Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.2 out of 5
5 Stars
4 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
5 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
2 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
0 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • A perfect light hearted summer romance

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'Going Greek' by Sue Roberts. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sue Roberts, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 28th May 2021. This is the first book I have read by this author. I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated this book is 'A fun, fabulous and completely laugh-out-loud summer read perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella'. I am a huge fan of Jenny and Sophie so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of a prologue, 24 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in London, UK 🇬🇧 and Greece 🇬🇷 . The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited London on several occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere. This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Sam. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. This book is beautifully written and completely absorbs you in the stunning atmosphere of Greece and really sucks you in with the vivid descriptions leaving you feel the warmth of the the sun and smell of the sea. The synopsis and cover suits the storyline perfectly. The storyline is authentic and realistic as well as easy to read and heartwarming. I loved reading all the developments at the farm, the ups and the downs. There were plenty of events going on throughout and it kept me hooked from start to end, I read it in one sitting. The storyline was filled with a range of emotions and was heartwarming, devastating and had lies, lost and new love, relationships, family, friendship and history all going on in this beautiful atmosphere. It felt like a lovely break away from a rainy Wales!! I loved how the story ended and I would love to read more about the life in this gorgeous Greek village. This would make a lovely series. An absolutely gorgeous book!! The characters were all unique with their own realistic traits, strengths and weaknesses. It was intriguing to watch Sam, Aaron and Spyro's relationship grow, develop and change throughout the the storyline. I genuinely felt sorry for Sam throughout and felt that certain characters seemed to be very manipulative. It was also intriguing to see how not only Sam, Aaron and Spyro's relationship change throughout the book but also Sam's relationship with Fi, Nick and the girls and Sofia's relationship with Vasillis, I enjoyed how all the community helped each other out and were so friendly with Sam. I found Spyro's character to be very sweet and gentleman. All characters worked perfectly with the storyline and I would love to meet them again and hope to see this made into a series or even a movie!!! Well done Sue, I will definitely be looking for your books any time I need to be swept off to another country!!! Overall a perfect light hearted romance that will sweep you off your feet and land you in Greece. Genres covered in this book include Romance Novel , Humorous Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Humour and Holiday Fiction amongst others. I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Jenny Colgan, Sophie Kinsella and anyone who needs a holiday!! 257 pages. This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Light fare for vacay reading🌅

    📺Wither goes Sam? Beach read women's fiction with sunny setting🌅 3.5🌟 stars Female lead Sam escapes her professional woes in London by jetting off to sunny Greece for some quality time with her supportive family. Yes there's some drama and romance, and a lovely holiday setting. The locals are friendly, her young twin nieces are good for smiles, and the general tenor of the story is relaxing and positive. Not a particularly emotional or memorable story: I've read several of Sue Roberts' novels that I liked much better, probably because they evoked some deeper emotion and connection to the characters on my part. I did not feel that with TV presenter Sam. Thanks to publishers Bookouture and NetGalley for providing a complimentary advance copy of the book; this is my voluntary and honest opinion.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Review Going Greek by Sue Roberts

    4 stars *** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! *** I had so much fun reading this book! It's a perfect get away from reality and just enjoy reading the book. If you are looking for a book that you would like to read on the beach or on a sunny day than this book would be a good option to consider. The book is light-hearted and fun. The book starts when Samantha her summer holiday starts as a disaster. Samantha works as a presenter for a morning TV show and with one celebration with co-workers everything she worked so hard for starts to fall apart. The public hates her, all her summer jobs fall trough and she might be fired. To escape all the negative publicity she decides to stay at her sisters home in Rhodes. The story is all about Samantha her experience in unwinding and finding herself again. With a bit of romance of course. Samantha is al celebrity but she down to earth and compassionate. Going in I did not expect this. I thought she would be a bit more spoiled. But I liked Samantha. I did not agree with all of her decisions and I would act in another way, but I could understand where she was coming from. A love triangle is not one of my favourite tropes but in this case it was okay. It was not good and it was not bad. This was for me the least favourite part of the book. The best part about the book was for me to experience the way of living in Rhodes in Greek. I have never been there but the book took me and it was such a relaxing experience, especially since it's difficult to travel because of the pandemic. I would love to go to Rhodes one day and experience it myself.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Loved this story

    What a fun, uplifting story! I truly enjoyed this book. The characters are great, with lots of fun dialogue and real life moments. The description of the Greek village is amazing, and made me wish, more than once, that I could be there. Sam is ending her season as a presenter on a British TV station, when she is caught up in a public scandal. She decides to escape the backlash by visiting her sister and her family on their sheep farm in Greece. While very different from her life in England, Sam completely fits in. She loves it so much she wonders how she will ever leave! I received an advance copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Prefect summer read

    Wow I loved this novel its a fantastic summer read. I couldn't put it down. Who doesn't love a book set in Greece. This novel is brilliant you will not be disappointed with it. After a scandal sam wants to escape London and goes to visit her sister's family Greece. After meeting some delightful local characters and a blast from the past. Which way will she turn.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS