Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.2 out of 5
5 Stars
26 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
13 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
5 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
5 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • The frozen girl

    Gripping from the start, twists and turns when you think you figured out who done it. Fast read

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • an intriguing crime thriller novel with the perfec

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'The Frozen Girl' by Roberta Gately. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Roberta Gately, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous. Publication date 18th May 2021. This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'Jessie Novak' series but can be read as a standalone. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. It also stated in the synopsis that 'Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Abbott and Tess Gerritsen will be totally hooked until the last heart-thumping page'. I am a huge fan of Lisa and Tess so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of a prologue and 49 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in Massachusetts, USA 🇺🇸. This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Jessie Novak. The benefits of third person perspective especially with are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. This book is well written with good descriptions to help the reader imagine what is going on to the point where u could feel the cold of the snow. The synopsis and cover worked well with the storyline. The storyline was unique in the fact that not only is Jessie a nurse but she's also working with the police so you get the benefit of seeing both the medical and police side of things. It is quite fast paced with lots going on to keep the reader absorbed throughout. I cannot say I was surprised when it came to the end which was a shame but I figured something wasn't right with a certain character from pretty much the start. However, please don't let this out you off as I read several crime novels a week and get pretty suspicious pretty quickly!! I was devastated by a certain evet and feel alot of readers will feel the same. Although I wasn't shocked I still enjoyed reading this book and do believe Roberta did alot of medical research which is great to see so congratulations Roberta as several authors don't do their research which can spoil a storyline. There is alot of suspense filled momenta in the book and I was on the edge of my seat on severs occasions. I also love the fact that all medical and police terminology were explained in Layman's terms. Although this is the second book in the series I easily read it as a standalone and didn't feel that I was missing any important information given in the first book. The characters were realistic and strong and I really enjoyed getting to know Jessie and Sam's characters and watching their relationship develop. It will be interesting to see what happens with them in the next book in this series. I also really enjoyed getting to know Roger , Tony, Donna. Eddie and Rufus who all stood out for me, each their their own unique and likeable personalities. Overall an intriguing crime thriller novel with the perfect mix of police and medical scenes. Genres covered in this book include Thriller, Mystery, Romance Novel, Suspense, Noir Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Police Procedural, Urban Fiction, Crime Fiction, Medical Thriller and Medical Fiction amongst others. I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Rachel Abbott 317 pages. This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! Rated 4 /5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Awsome read

    I really loved this book! While I haven't read book 1 in this series I had no problem following what was going on. (and I will be reading that one soon) I love both Jessie and Sam.. Iam really loving whole nurse helping the police solving homicide thing. They mystery was really good, I had who was behind everything until the very end when everything was revealed.. Jessie is working as an ER nurse, she is also starting a job working with homicide and the MEs office. When the first body she helps with ends up actually ends up being her boss that had been missing for a few months.. Of course at first she is a suspect, or at the very least a person of interest, when she is finally cleared and able to help the police again she dives right in and ends up putting herself in danger as she uncovers evidence in the case. Sam is the homicde detective working with Jessie, they have a bit of a past that Im looking forward to seeing some of in the first book. They make a really cute couple. The story moves along really quickly and I couldn't put it down.. I look forward to reading the first book, and more books in this series.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Right out of the gate - action

    What an intriguing premise. I have to google now if there is such a position in the real world. Boom - right out of the gate we have action. Twists, turns, mystery, intrigue. Loved it all. The reason it wasn't a 5 is Kate. Just so beyond the norm - she didn't fit, stood out, and you knew than something was off. The rest was great. I love seeing how Jessies brain works. As this book is from Jessies point of view you are seeing the clues and putting the pieces together with her. My heart broke with the loss of someone. Sam our detective shows some charming vulnerability and Rufus just knocked it out of the park. Some interesting info come to light that really turns Jessies world upside down and opens so many new possibilities. I did not read book 1 and was still able to enjoy The Frozen Girl without feeling lost. I am definitely curious to see where we go from here. Thank you Bookouture for allowing NetGalley to share this arc with me. I freely volunteer my thoughts and opinions.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Compelling & Peppy

    This book is the second instalment in the Jessie Novak series written by Roberta Gately, set in Boston, Massachusetts. Patrick O’Hara rings 911 saying he has discovered a dead body previously hidden by the ice in the murky depths of the Neponset River. Meanwhile, Emergency Room Triage Nurse Jessie Novak has arrived at the ME's office for an 8 am meeting. She's there to see Dr Roger Dawson the state’s Chief ME and watch the autopsy of a young man who had died from a gunshot wound and Dawson mentions the woman who was brought into the morgue earlier. The body is the same one that was found in the Neponset River. Detective Sam Dallas, Jessie’s love interest, shows her the multicoloured silk scarf that was taken from the victim's neck as well as a black pearl necklace and Jessie recognises them. They belong to her previous boss at the hospital... The Frozen Girl was a compelling read and I was soon wholly absorbed in the storyline. Jessie is edgy, sharp and a little different to your average protagonist. I liked Jessie's intelligence, astuteness and keen sense of observation. This novel was a wicked and exciting thriller where no one could be trusted and with dangerous situations, keeping things peppy. It was so good and I can't wait for book three! I received a complimentary copy of this novel from Bookouture via NetGalley at my request and this review is my own unbiased opinion.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS