Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.6 out of 5
5 Stars
13 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
4 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
0 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
1 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • 4.5⭐

    This is my first introduction to Boyle & Keneally and author S.A. Dunphy and all I can think is why have I waited so long! As this is a story that's not only full of twists and turns, but takes old Irish folk and legends, action and police procedures and creates a mystery that I honestly struggled to put down. And with unforgettable and unique characters and the spectre of a serial killer this was a truly compelling and well-paced read. That actually reminded me of two of my favourite TV shows The Fall and Hinterland and it's definitely a story I would recommend in fact I'm off to buy the first two books as I enjoyed it that much. 😊 **I was kindly provided with an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Totally Enthralling Mystery

    This is the third book by S..A, Dunphy, featuring Jessie Boyle and Seamus Keneally. "Her Child's Cry" starts off the the kidnapping of young Rosie Blake from her hospital bed - where she's being treated for a very malignant and dangerous cancer - in broad daylight. With the team hot on the case, the next thing we discover is that her erstwhile kidnapper is dead, and Rosie is nowhere to be found. As in previous books in this series, the author taps into the rich supernatural history of Ireland - this time involving The Reavers and the Hellfire Club. Throughout the book we're shown snippets of other characters inner lives as Jessie and Seamus, along with researcher Teri and Commissioner Dawn Wilson work to find the child before something worse (!) can happen to her. Always tense and suspenseful, this entry in the series does not disappoint; characters are put in peril, secrets are revealed and there's a great dose of supernatural chills. Recommended.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • An addictive unputdownable must read

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'Her Child's Cry' by S.A Dunphy. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for S.A Dunphy, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 18th May 2022. This is the fifth sixth I have read by this author but his third book by S.A Dunphy. It is also the second book in the 'Boyle & Keneally' series but can be read as a standalone. I have also read the first book in this series called 'Bring Her Home' and the second book in this series 'Lost Graves' which I loved and would definitely recommend. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Patricia Gibney, Lisa Gardner and Lisa Regan will not want to miss this.' I am a huge fan of Lisa Gardner, Lisa Regan and Patricia Gibney so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Shane Dunphy and if this is half as good as Shane's previous books it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of a prologue, 64 chapters, 11 very short chapters from Rosie, Eugene, Harold and Garth and an epilogue set over 6 parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in Ireland 🇮🇪 UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is based in Ireland is even better as I have been on holiday in Ireland many times so may even recognise some places Shane has set the book around. This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Jessie Boyle, Seamus Keneally and Terri Kehoe. The benefits of third person perspective and especially with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. 'Her Child's Cry' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Shane discusses/includes child kidnapping. LOVE, LOVE, LOVED IT!! Well I must say Shane you are very talented man!!! What another absolutely addictive read!! I am already eagerly awaiting the fourth book in the 'Boyle & Keneally' especially after that breath taking cliff hanger ending!!! This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that places you write in the heart of the storyline and leaves you hearing the roar of the helicopter, seeing the stars on the mountain and has your heart pounding. The title, cover and synopsis work perfectly with the storyline. This is the third crime novel I have read by Shane and he is one of those rare authors who books are fantastic and yet also keep getting better and better. I have read most of his non fiction books from when he was working as a child protection worker and loved them all. They were heartbreaking and I shed many tears but they were fantastic books. Shane then started writing crime novels and was intrigued by the change of genre and was looking forward to seeing if these book would be as good as his previous non fiction work. I am very pleased to say that Shane writes fiction just as fantastically as non fiction!!! This storyline is definitely unique which I loved. I'm a big fan of crime but it can be tedious reading similar storylines so this one was a nice refreshing change. It is extremely paced and addictive. I was completely absorbed from page one until the fantastic explosive ending. It is ram packed with suspense, mystery, history, mythology, horror, tension, humour and everything you want in an unputdownable page turner. I loved the gothic atmosphere surrounding this story with the Reavers, the Balor, The Hell fire Club and the dark storyline. There were so many twists and turns throughout leading you to one red herring and then another whilst constantly questioning yourself who is actually behind everything all along. I enjoyed that there were several different sub plots and so much going on without getting confusing. I absolutely loved the first book 'Bring Her Home' and the second book 'Lost Graves' but I must say this one hooked me in even more which I wouldn't have thought was possible after the absolutely addictive previous books. It was definitely something about the creepy storyline that I just loved. The book wrapped up perfectly with everythin

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A Cracking Read

    Shane Dunphy has written a corker of a 3rd instalment in this crime series! It features forty-odd-year-old criminal behaviourist and social psychologist, Jessie Boyle and decorated detective, Seamus Keneally. Jessie, formerly of London Met's Violent Crime Task Force, has returned to her homeland. With its Dublin based crime setting, this tale of crime and folklore is disturbing and creepy. History and mythology are blended into the current action to create an intriguing tale. Jessie, Seamus and Terri make a marvellous team, and I will be continuing this promising series. A clever and compelling police procedural with a twisty finish. I received a complimentary copy of this novel at my request from Bookouture via NetGalley and this review is my unbiased opinion.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • WOW -- JUST WOW

    Her Child’s Cry Dunphy by S.A. Boyle & Kenneally #3 WOW…finished the last page and that word popped out of my mouth though nobody was there to hear me say it. Just…WOW! What I liked: * Returning to the team to see what they would be dealing with next * The team: a tight unit that works well together * Jessie: behaviorist, team-leader, has an interesting past explored in previous books, intelligent, tenacious, focused…like her * Seamus: brilliant, skilled, lethal, kindhearted, sees connections, problem solver, team focused, gets things done…like him * Terri: computer genius, tech guru, puzzle solver, there for her team, gets the job done * Dawn: Ireland’s Garda – or chief police person, Jessie’s friend from childhood, interesting past, strong, interesting, intelligent…want to know more about her * The police procedural aspects of the story * Where the clues led the team…and how the plot was exposed * The writing * Getting to see how Rosie – the kidnapped girl – was doing * The surprises…and there were many * The tie-in with Uruz: an easy to hate serial killer that will probably be featured throughout the series * Being able to detest the bad guys…and there were quite a few of them! * Thinking about the future and what it holds for the team…hope some good will come their way eventually. What I didn’t like: * Exactly who and what I was meant not to like – evil people and the atrocities they committed * Having to say goodbye to the team not knowing what will happen next Did I enjoy this book? Yes Would I read more in this series? Definitely Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC – This is my honest review. 5 Stars

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS