We've added this item to your cart.
Your £3 CREDIT has been applied
YOU CAN GET £3 off YOUR FIRST PURCHASE

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
Ratings and Book Reviews (7 12 star ratings
7 reviews
)

Overall rating

3.9 out of 5
12
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Star
4 5 2 0 1

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • 1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Highly Entertaining!

    Good Little Liars is fantastic and solid début from Australian author Sarah Clutton and as the book is set in Hobart, Tasmania, this satisfied the escapist in me! A class reunion for women who graduated from Denham House School, an exclusive all-girls boarding academy, brings back memories of a classmate whose untimely death just days before graduation has haunted a few of them. Tessa Terrano's death was deemed an accident, but was it really? This story was told from several viewpoints that offered alternative perspectives on what happened to Tessa and with oodles of drama, an ominous vibe and a large cast of characters, I really enjoyed reading it. It was fast-paced and skilfully told, the well written narrative pulling in all of the different strands, resulting in an extremely interesting tale. I could relate to many of the characters such as Emma, Marlee and Harriet, whilst not always liking them or their behaviour. Emma works in the office of the well-respected school she once attended herself and is best friends with Marlee. Now an architect, Marlee has just moved back to Hobart from Melbourne. She is godmother to Emma’s daughter but her return is clouded by a secret she carries. Fifty-nine-year old Harriet is an acclaimed QC and her eldest daughter, Clementine, was born just after her mother left Denham House. Clementine is a famous artist now living in Prague and has returned to Hobart for the reunion and her mother's approaching sixtieth birthday. Clementine and Marlee were at Denham House together, along with Emma, graduating twenty-five years ago and Harriet herself attended Denham House over forty years ago on a scholarship. Sarah Clutton has done a superb job in making them all believable and to be able to feel the emotions of each of them as I delved deeper into the story, further reinforced how well they have been brought to life. This really was one delightfully dysfunctional story! I was gripped right from the start and was completely caught up in the drama of it all. It was a very emotive and intense read and although Tessa's death really wasn't the main focus of the story, it was still extremely compelling.The narration and the fast-paced plot had more than enough about them to make me want to keep reading. The writing really flowed in this wonderfully crafted, slightly disturbing tale. Full of complexity, the ending was most satisfying. This was such a strong début from Sarah Clutton, who has a style all of her own. I think she is definitely an author to watch out for and I look forward to many more books from her. Overall, I'd say that this novel is a little gem and a book that I'm so pleased to have read. I received a complimentary digital copy of this novel, at my own request, from Bookouture via NetGalley. This review is my own unbiased opinion.
  • 1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    An excellent debut

    With her being an Australian author and being Australian myself, I was really excited to read Sarah’s book. Supporting authors from my home country is really important to me, so when I saw this one and read the blurb I couldn’t wait to get stuck into it. What also drew me in was the cover of the book. It throws off an ominous vibe that is then effectively captured throughout. The story! I was completely hooked right from the start and had trouble tearing myself away from it. If you love a story that has mystery, secrets, betrayal and family drama then this is the book for you. Sarah has created a tightly woven plot set in Hobart, Tasmania. Told from multiple points of view, the story revolves around central characters Emma, Marlee and Clementine, as they prepare for their 25th high school reunion. But with it brings back old memories of when friend Tessa tragically lost her life in their last year of high school. Secrets that have been buried for 25 years are about to be exposed when the mystery of what really happened to Tessa the day she died deepens, when Emma finds an explicit photograph of Tessa when she moves into now headmaster’s Dr Brownley former cottage. Always suspecting that there was more to their relationship when Dr Browlney was a teacher, Emma gets more than she bargains for when the truth is finally revealed. There are a few characters featured that keep you on your toes as to where they all fit into the story and they all have been written perfectly in the role that they play. Although I did not find them all to be likeable, Sarah has done a great job in making them believable which is enough for me. To be able to feel the emotions of each one as the story goes deeper, further reinforces how well they have been brought to life. Told in the present to past format, we are given a great insight as to who each one was and how the events of the past have shaped them into the people that have become in the present, I really enjoyed Sarah’s writing style. It is emotive, atmospheric, engaging and Sarah does a great job at building the suspense and tension along the way. For me it moved at the right pace and I loved knowing about the places that have been used. I read a lot of books set in the UK and the US which I love, but there is nothing like reading a book set in places that you know of. Although I have yet to visit Tasmania, through her writing Sarah made me feel that I was there watching from the sidelines as it all unfolded. As a debut novel Sarah has nailed it! I was really impressed with this story and how it has been put together. Sarah is definitely one to watch out for and I look forward to many more books from her. The Good Liars is a highly enjoyable read that will have you reading well into the night racing through the pages ending with a satisfactory outcome. I highly recommend this book. Thank-you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Sarah Clutton for allowing me to read an advanced copy of The Good Liars which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Good little Liars

    Very good story which keeps you turning the pages to find the truth. I really enjoyed and recommend this book.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Fantastic mystery with strong characters

    I absolutely loved Good Little Liars! This is not a thriller in the vein of The Silent Patient, My Lovely Wife etc. but instead is a strongly developed mystery along the lines of Ruth Ware's The Lying Game and Donna Tartt's The Secret History. I adore school mysteries and this one delivers with strong character development, twisty inter-generational connections between characters and a satisfying conclusion to a 25 year old mystery. I loved that the chapters were told from the POVs of multiple characters, teasing out pieces of the mystery and their relationships throughout the book. I can't wait to read more from Sarah Clutton! Thank you to #netGalley and Bookouture for this advanced readers copy in exchange for my honest review.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Just okay

    Thank you NetGalley for an advanced copy. I voluntarily reviewed this book. All opinions expressed are my own. Good Little Liars By: Sarah Clutton *REVIEW* 🌟🌟🌟 Did you have any big secrets with your schoolmates that you swore to never tell? I didn't, but I know I would completely freak out if someone told. In Good Little Liars, a school reunion plus the revelation of some dark secrets equals a lot of trouble for some characters. Who and what can be trusted? I enjoyed the story, but it's not very unique. It's interesting, engaging and well written, but it's also predictable. As a thriller, it's an average read. The story kept my interest, but it was slow going at times, and I nearly put it down. Overall, it's okay but not remarkable.
12

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS
  • WINDOWS