Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem


Search Results

1 - 12 of 12 results for “catherine hokin

Skip side bar filters
  • What Only We Know

    A heart-wrenching and unforgettable World War 2 historical novel

    by Catherine Hokin

    ‘The best historical fiction book I’ve read this year! I was awake until the early morning hours finishing it, because I could not put it down! The story was heartbreaking… It held me riveted from the first page to the last.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars When Karen Cartwright is unexpectedly called home to nurse her ailing father, she goes with a heavy heart. The house she grew up in feels ... Read more

    £1.99

  • The Lost Mother

    A beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical novel

    by Catherine Hokin

    She looked at the empty cradle where her baby had been. Her heart felt tattered and empty, like the hollow streets of Berlin after its people began to live in fear. Berlin, 1934. Homes once filled with laughter stand empty as the Nazi party’s grip on the city tightens. When Anna Tiegel’s beautiful best friend catches Reich Minister Goebbels’ special attention, an impulsive act to save her ... Read more

    £1.99

  • The Fortunate Ones

    Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

    by Catherine Hokin

    "A story to break your heart – if you read only one book this year, make it The Fortunate Ones. Germany, 1941. When Inge – all blonde curls and good manners – first locks eyes with Felix, she knows instinctively that he’s off limits. Her staunchly proper parents will never approve of a working-class Jewish boy for their precious only daughter. But that doesn’t make their first, shy kiss less ... Read more

    £1.99

  • The Secretary

    A heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical novel

    by Catherine Hokin

    ‘Don’t cry.’ Christoph uncurled her clenched fingers. ‘You know why you must work for him: to keep your real work away from your family, to keep them safe so that, if you get caught, they won’t be taken. One day you’ll be able to tell them all of that.’ Germany 1940. As secretary to an influential businessman, Magda Aderbach spends her days sending party invitations to high-ranking Nazis, and ... Read more

    £1.99

People who read these also enjoyed

  • In Darkness, Look for Stars

    An absolutely gripping, heartbreaking and epic World War 2 historical novel

    by Clara Benson

    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Utterly captivating.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I was completely hooked.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘One of the best books I have read.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Fantastic… My heart was in my mouth.’ Shaz’s Book Blog Paris, 1941: Going against her mother’s orders, spirited Maggie devotes herself to the Resistance. Her life is a whirlwind of forged passports and secret midnight runs, helping ... Read more

    £1.99

  • Her Darkest Hour

    Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

    by Sharon Maas

    ‘A beautiful and heart-breaking story… as impossible to put down as it is to forget… a book that will break your heart and have you reaching for the tissues as you find yourself completely and utterly mesmerized by this captivating tale’ Bookish Jottings, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ In the small French town of Colmar, swastikas hang from lampposts, tanks are lined up outside the town hall, and fifteen-year-old Victoire ... Read more

    £1.99

  • When We Were Brave

    A completely gripping and emotional WW2 historical novel

    by Suzanne Kelman

    The face of the woman in the photograph was tilted upwards, as if enjoying the sunshine just for a moment, even as the wreckage of the bombed-out street lay behind her… 1944, Cornwall: Blinded by love, Vivienne Hamilton eloped to Paris with a Nazi prisoner-of-war, never to be seen again. A disgrace to her family, her name would not be mentioned by any of her relatives for over 75 years. ... Read more

    £1.99

  • Into the Darkest Day

    An emotional and totally gripping WW2 historical novel

    by Kate Hewitt

    “If you only read one book this year, please make it this one. I cannot express how much I loved reading this book.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “I love you.” He looked into her eyes. “But there’s something you need to know—about who I really am.” London, 1944: When Lily finds meets American GI Matthew, she’s mesmerised by him. She knows his mission will take him into battle, and that their ... Read more

    £1.99

  • Burning Island

    Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

    by Suzanne Goldring

    They were not her children. But she would protect them with her life… Greece 1944. Though they don’t know it, five-year-old Matilde and three-year-old Anna have kissed their mother for the last time. The Nazis have reached their sun-scorched home, and they are being taken to a place of safety, on the north-eastern tip of the rocky island of Corfu, to be hidden at great risk by kindly Agata and ... Read more

    £1.99

  • The Outcast Girls

    A completely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical novel

    by Shirley Dickson

    ‘I just couldn't put this one down. I loved every page and I went through an entire box of tissues before I was done. You will keep turning the pages until the very end because you just won't be able to put it down at all.’ Crossroad Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ An utterly heartbreaking tale of two young girls, worlds apart, who are thrown together when they have lost everything. Fans of Wives of War, Before ... Read more

    £1.99

  • Under a Sky on Fire

    A gripping and utterly heartbreaking WW2 historical novel

    by Suzanne Kelman

    The child stood in the road wearing a blue flannel nightie, her feet bare and dirt-splattered. Her blonde flyaway hair was golden, aglow from the fires behind her. Stumbling over, Lizzie reached her. The little girl’s eyes were closed, her palms facing upwards. If she’d been in church, you would have thought she was praying.September 1940, London As the German Luftwaffe begin a terrifying bombing ... Read more

    £1.99

  • The Girl I Left Behind

    An emotional, gripping and heartwrenching historical debut

    by Andie Newton

    From the USA Today bestselling author of The Girl from Vichy'A powerful debut!' Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife.'A captivating story with a twist of romance threaded throughout' Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan.'A compelling tale of friendship, courage and espionage in a frightening and uncertain world' Ch... ... Read more

    £2.59