Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.2 out of 5
5 Stars
17 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
8 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
4 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
2 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
1 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • WWII

    It is hard for me to write this review, because Ellie Midwood is one of my favorite authors and I love her words. Sadly this book missed the mark for me, it didn’t pull me in the story and it didn’t compel me like her other books. The first part of the book is very slow paced and not much is happening apart from Libertas finding her way in Berlin and a new job. She seems to be floating about most of the time. The pace picks up a bit of the 60% mark, but the story just didn’t give me the chills or goosebumps that I normally get while reading a Ellie Midwood book. I didn’t feel invested in Harro and Libertas life.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    4 person found this review helpful

    4 people found this review helpful

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Unputdownable and heartbreaking

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'The Girl In The Platform' by Ellie Midwood. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Ellie Midwood, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 13th October 2021. This is the fifth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Girl Who Escaped Auschwitz', 'The Girl In The Striped Dress', 'The Girl Who Survived' and 'The Violinist Of Aushcwitz' which I also recommend. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover, its intriguing synopsis and title and its extremely talented author. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Alice Network and The Lilac Girls will be utterly gripped by this heartbreaking page-turner. ' I am a huge fan of 'The Tattooist Of Aushcwitz' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Ellie and if this is half as good as' The Girl Who Escaped From Auschwitz', 'The Girl Who Survived', 'the Girl In The Striped Dress' and 'The Violinist Of Aushcwitz ' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of 35 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is set mainly in Berlin, Germany 🇩🇪. This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Libby Schulze-Boysen . The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. 'The Girl On The Platform' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Ellie discusses/includes the persecution of the Jews, murder and death. Well, what can I say but wow!!! This story is definitely not going to leave my head anytime soon. Firstly I must congratulate Ellie Midwood for yet another extraordinary novel that seriously needs to be made into a movie which I assure would be best selling!!! This book is very powerful and extremely well written. It is devastatingly heartbreaking and beautiful at the same time. The storyline of this book is based on a true story which is another thing that drew me to read it. It is absolutely rammed with emotions that will make you smile, cry and laugh on the roller-coaster ride to hell that is World War 2 and the persecution and murder of the Jews and many others. Nothing is left out and the author has done an immense amount of research and brings Liberta and Harro's story to life. Liberta, Harro and their comrades are such powerful, strong and kind hearted heroes and I am looking forward to reading more about them. I had never heard of either before reading this but have read 'The Violinist Of Aushcwitz', 'Celia' s Journey', 'The tattooist of Aushcwitz', 'The Girl Who Escaped From Auschwitz,' The Girl Who Survived' and 'The librarian of Aushcwitz', all of which I enjoyed so when I seen this I was intrigued to discover the ongoing of the war through another person's eyes and from a different perspective also. All of Ellie's books that I have read so far are based in holocaust camps, mainly Auschwitz, so I was intrigued when I read this book to see what was going on in Germany and how some brave German's were doing their part to try and stop the slaughter and war by becoming a part of the resistance. I have now also added many books to my wish list thanks to Ellie, her own and ones that she recommends at the end of this story. This story is particularly unique as it is not one I have ever come across before seeing things from the German resistance side of the war. This book did not disappoint. Some people believe that these stories should not be written but I am a strong believer that these victims earned the right for their stories to be told and to not be forgotten and this book does just that. I loved discovering not just Liberta and Harro's stories but those who surrounded them also. This amazing group of people who supported and lifted each other up during these dark times and helping them see the light are absolutely... Words can't really describe but I will go with angelic. This book was very hard to read as a whole but there were certain parts that will stay with me for a very long time and that we're soul destroying. What the Nazi's did to these innocent people makes me absolutely sick to my soul. I enjoyed learning about the loves of not only Liberta and Horro but the life's and part

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Lovley book

    Lovingly written. Two lovers risk death to save their country and put an end to an unjust war.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Freedom Fighters

    In the town of Berlin Germany as the Nazi's rise to power two young people ,Libertas and Harro, meet and fall in love. Libertas is a member of the Nazi party because her Uncle is and she wanted a job at Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer studios. Harro is a journalist friend of Libertas friend Ricco. Harro gets a job at the Air Ministry and works his way up the ranks in the Nazi army. Libertas goes to work for the propaganda ministry as a film reviewer. Between the two of them they have access to important information from the Nazi Army. Although they pose as Nazi's they wish to bring down the Nazi's and restore Germany to freedom. They decide that the Soviet's would be the logical choice since they are fighting against the Nazi's. In the meantime when not interacting with the Soviet agent they are making flyers against the Nazi's and distributing them all around Berlin and the surrounding area. This is the story of their fight for freedom. The story of brave young people Libertas and Harro, Gisela and Ricco, Libertas friend Martin, and her American friend Mildred and her husband Arvid. They fight not with guns and knives, but with words and pictures. The story has some sad parts and the ending is very sad, but they didn't give in to the Nazi party and they kept resisting they only way they knew how. They vowed to fight even though it meant their lives were on the line. It is based on a true story. I would recommend it. Thanks to Ellie Midwood, Bookouture and NetGalley for allowing me to read a complimentary copy of the book for my honest review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Patriotism

    A wonderful account of life in Berlin during the war and the effect it had on ordinary tbking people. We tent to think all theGerman people turned a blind eye and deaf ear to what was going on in the camps and to te Jews in particular and it is wonderfulto read of brave peopke lime those in this book

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS