Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.2 out of 5
5 Stars
5 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
9 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
0 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
1 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Overall an emotionally charged novel that will ke

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'This Other Island' by Steffanie Edward. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Steffanie Edward, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous. Publication date 21st May 2021. This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also Steffanie's debut novel. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Small Island and Girl, Woman, Other'. I am a fan of 'Small Island' so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of 49 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in London, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonists being Doli and Yvette. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. There are also some third person perspective chapters with the protagonist Joe. 'This Other Island' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Steffanie discusses/ includes some sexual scenes. This book is well written with vivid descriptions that places you on the scenes throughout. The cover, title and synopsis work well with the storyline. The storyline itself is quite an emotional rollercoaster as we see Yvette's life through her own eyes and through her mothers also. It was quite thought provoking at times and makes you question the big nature/nurture debate. The dialect that it was written in really helped me feel like I was being spoken to in the characters accents but at times it did take me a bit of time to work out what was being sent. I would not have changed it though as it really helped me feel like I was being spoken to directly which helped put me in the storyline. The plot itself was realistic which also helped me picture the scenes. I laughed on several occasions at some of the completely unexpected scenes, words and phrases that was being said, the most when it came to Cedric's teeth!! There were times where I laughed, others where I was quite shocked and others where I was tearful so this is definitely a roller coaster ride of thoughts and emotions. The characters were strong and realistic and each had their own personalities. I really felt for Yvette on many occasions throughout the book and I was very pleased it ended the way it did, although I would have liked it to go on just that bit longer to discover Aaron's response. I was absolutely disgusted by Agnes and what went on and I'm sure many readers will agree with me. I really enjoyed Joe's larger than life personality but really didn't click with Doli and found her quite childish at times. I would definitely love to read more on each of these characters lives as individuals and to read more about what happens next with Dionne, Ian, Aaron, Doli, Cedric and more!! Overall an emotionally charged novel that will keep you hooked throughout. Genres covered in this book include Historical Fiction and Coming-of-age amongst others. I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Small Island' and for anyone looking for an intriguing read. 309 pages. This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! Rated 4 /5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Debut Author, Dysfunctional Family Dynamics

    This might be the debut book for the author, but I foresee other great things coming our way. It would even be great to see a follow up with Yvette and her family dynamics! My father is stabbed during a mugging and this starts a chain of events or so I thought this is when it started. Actually, it started when I was five years old and I boarded a ship bound to England. I was Ruthie, but now I am Yvette, but I am to find out that who I am is not what matters it is who you are loved by and who you love. This book is written in the First Person and not everyones cup of tea. Some of the dialect writing may throw you off at first, but please take that in stride. This book has a unique storyline and the flair of its characters are so poignant and interesting that I truly kept reading to discover what would transpire next. Yvette had an interesting upbringing and even into adulthood she is definitely still drawn into the family drama of her parents. I received a free advanced copy from NetGalley and these are my willingly given thoughts and opinions.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS