More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem
Ratings and Book Reviews (9 18 star ratings
9 reviews
)

Overall rating

3.7 out of 5
18
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Star
4 10 1 0 3

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • 1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    nothing makes sense

    Just Saying follows the story of Alice and Joe who are one of those happy couple's just meant to be together. Joe is the perfect boyfriend, he's kind, supportive, and most of all loves Alice. Alice cannot thank her lucky stars enough for meeting Joe. There is no doubt in her mind that Joe is it for her and she for him. However throw in a live in ex-girlfriend, a career change, and a handsome work neighbor, and suddenly the Happy Ever After isn't as sure a thing as Alice thought it was. I would give this book a 1 out of 5 star rating, because while the book had some good points, it was a hard book for me to keep reading. The negatives outweigh the positives for me. Starting with the fact that the cover and title don't really make sense for the plot, and the romance element was too little for it to be considered a romance in my opinion, there was too much going on in this book. First of all. this book is a great example of the importance of communication in any relationship. Alice and Joe didn't talk about the major issues, which I found odd seeing as Alice could not stop raving about how amazing her boyfriend is. Joe was the perfect man (in her opinion) and she still couldn't properly communicate with him. Additionally, this book which had been marketed as a feel good romance took me completely by surprise at finding an element of sexual assault. I really hope the description of this book and a trigger warning is updated to the synopsis before publication date. I will commend the author for incorporating current issues in to her book such as the #metoo movement, but would have been more prepared for it had there been a trigger warning. I felt that the acceptance of the assault was too rushed, for complete closure. In my opinion, there were too many subplots incorporated into one book, and the story would have been better off if the author had focused on just one and really explored that one plot topic. The emotions we felt from Alice, were what really made me keep going. By all means, Alice is very smart and successful. After losing her job, she could have gone to another firm, but choose not. She was insecure, and jealous but also hard working and determined. Which I loved. Her flaws are what make her "human". However I felt that Alice was the only character who was well rounded, The other character's weren't given as much time in the book and felt flat I thank the author, the publishers, and NetGalley for this advanced reader copy, even though this book didn't turn out to be for me.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Quite Enjoyable

    ***SPOILER ALERT*** I received this book as an ARC request from NetGalley with a couple friends. We each requested and decided to read together! I mainly requested for the title and then I read the description - “SOLD”! I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I found myself getting concerned and angry and loving along with Alice! Given that I’ve read this with friends, throughout most of the book, I was so, so, SO angry with Joe and she-who-I-will-not-name (she doesn’t deserve it), but I believe the conclusion has left me on the unpopular opinion side 🤔 Once everything was aired out - I forgave him, too! Apparently, I sure do love a happy ending.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    A rom-com but so much more!

    Just Saying is my second book written by Sophie Ranald, having read “It’s Not You It’s Him” last year. Based on the synopsis, I was mistaken to assume this book would be an ultra-fluffy rom-com. This book is so much more. Alice and Joe have the world in their hands. They are in love and have promising careers as lawyers which will be sure to provide them with the life they’ve been working towards and dreaming of. Then Alice’s career takes a detour and she is forced to examine what is really important to her. On the day she is given the bad news concerning her career path, she finds herself in a neighbourhood pub that has seen better days. While the decor is something circa 1980, she feels cared for and more in touch with her community then she ever has. She takes a job as a barmaid as a source of income until she figures out what to do next - the patrons are friendly and begin to feel like family. However, her income has decreased and it will be impossible for Alice and Joe to remain in their current home and they will need to bring in a flatmate. Much to Alice’s dismay, that new flatmate will be the first love of Joe’s life - the beautiful and ultra-friendly Zoe. Alice has to think - does Zoe want more then just a place to live? There are important serious storylines associated with social change in this book that I won’t reveal so as not to give anything away. This book is about valuing relationships, earning and maintaining trust, being honest, and being true to yourself. The characters are likeable, and the storyline engaging. The concept of Zoe moving into their flat was one that I would not have accepted if I had been Alice, and I wonder how many women would? Why would Joe even suggest it? I’d recommend this entertaining read for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Sophie Kinsella. Thanks to Netgalley and Bookouture for the ARC of this book in exchange for the honest review provided here.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Cute Romantic Comedy

    This is a cute story that is neither sweet nor clean. There is so much going on in the story that it is hard to describe. On the romantic level, it is about people appreciating what they have and not letting themselves get distracted by the 'greener pastures' fallacy. On another level, it is about loving your job/career or find a new one. The story is very busy, but is well written and is not confusing. I received this ARC book for free from Net Galley and this is my honest review.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Just saying - it didn't work for me

    I would like to thank the author, publisher and Net Galley for the chance to read and review this book. That being said, I did not like this book. I feel that the description (which I hope will be changed before actual publication) was for a different book than the one I actually read. Several of the character traits didn't fit, the attitude of the characters didn't fit. This wasn't a romance, and it wasn't a comedy. It was cringe worthy at best. And a perfect example of why ONE single little honest conversation can fix a LOT of problems. I honestly can't think of anyone I would recommend this book to, and I am confused at the number of high ratings for it as it is.
18

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS
  • WINDOWS