Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.4 out of 5
5 Stars
23 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
12 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
6 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
0 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Lovely story

    The Lost Promise of Ireland is a fine addition to Susanne O’Leary’s series about Sandy Cove. Maggie returns to the place where she spent happy childhood years, reconnects with friends, an old love, and perhaps a new purpose and place. This is a lovely story full of growth and self-realization. Reading Susanne O’Leary is the next best thing to actually going to Ireland. I voluntarily reviewed an advance copy of this book from NetGalley. Most highly recommend.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Second Chance Romance

    The Lost Promise of Ireland by Susanne O'Leary is the third book in the Starlight Cottages Series. A wonderful story about going back to a place that has memories for a lifetime but also given an opportunity to make new memories or better yet a needed life change. Maggie is in need of being reminded of a happier time in her life but also that change too after a surprise and hurtful end to a relationship. Easy to read story that has a slower flow as Maggie goes back to stay at a childhood summer rental. Remembering an old sweetheart may lead her to find another. There are some twists and surprises in this story as Maggie returns to Sandy Cove for the summer break. For certain it helps her to move on in her life. This is a realistic story of mature adults. An ARC of the book was provided by the publisher through NetGalley which I voluntarily chose to read and reviewed. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Exquisite!

    This is the third book I have read by Susanne O'Leary set in Sandy Cove featuring the Starlight Cottages. It's a series though it can be read as a standalone. Maggie spots an advert for a holiday rental in Ireland, and it just happens to be the very same coastguard cottage that her family had owned for several years and where they enjoyed some wonderful holidays, spending time on the beach or climbing the hills near the houses. Maggie is in her late forties and is going through a break-up with her significant other, Dermot who cheated on her after 22 years when he fell in love with someone else. A summer at the seaside is just the tonic she needs. Sandy Cove is a place where there is a great community and friendship in all quarters. Endearing characters are trying to find their way through their life situations. The story dances the reader smoothly through love, oodles of drama, soupcons of mystery and second chances set amidst the backdrop of a gorgeous coastline. A wonderfully fulfilling, highly recommended read. I received a complimentary copy of this novel at my request from Bookouture via NetGalley. This review is my own unbiased

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Gorgeous Irish escape

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'The Lost Promise Of Ireland' by Susanne O'Leary. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Susanne O'Leary , Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 17th December 2021. This is the third book I have read by this author. It is also the third book in the 'Starlight Cottages' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'The Lost Girls Of Ireland' which is the first book in the 'Starlight Cottages' series and the second book 'The Lost Secret Of Ireland' which is the second book in the 'Starlight Cottages' series and both can also be read as a standalone and which I highly recommend. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'For fans of Debbie Macomber, Sheila O’Flanagan and Mary Alice Monroe.' I am a huge fan of Debbie Macomber so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Susanne O'Leary and if this is half as good as 'The Lost Girls Of Ireland' and 'The Lost Secret Of Ireland' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of 23 chapters and an epilogue The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in Ireland 🇮🇪 UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is based in Ireland is even better as I have been on holiday in Ireland many times so may even recognise some places Emma has set the book around. This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist is Maggie Ryan. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. Well done Susanne you have done it again!!!! OMG! OMG!! I cannot remember the last time I was so gutted to come to the end of a book!! I absolutely fell in love and it genuinely felt like I was packing my bags and being whisked away from my Irish holiday when I read the last page. Absolutely gorgeous!!! The book is so well written with its stunning and vivid descriptions that I genuinely felt that I was standing with Maggie throughout feeling the Irish breeze in my hair and smelling the ocean. The synopsis and cover suited the storyline perfectly. Although this book is the third in a series it can be read as a standalone with no problems. In fact I never came across anything in the book that would make me think it was part of a series. The storyline was realistic and just beautiful. It starts off in such a sad place and from the rain a rainbow was born. I loved getting to know everyone on Sandy Cove and Starlight Cottages and enjoyed the atmosphere and my gorgeous surroundings. It genuinely felt like I was on holidays and after not having one for so long this was definitely the closest thing. The storyline was filled with romance, stunning settings, love, secrets, deceit, friendship, community and family. It made me feel all bubbly inside and it had an air of mystery trying to work out what it was that a certain person was up to. There was plenty of laughter, hope, love and some tension and sadness mixed in. Absolutely everything you want in a romantic getaway. I loved the ending which is absolutely perfect and gives me yet another relationship to look forward to watching develop in your next book 🥂 It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture. The characters were all solid, realistic and I loved that they all had their own unique personalities. Maggie, Ellie, Lydia and Sorcha are such strong and determined women, one who had to get over the ordeal of a break up and lost love and the other dealing with the a very overprotective and overwhelming mum in law to be. I love it when the protagonist is such a strong female lead being a woman myself it's great to see, having four was an extra bonus!!! Maggie is such an independent woman and it was beautiful to see her relationship with Ellie, Lydia and Sorcha and the way they supported each other through thick and thin. Rory and Brian well phew, what handsome and romantic men. It wa

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • GREAT TOWN

    I LOVED THIS STORY. THE CHARACTERS COME ALIVE AS THE STOEY UNWINDS. THE DESCRIPTION OF THIS SMALL TOWN MADE ME WISH TO FIND SUCH A DELIGHFUL PLACE TO LIVE.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS