We've added this item to your cart.
Your £3 CREDIT has been applied
YOU CAN GET £3 off YOUR FIRST PURCHASE

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
Ratings and Book Reviews (2 4 star ratings
2 reviews
)

Overall rating

4.5 out of 5
4
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Star
3 0 1 0 0

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    May also be found under the title A German Midwife

    This story can be read under the title of The German Midwife or A Woman of War. It is the fictional story of Anke, a midwife, who delivers babies in the concentration camp. Once her abilities are revealed, she becomes the midwife to Ava Braun. The historical “what-ifs” of a relationship that produces a child between real life, Ava Braun and Hitler. The fictional story is nicely interspersed with factual details from that historical time period. I am an avid reader of World War II novels in which the premise is based upon strong female characters. I could not, however, fully immerse myself in this novel. I thought the writing was good but found the characters not fully examined. In reading the beginning involving a birth at a camp and the emotions experienced by the mother, I had high hopes for a satisfying read. I was surprised that it quickly jumped to Anke becoming the midwife for Eva Braun. Other sections dragged and were detailed to light boredom. I believe that this book has great potential. It would help to tighten up some of the story and show the reader why we should care who Eva’s midwife is. I believe the author has good skills and instincts but the story may need some more polishing before publication. I received an ARC through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affects my opinions or ratings of this book.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Loved It! World War II Historical Fiction Suspense

    A Woman of War or The German Midwife by Mandy Robotham published by Avon is outstanding Historical Fiction. Mandy Robotham is new author to me and now a new favorite. If you love WWII historical fiction this a book and author you will enjoy. I found her depiction of Nazi Germany horrifying accurate. It is obvious to the reader that Mandy Robotham is a caring medical professional and midwife herself from the medical, pregnancy and birthing details in this book. The characters as portrayed and their relationships make this book seem like a true story. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Avon through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own. My thanks to the author, the publisher and netgalley for the privilege to read, review and enjoy this book.
4

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS