unloved Orphans' by Rachel Wesson. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 26th October 2020 This is the first book that I have read by this author. It is also the first book in 'The Orphan' s Of Hope House' series. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful cover and intriguing sounding blurb. I was also looking to read something different from my usual choice of crime and this seems to fit the bill. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of 86 chapters. The chapters are a mix of short and medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is set in Virginia , USA 🇺🇸. This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Lauren Greenwood. The positives of books written in third person perspective is that you get to see more of what is going on and what other characters are doing and feeling, building a bigger picture overall. This book had me captivated from the first page until the last. It is very well written and an easy and smooth read. The descriptions were fantastic and really helped me picture everything that was going on. Ravhe has obviously done her research into the timeline which is brilliant as I have read some novels where it is clear no research has been put in and I then really struggle to read it so well done!! Fantastic character development with each of the characters being very strong with their own seperate personalities. I loved how strong willed Lauren was and I really enjoyed watching her grow and all the friendships develop and bond between all the different characters. I fell in love with many of the characters and it was great "seeing" the children grow. I'm definitely looking forward to meeting each of them again. Lauren is a great inspiration, such a selfless character and a few of the other characters surprised me too. THE storyline itself is absolutely heart wrenching, beautiful and amazing!! It really was a true eye opener into how people lived and struggled during the depression. I was completely hooked throughout and it was definitely a roller-coaster of emotions filled with laughter, sadness, tension, suspense, love and hate. A brilliant start to what promises to be an epic series to look forward to. Overall a beautiful historical novel that will take you on a roller-coaster tide of emotions. Genres covered in this novel include Historical Fiction

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A home for unloved orphans

    The conditions described in this book were sadly prevalent in many orphanages in the 20th century. The powerlessness of women married to powerful men is well described and the chilling story of how these men were able to stay rich and remain above the law makes for a page turning read. For them it was important to exert control and turn people out in the interests of business. It is a story that we need to hear

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS