Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.2 out of 5
5 Stars
20 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
11 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
4 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
3 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
1 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Hilarious LOL page turner you won't put down

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'Am I Allergic To Men?' by Kristen Bailey. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kristen Bailey, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 3rd February 2022. This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the fifth book in the 'The Callaghan Sisters' series but can be read as a standalone. I have also read the fourth book in this series called 'How Much Wine Will Fix My Broken Heart?' which is the fourth book in this series and which I loved and would definitely recommend. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'The perfect page-turner for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and TV shows like Schitt’s Creek.' I am a huge fan of Sophie Kinsella so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Kristen Bailey and if this is half as good as' How Much Wine Will Fix A Broken Heart?' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of a prologue, 21 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in England, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is based in Ireland is even better as I have been on holiday in England many times so may even recognise some places Kristen has set the book around. This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Lucy. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. 'Am I Allergic To Men' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Kristen discusses/includes strong language and sexual content. Due to these I would recommend reading age of 16 plus. OMG!!!! I CANNOT REMEMBER THE LAST TIME I LAUGHED SO MUCH!!! What an absolutely page turning, refreshing, laugh a minute read!!!! It is perfectly written to hook the reader in and the title, cover and synopsis is perfect for the storyline. I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this book which got me hook, line and sinker!! I absolutely devoured it in one reading and was completely absorbed throughout!! I loved that it feels that Lucy is talking directly to me over a cup of tea at the kitchen table. I coinldnt stop laughing from the first page to the end. I adore the fact that although there are quite sad moments and emotional times that within minutes Kristen has you laughing until you are in tears again. As a parent myself I can completely relate to some parts of this storyline and to many of the parents, which made it all the more belivable and lovable. This book is a complete breathe of fresh air and is the perfect mix of 'Bridesmaids' and 'The Hangover' and 'Bridget Jones Diaries' but funnier!!!! I genuinely couldn't recommend this book any more!!!! This is the most hilarious book I have read this year, and more and if you are looking for a light hearted read filled with romance, alcohol, love, comedy, sadness, family and so, so much more you are in the right place!! Some parts of the book were quite serious and Kiersten delves into the medical world at several points. There was a lovely part where they finally found out who a certain someone was which was so sweet. The fact that Kristen has done her research absolutely shines through so a HUGE well done there!! There's nothing worse than a book filled with silly errors because the author has not looked into what they are writing about. I was devastated when I realised this was the last book of the Callaghan sisters however I have yet to read Meg, Megan and Beth's story so I am thoroughly looking forward to reading them. I also adored the fact that in the epilogue you find out what each of the sisters ended up doing which was lovely as they have become friends even though I have just read the two books which shows just how amazing Kirsten's writing is. I was devastated when I came to the end of this book but I absolutely LOVED reading Kirsten's letter at the end and even the acknowledgements where her personality absolutely shines through!! Although this is the fifth bo

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Sorry, but no!😐

    Big miss for me😒 2-2.5🌟 stars For me, this was not the way to sign out of a good series about the lives and loves of five British sisters. I thought the earlier books were much better and even incorporated some of the LOL moments that the tagline promises. This one, nah, not fun or funny to me and it rambles so. I could not finish as I just found Lucy, especially the Lucy of the reminiscences, too coarse and annoying. The harking back to ten years past because of her amnesia and having to dwell on that or explain what had happened since was not a story I could get into. And yes, I agree with some other advance readers that the title and cover are deceptive. They drew me in and surprised me with a book focused on the sisterhood which I did not fancy. In the part I did read, my favorite moment had nothing to do with her relationship with protective older sisters Meg, Beth, Emma and Grace, ha ha, snark or crude comments. It was Lucy comforting a sad, bewildered little birthday girl in a ladies lav (restroom). A moment when I could see a worthwhile, compassionate grown-up in a flighty, rudderless party girl. I could have done with more like that and less riffing on the past. Maybe Lucy eventually changes but I could not bring myself to finish reading to find out. Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for sharing a complimentary advance copy of the book; this is my voluntary and honest opinion.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A hilarious tale of life evaluation!

    What if you woke up and suddenly couldn't remember the last 12 years of your life? As you get to know yourself, you start to question who you are, where you where in life, what had you accomplished compared to those around you and that you had some pretty major secrets? A hilarious look at life through the lens of someone who doesn't remember living her best life. The narrator did an outstanding job of bringing the characters to life and enhancing an incredibly fun look at life and romance. A happily ever after, but not what you would expect from your typical rom com! I enjoyed this fun and unique look at life through the eyes of this author and can't wait to read more of her books!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Hilarious read

    4.5 stars Am I Allergic To Men? is the last book of the series The Callaghan Sisters. It narrates the story of Lucy Callaghan, who loses her memory of the last ten years after meeting with an accident, leaving her with her memories till she was 17. Lucy, along with her sisters, tries to regain her memories by revisiting old places and acquaints. Lucy is a wild, spontaneous and energetic woman who is working as a dancer and actress. She loves exploring every single possibilities of life. I was really envies of her. I wish I was like her. The writing style was excellent. It was absolutely hilarious. I can't recall the last time I laughed so hard. Her relationship with her sisters was just so endearing. I loved Lucy. I loved the book. The only thing is that the title was misleading. The title had nothing to do with story. I started the story thinking it was a romcom, only to know that there was no romance aspect in it. Aside from that, it was really great. This is my first book of this series, and I would absolutely read the rest of the series, The epilogue's idea was brilliant. It was a nice way to close up the series. The narrator was amazing. The British accent was just *chef's kiss*. I would absolutely recommend this series and re-read the book sometime later. OUT 3RD FEBRUARY

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Emotional, feel-good read

    Lucy loves her life, even if it's unconventional. Until she wakes from a coma with no memory of the past decade. In her mind, she's seventeen. She can't believe twenty-nine-year-old Lucy doesn't have more to show for her life. No husband, no kids, no steady job, and a communal living arrangement you'd expect of a college student, not a woman on the cusp of thirty. She slowly puts together the pieces of her life, reconnecting with friends and past lovers she doesn't even remember. In the process, she learns that life is more than bullet points on a CV, and wealth is more than a bank account balance. This is not the rom com I expected from the cover and title. It's so much better than that. Lucy is an absolute delight. I love how close and protective her family are. I love her quirky, funny friends. She's charming and wise and offers a unique view of the world. And as funny as the book is, it's also like a big, warm, cozy quilt to wrap up in on a cold winter night. Don't miss this emotional, feel-good read. Thanks, NetGalley, for the ARC I received. This is my honest and voluntary review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS