Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.3 out of 5
5 Stars
16 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
19 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
4 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
0 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Charming feel-good opposites-attract romance

    Four and a half stars. Cassie is a Glaswegian writer who relocated to a small island in Maine several years ago when her children's books became successful. Her wonderful, but pushy, agent wants her to set a new series of her books in London, a city that Cassie has rarely visited. She loves her quaint island with its patchy Wi-Fi and quirky neighbours. James is a very successful venture capitalist. Determinedly single he is blind-sided when his half-hearted relationship with his girlfriend becomes conflated into an expected marriage proposal and then she won't take no for an answer. The answer for James and Cassie is Swapbnb, James will swap his swanky flat in Central London for Cassie's rambling house in Maine and vice versa. Cassie and James couldn't be more different if they tried, she is desperate for a baby and intends to try IVF while she is in London, James never wants children. Cassie is sociable and friends with everyone she meets, while James doesn't even know his neighbours. Cassie left pages and pages of notes about her home, her animals, the locals and things to do in the local area, she even bought new bedding and filled the freezer with home-made food for James. James stripped his flat of towels, bedding and food ready for Cassie. Although their interactions are prickly at first, 'why didn't you tell me there was only Wi-Fi at 3am?', 'why didn't you leave me any sheets or a pint of milk?' type of thing, they tentatively begin a long-distance friendship. What I really liked about this novel was the maturity of the characters (both late 30s) and the way in which there was nothing forced about the romance. James comes back to the UK for his godson's christening but whereas in a rom-com he would have invited Cassie as his plus-one and the romance would have taken off like a rocket, in this book they meet briefly and chat then he returns to the US. It all feels very organic and grown-up. There's no teenage angst-fest, that's not to say that there isn't tension and 'reasons' but it all feels very real and unfolds over several months. Just loved it! I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    3 person found this review helpful

    3 people found this review helpful

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Lovely!

    A quick, simple and nice read. Ideal for disconnecting the brain from reality for a while. Extremely well written, very funny with hilarious dialogue, but with very touching moments too. The story is a bit predictable, but in a good way, the way that makes you feel all cosy inside. The characters are well defined, including the secondary ones (Laura is a great example!) Overall a recommended reading to spend a few hours of pure escapism. And with a gorgeous cover as well. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review. #TheHouseSwap #netgalley Bookouture

    Thanks for your feedback!

    2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • five-star read that will take you somewhere specia

    The House Swap by Jo Lovett a five-star read that will take you somewhere special. This just warmed me so much, it took a while to get into but once I did, I loved it. Cassie and James will suck you into their opposite’s attraction and sheer craziness. Then when you throw in some brilliant secondary characters like Laura and the pets you have a great story with twists galore, will James ever become less of a grump, but with his luck I can understand why he is grumpy. This is just a lovely warm story that will warm your heart and your soul.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Perfect reading

    Just the reading I needed, a beautiful RomCom that projects two characters that are impossible not to love. . James needs to escape his London apartment to avoid his ex drama and Casie has to live in London in order to write her next book. So they agree to swap homes for a couple of months, but they can be more different, and ending to have to deal with each other's obligations and neighbors and to reach an agreement they begin to talk and discuss daily, by the phone. . it's ideal for fans of The Holiday and the Enemies to lovers troop, this is the perfect story. . I liked how the characters interacted with each other, and how they both found a safe place to grow in each other. I still have images of Casie's house in Maine and her adorable llamas in my head. . Thank to Bookouture and Netgalley for give me this great book to read

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Lovely Perfect

    Like its written on the cover, this book was utterly gorgeous. It’s the first I read of this author and I love it very much. For sure I will read more of her. She knows how to captivate us to read more and to fall in love with her characters. One of the things I liked about this book was the feelings that gave me while I read it and that it felt real. The story itself, the problems, the moods, the conversations and the slow but beautiful connection of our heroes. In the beginning I was calling names to James…like, excuse me you rude bastard. What kind of beast are you?! But I was laughing at the same time, because its impossible not to. The secondary characters were a blast too – I liked them a lot, really. And while I continued reading, I felt good and happy – even in the parts that were not so happy. I could totally enter the story and switch places with both heroes. Cassie’s problems and fears and James fears and feelings of guilt. It hit close to home to me. The relationships of the characters with their friends and family were very beautifully written – showed us that they were real people and not just some tool for the moment. The only thing I liked less was that Cassie – unfortunately – spent so much time thinking about “that” problem. I understood her pain, but I liked her to be happier! I tried to give my opinion without spoilers. Hope I get it. I’m very happy to have read this book. It will be one of my faves.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS