Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.1 out of 5
5 Stars
8 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
11 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
3 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
1 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Good Read!

    The Girl Who Couldn't Leave by Catherine Miller is story about a woman who has agoraphobia. It was an interesting read about her encounter and experience with the anxiety disorder. I love anything that has a medical spin to it. Catherine Miller did an outstanding job developing her characters. Fiona is the main character and we get to know her really well and understand all that she struggles with. Her neighbor across the street is Bethany who has a two year old daughter named Evie. Fiona babysits for Evie and losses her heart to her. I enjoyed many of the happenings and interactions in the story. Catherine Miller has written several books and I won't be shy about trying out another one. If you haven't read any of her books, you might want to try one out. You might find a new author to add to your favorites list. Mine seems to be growing a lot! I received a copy of this book from the publisher/#Netgalley for a fair and honest review. Thank you!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Wonderfully Engaging!

    While not exactly what I was expecting, it is a wonderful and heartwarming story. It tells the tale of resilience, persistence and overcoming adversity. There is also love thrown in there too. This is my first book by Catherine Miller but I will be reading her more often! Well written and engaging. Many thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for this ARC!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • An addictive page turner with an important message

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'The Girl Who Couldn't Leave' by Catherine Millwe. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Catherine Miller, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 22nd June 2021. This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read Catherine's 'The Missing Piece' which I highly recommend. I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will love this emotional and uplifting story.' I am a huge fan of all three of those authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Catherine and if this is half as good as 'The Missing Piece' it is sure to be an epic read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of 46 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and had holidays in England on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that Catherine has based the book on. This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Fiona Dexter and Bethany. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. Congratulations Catherine on yet another fantastic page turner!!! An absolute must read with vivid descriptions that sets the scene for you. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly. I think one of the things I enjoyed most about this storyline is that although it was heart warming and very funny on several occasions it actually carries an extremely important message on how vital it is to get your smear tests done regularly. Congratulations Catherine, I don't belive I've ever actually read another book that highlights the importance of smears before especially during such an enjoyable storyline. Ladies get yourselves booked in!!! Nobody actually enjoys having them done but they can save your life. I can actually relate to Bethan to a certain degree as I myself have had to have a biopsy done after abnormal cells were revealed but thankfully that was as far as it went. Anyway enough about my medical history!!! The storyline is realistic and filled with love, laughter, tears, important messages, fun, tragedies, romance and more. I was completely absorbed from the first page until late at night when I could only put it down because I'd finished it. A light hearted full of fun page turner with a serious message. I loved the ironic ending with the reality of Covid and it was only when I noticed the date on the last chapter I'd mentioned to my partner that I wondered if Catherine was going to bring up Covid. I thought this was a brilliant move as it makes the storyline even more realistic and its only the second book I've read that has mentioned it, the first being the one prior to this I read. I loved the fact that each chapter told you where it was set and it helped me picture it all alot easier. I was completely invested in the characters and I loved Fiona, Bethany and Evie's characters. They were all larger than life, realistic, strong and very likeable. I really enjoyed watching their friendship and relationship between not only each other grow but also Bethany's friendship with other neighbours. The storyline of the noises from Sarah was hilarious and I enjoyed getting to know Heather via it all. Kev was a complete waste of space and sadly very realistic. These are definitely very well defined characters who will stay with me for a long time. I really enjoyed Fiona's development throughout the book and loved watching her grow from strength to strength. It was a shame that both Bethany and Fiona's mothers werent very supportive of their children and grandchild but I did like Fiona's dad. A great eclectic mix of characters who worked perfectly for this storyline. ABSOLUTELY loved this book Catherine and here's to hoping you've started on your next page turner. Watch out JoJo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain you have some serious competition here!! Overall an unputdownable addictive romcom with a serious message. Genres covered in this novel include Fiction,

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Love it!

    A cute love story. Highly enjoyed the quick whit and poetic story telling. Full of hope and budding relationships and so in tune with current times making it so relatable. Really well done! Thank you NetGalley for this arc

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A cute story with important topics

    The Girl who couldn't leave is a cute story of Fiona, Bethany and Evie. Fiona who has agoraphobia has anxiety to cross her threshold and her boundary is her garden. She knows her neighbors only by nicknames and one day everything in her life changes when Bethany asks if she can watch Evie for sometime. This starts a chain of events in Fiona's life that brings love and new changes in her life. This novel is a really good contemporary novel which deals with issues like single motherhood and anxiety disorders. Romance between Fiona and Bethany though is a key element of the book it isn't the focus. I loved how the author paid attention to the beautiful relationship that these two characters start forming and the bond between Fiona and Evie is so heartwarming. A really good novel.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS