Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.3 out of 5
5 Stars
19 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
12 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
4 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
2 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • An absolutely stunning heart warming book

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'The Lost Girls Of Ireland' by Susanne O'Leary. This book was previously titled 'The Irish Rose'. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Susanne O'Leary , Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 5th May 2021. This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the seventh book in the 'Sandy Cover' series but can be read as a standalone. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'perfect for readers of Debbie Macomber, Sheila O’Flanagan and Mary Alice Monroe.' I am a huge fan of Debbie Macomber so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of 29 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in Ireland 🇮🇪 UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is based in Ireland is even better as I have been on holiday in Ireland many times so may even recognise some places Emma has set the book around. This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Lydia Butler. The benefits of third person perspective especially with are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. OMG! OMG!! I cannot remember the last time I was so gutted to come to the end of a book!! I absolutely fell in love and it genuinely felt like I was packing my bags and being whisked away from my Irish holiday when I read the last page. Absolutely gorgeous!!! The book is so well written with its stunning and vivid descriptions that I genuinely felt that I was standing with Lydia throughout feeling the Irish breeze in my hair and smelling the ocean. The synopsis and cover suited the storyline perfectly and I think the title change was definitely a good move as 'The Lost Girls Of Ireland' suits it perfectly. I was a bit disappointed when I first read it was being changed from 'The Irish Rose' as I thought that was such a beautiful title but after reading the book and understanding where both titles came from then this one was the best option. Although this book is the 7th in a series it can be read as a standalone with no problems. In fact I never came across anything in the book that would make me think it was part of a series. I am however looking forward to reading all previous books and being whisked back to Ireland again. The storyline was realistic and just beautiful. It starts off in such a sad place and from the rain a rainbow was born. I loved getting to know everyone on Sandy Cove and enjoyed the atmosphere and my gorgeous surroundings. It genuinely felt like I was on holidays and after not having one for so long this was definitely the closest thing. The characters were all solid, realistic and I loved that they all had their own unique personalities. Lydia is such a strong and determined woman who had to leave her glitzy and glamorous life and although she was mournful, as anyone would be, she picked herself and her daughter up and made the most of what they had and definitely made the right decisions. I love it when the protagonist is such a strong female lead being a woman myself it's great to see. Sunny is such a mature girl and i really liked her attitude. At her age many kids I know would have been stroppy brats but she was so mature and realistically so. She was such a pleasure to get to know. Jason, well phew, what a handsome and romantic Irish man. It wasn't just the main characters that made this book but also all the neighbours too, I really enjoyed meeting them all. I enjoyed watching Helen and Lydia's relationships grow and their bond develop. Sorcha, Saskia and Brian all stood out to me too. Emma portrayed Irish Country life perfectly and it was exactly the same when I went on holidays for a fortnight many years ago, the close knit community where everyone knew each other and was so helpful. Susanne I fell on love with your heart warming, page turning and stunning book which took my heart away and left me gutted when my holiday ended. Welcome to my favourite author list. I have already added all your books on my wish lists and I cannot wait for my next Irish adventure!!! Please get these put on the big screen!! Overall an absolutely stunning, heart war

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Nice way to spend an afternoon.

    ****The Lost Girls of Ireland is a story about starting over, finding one’s place and rising above adversity. Lydia’s life was destroyed by the death of her husband and his betrayal. Moving with her teenage daughter to the cottage her great aunt left her was her only option, but turned out to be a huge blessing. I loved the mystery of the aunt, the growth of Lydia and, of course, the ambiance of a novel set in Ireland. I voluntarily reviewed an advance copy of this book from NetGalley. Highly recommend.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Not for me

    This is the first book from Bookouture that I didn't give 4 ore more stars. I would have really wanted to like this book more, but I didn't. It started with a very good premise and a Maeve Binchy sort of vibe, but the story doesn't deliver, it's a bit flat and boring. Also I couldn't connect with Lydia's character, it feels like she is transported through her life by chances, not real decisions. It's almost as it's her daughter Sunny that takes care of her. The small village of Sandy Cove and the descriptions of Ireland in general are lovely, made me feel I was really there. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Beautifully written

    This is my first book by Susanne O’ Leary and one thing is clear, it is a beautifully written novel. I will definitely be looking out for more of her work. A wonderful story about a mother and daughter starting over and rising above adversity. I was glued to the pages and can’t wait for the next installment. Thank you to Netgalley and Bookouture for this advanced reader’s copy.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • The Lost Girls of Ireland

    Great story! Well developed character s; very nice people so fun to read about and follow their stories!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS