Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

3.9 out of 5
5 Stars
14 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
9 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
7 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
5 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • A gripping psychological thriller

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'The Widow's Husband' by Lesley Sanderson. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Lesley Sanderson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 21st April 2022. This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Every Little Lie' which I would highly recommend. I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I am a huge fan of Lesley and if this is half as good as 'Every Little Lie' it is guaranteed to be a page turner. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A totally addictive and suspenseful thriller that will have you reading late into the night, perfect for fans of Shari Lapena, T.M. Logan and Lisa Jewell.' I am a huge fan of all three of those authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of a prologue and 44 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in the UK 🇬🇧. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Rachel, Tom and Heidi. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. Well done Lesley on yet another fantastic page turner!!! What an absolutely gripping heart racing story!!! This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions leaving your heart racing and hands sweating while your standing by Rachel, Tom and Heidi throughout!!! The cover, synopsis and title suit the book perfectly. The storyline is absolutely captivating and evocative!! It is filled with lies, love, secrets, family, tension and suspense from the first page until the last. Once I started this I just could not put it down and couldn't go to sleep until I had finished it!! It all starts with a note through the door and the events explode from there. I had my suspicions about what may be going on but I certainly didn't expect what had actually happened!!! I won't say too much as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. It is truly captivating and page turning so if you are about to start this book make sure you clear your schedule as once you've start you won't be able to stop. Every chapter makes you want to start the next one and then the next as each ends on the perfect spot to make you want to carry on. This book would make an absolutely amazing movie!!! It is set over/includes multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture. The characters are all vivid, strong and realistic and I became invested in each of them as each move every one made left you on edge. I really felt for Rachel as she struggled with everything that was going on in the present and what had happened in the past, as a mother of three myself it must have been so hard for her especially with a tween to look after too. I couldn't stand Heidi from the moment I met her and found her to be truly selfish and despicable. My heart truly went out to Laura and Josh who were just innocent children caught up in an adults world. Tom doesn't get any sympathy from me as he was absolutely dispicable although I will admit that he did look after his family when many wouldn't but then again why should a father get praise for something he should do anyway? However I don't think he deserved what happened to him. The other main character is Freddie but I won't say anything about him or anymore on the others as I don't want to give too much away so you'll just have to pick up a copy and let me know your thoughts. Regardless of whether you love or hate the characters they all come together perfectly to make this storyline as addictive as it is. Congratulations Leslie on yet another absolutely amazing book which I can guarantee will be a HUGE success. This is why your in my favourite author list. I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and have added them all onto my wish list!!! Here's to more future successes 🥂!! Overall a very fast pace, gripping, unputdownable psychological thriller that will leave you on the edge of your seat with a pounding hear

    Thanks for your feedback!

    4 person found this review helpful

    4 people found this review helpful

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Enjoyed!!!!

    My Review: I want to start off by saying that I really love this author and her books. I’ve read most of her books so far and have loved them all. In my opinion this book was good but not her best. My biggest complaint would have been that I saw that ending coming from a mile away. That is the main reason why I knocked my rating down. I would have also liked a few more twists that were shocking. Put all of this aside and I thought this book was pretty good overall. I read this one very quickly and loved the fact that everyone was a suspect. I also loved that the ending came together nicely was wrapped up in a tight bow. There was no cliffhangers or questions that I had that were unanswered. I will definitely be reading more of this author in the future. In conclusion, the plot, the characters and all the twists in this book made this book an enjoyable read. I would definitely recommend it and happily give it 4 Hearts❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A brilliant and twisty read

    “She thought he was gone forever…” Lesley Sanderson has become a go to author for me when I am in need of a great story to get lost in and forget about the outside world for a few hours. Each book I have read from her is such an enjoyable reading experience and The Widow’s Husband is no exception. I will even go as far as saying this is her best work to date! In Sanderson’s own words, she wanted to create an “evocative novel about obsession, secrets and the blurred lines between love and lies”. She has achieved that and so much more with this story. I was completely addicted to this right from the outset and pulled into to the story unable to put it down. Told via multiple points of view, present and past, Sanderson gives the reader a set of characters that will have you second guessing each of them. They have been masterfully created and really bring the story to life. The Widow’s Husband is a thrilling twisty read that will have you reading long into the night. Perfectly written and plotted, I can’t recommend this book highly enough. It is very entertaining and is my choice for my read of the month for April!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 6 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS