Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.7 out of 5
5 Stars
2 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
1 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
0 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
0 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Overall a beautifully written summer read that wil

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'The Girl I Used To Be' by Heidi Hostetter. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Heidi Hostetter, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous. Publication date 11th May 2021. This is the first book I have read by this author. It is the second book in the 'Dewberry Beach' series. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'perfect for fans of Amanda Prowse, Elin Hilderbrand and Diane Chamberlain'. I am a huge fan of Diane Chamberlain so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of 28 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in New Jersey, USA 🇺🇸. This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Jill Goodman. The benefits of third person perspective especially with are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. This book is beautifully written with vivid descriptions that make you feel the sand on your feet while smelling the smell of the sea. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly. The storyline itself is a very easy read filled with friendship, secrets, deceit, sun and sand. It is the perfect book to read on the beach on holidays and if not on the beach then this book will be sure to take you there. It is a heartwarming story of how life can change in the blink of an eye and how to find the rainbow in the storm. It is compelling and addictive and I loved how it ended!!! A lovely page turner that whisked me away to a gorgeous beach resort. I didn't actually realise it was part of a series until I looked at the list of Heidi's other books at the end. 'The Shore House' is the first book and I'm looking forward to going back and reading that book as well as any more in this series. I loved watching how Jill's character grew from a shadow to the strong woman she was by the end. I couldn't stand Marc or Cush from the moment I met them and I'm so glad Jill had Ellie to help her out. I also enjoyed getting to know the residents of Dewberry Beach namely Danny, Brenda and Mrs Ivey in particular. They all had their own unique personalities which are realistic. The residents of Dewberry Beach portrayed a close knit community perfectly and I'm looking forward to meeting them again. Overall a beautifully written summer read that will sweep you away to the beach. Genres covered in this book include Literary Fiction, Contemporary Fiction and Domestic Fiction amongst others. I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Diane Chamberlain and anyone looking for a heartwarming beach read. 275 pages. This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Perfect Beach Read

    The Girl I Used to Be by Heidi Hostetter is the perfect beach or pool read. What I Loved I loved the mystery and suspense. It is why I finished this novel in one sitting. I desperately wanted to know if the bad guy was going to get what he had coming. That is how well the characters are developed. You just want justice to prevail for all of those that were wronged. Jill, the main character, is a Jersey girl from South Jersey. Only three years after she married the man of her dreams, Jill realizes that all the changes he insists she makes for him mean she is not his dream girl. And then she is slapped with a reality that she can’t ignore, and it makes her open her eyes to the fact that she hasn’t recognized it. This just begins a string of unearthed secrets and despicable deeds that rock her to the core. I love how Jill picks herself up and opens her eyes to what she had become and what she wants to be. The strength she shows as the story unfolds is so admirable I couldn’t help but be in her corner from beginning to end. She is well-developed with intricate layers that tell her personal story in a relatable and genuine way. The setting is the Jersey shore, and I always love a beach setting. I wanted a house on the beach for Jill almost as much as I want one for myself. This also kept those pages quickly turning as I tried to see if she figured out a way to make her dream happen. I loved the themes of friendship and community that hold this story together and give it a heartwarming feel. Ellie is the friend that we all should have and hopefully, do. A friend who is there by your side through thick and thin and helps you realize your dreams before you even admit that it is indeed a dream. She is someone that makes things happen without barreling over anyone in the process. And, the community of Dewberry Beach is one I wanted to join and never look back. They are slightly quirky and welcoming in all-natural ways. If you are looking for the perfect weekend or vacation read, The Girl I Used to Be is all that and more.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Better than getting even

    Jillian genuinely loves her husband, Marc, and is genuinely shocked to discover he's having an affair. But in the quickie divorce proceedings he initiates, she learns exactly how controlling and vindictive he is. What seems like a predictable story about a young, naive woman married to a much older, wealthier takes an unusual turn when Jill summons the South Jersey girl she'd manage to subdue to suit Marc and goes on the offensive. Gaining ownership of the beach house he's been unable to sell seems like a victory, until she sees the mortgage payment and taxes she's responsible for. What she doesn't expect when she visits the house to put it on the market is that she will become part of the community where it's located. Part of a new series, THE GIRL I USED TO BE has plenty of New Jersey attitude with some mystery and a little romance. This is a feel-good story and if some of the story line seems unlikely, it's easier to suspend disbelief and just go along on the fun ride. #TheGirlIUsedToBe #NetGalley

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS