Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.0 out of 5
5 Stars
11 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
5 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
5 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
1 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
1 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Sweet story.

    The Lost Secret of Ireland is a sweet, although slow moving story about Ella and Lucille, two women bonded through the friendship Lucille had with Ella’s mom. Lucille has plans for her remaining years that her sons don’t approve of which place Ella right in the middle of a family drama…especially when the younger son shows up in Sandy Cove. There’s a lot of introspection about choices in the story and as always Ms. O’Leary’s characters are interesting and defined. What’s really behind Lucille’s actions and can Ella finally find a lasting relationship? I voluntarily reviewed an advance copy of this book from NetGalley. Highly recommend.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A Lovely Story

    The Lost Secret of Ireland by Susanne O'Leary is a lively, feel-good, sweet romance set in a small town in Ireland. It is the second book in the Starlight Cottages series, but can easily be read as a stand-alone book. Ella is an artist living in a cottage in Sandy Cove, Ireland. While painting a mural, she slipped off the ladder and broke her pelvis. While recovering in her cottage, with the help of the local villagers for support, she gets a call from Lucille, her late mother’s best friend. Lucille sweeps into her life full of energy, eccentricity, and many secrets. This is a book about love, families, friendship, and getting older. These characters are very well developed and I enjoyed all of them. I especially enjoyed the daughter of the neighbor’s five year old daughter Amanda. I liked that the author wrote the character of Amanda in a very realistic way. She was cute, like most five year olds, but also a bit naughtly and needy, also like most five year olds! I liked that she wasn’t the picture perfect girl that so many books describe. This book also had a lot of mystery that kept me turning the pages. There is a bit of a love triangle, but it’s clear from the start who should be with who. This is a sweet romance, but most of the book is about the relationship between Ella and Lucille. I recommend this book to anyone who loves books about small towns and family relationships. I received a complimentary copy of this book. The opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Uplifting

    If you are in need of a pick-me-up novel full of family, love and a mystery along the way then The Lost Secret of Ireland (Starlight Cottages Book 2) by Susanne O'Leary is the book for you. A precocious five-year old neighbor, older adults and community support Ella’s life is full and busy. However, there does seem to be a mystery to be solved as this story continues. A small village story that focuses on relationships The Lost Secret of Ireland is a wonderful romantic mystery novel. The second in the series this has sealed Susanne O'Leary as a go-to writer for me. It does read well as a stand-alone if you haven’t read the first book yet. An ARC of the book was provided by the publisher through NetGalley which I voluntarily chose to read and reviewed. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Another stunner from Susanne

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'The Lost Secret Of Ireland' by Susanne O'Leary. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Susanne O'Leary , Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 31st August 2021. This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'Starlight Cottages' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'The Lost Girls Of Ireland' which is the seventh book in the 'Sandy Cove' series which can also be read as a standalone and which I highly recommend. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'For fans of Debbie Macomber, Sheila O’Flanagan and Mary Alice Monroe.' I am a huge fan of Debbie Macomber so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Susanne O'Leary and if this is half as good as 'The Lost Girls Of Ireland' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of 22 chapters and an epilogue The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in Ireland 🇮🇪 UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is based in Ireland is even better as I have been on holiday in Ireland many times so may even recognise some places Emma has set the book around. This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist is Ella Caron. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. Well done Susanne you have done it again!!!! OMG! OMG!! I cannot remember the last time I was so gutted to come to the end of a book!! I absolutely fell in love and it genuinely felt like I was packing my bags and being whisked away from my Irish holiday when I read the last page. Absolutely gorgeous!!! The book is so well written with its stunning and vivid descriptions that I genuinely felt that I was standing with Ella throughout feeling the Irish breeze in my hair and smelling the ocean. The synopsis and cover suited the storyline perfectly and I think the title change was definitely a good move as 'The Lost Secret Of Ireland' suits it perfectly. Although this book is the 2nd in a series it can be read as a standalone with no problems. In fact I never came across anything in the book that would make me think it was part of a series. I am however looking forward to reading the previous book and being whisked back to Ireland again. The storyline was realistic and just beautiful. It starts off in such a sad place and from the rain a rainbow was born. I loved getting to know everyone on Sandy Cove and Starlight Cottages and enjoyed the atmosphere and my gorgeous surroundings. It genuinely felt like I was on holidays and after not having one for so long this was definitely the closest thing. The storyline was filled with romance, stunning settings, love, secrets and family. It made me feel all bubbly inside and it had an air of mystery trying to work out what it was that Lucille was up to. There was plenty of laughter, hope, love and some tension and sadness mixed in. Absolutely everything you want in a romantic getaway. The characters were all solid, realistic and I loved that they all had their own unique personalities. Ella and Lucille are such strong and determined women, one who had to get over the ordeal of a broken pelvis, unable to have had children and a divorce and the other dealing with the loss of her husband and his stuck up family. I love it when the protagonist is such a strong female lead being a woman myself it's great to see, having two was an extra bonus!!! Lynette is such a whirlwind and it was beautiful to see her relationship with Ella and the way they supported each other through thick and thin. Sunny is such a mature girl and i really liked her attitude. Rory and Thomas well phew, what handsome and romantic men. It wasn't just the main characters that made this book but also all the neighbours too, I really enjoyed meeting them all. I enjoyed watching Ella and Thomas and Rory's friendships and relationships grow and their bond develop. Maura, Saskia and the cute but wicked Mandy all stood out to me too. Susanne portrayed Irish Country life perfectly and it was exactly the same when I went on holidays for a fo

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Could not put the book down

    Loved the book, and special memories for me, Irish people are so welcoming, and nothing is any bother to them! Can't wait for the next book in the series!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS