Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem
  • The Chess Board

    by Jim Reay ...
    Cambridge academic, Dr Spencer Avery, arrives in Toowoomba in 2008, both to flee a strained romance in England and to bring his expertise to ‘the colonies’. His arrogant preconception is challenged by the wit and idiosyncrasies of rural Queensland. But, behind the new experiences, danger lurks.Olga Davidenko is a retired Russian army officer, seeking redemption with the son she had abandoned ... Read more

    $6.86 NZD

  • Roller Coaster

    by Jim Reay ...
    The year is 2030. The population of the world is well over 8 billion. Someone has sabotaged all the silicon-based electronics on the planet. No modern technology is working – no phones, no computers, no navigation systems, no Internet, no television and there is minimal distribution of food – the world, as we know it, is grinding to a halt.Arthur Blair, the eighty-two-year-old retired director of ... Read more

    $6.99 NZD

  • The Cyber Ambiguity

    by Jim Reay ...
    A spy novel set in Canberra during the Covid era.The Cyber Ambiguity takes you into a world you probably didn't even know existed!!We take connected mobile phones and public internet access for granted. But that is but a tiny fraction of the internet. There is a whole other world behind the obvious.When 'Witness Z' tries to post protected information online, he genuinely thinks he is advancing a ... Read more

    $6.99 NZD

  • Searching for Siobhan

    by Jim Reay ...
    Jim Reay is back with a gripping book that challenges his readers and reveals what really goes on beneath the normality of a tranquil city.Harry Boyd, Brisbane high-school teacher and mathematics whiz, has a problem. His Irish-reporter tenant, Siobhan Doyle, has disappeared in puzzling circumstances. Harry is disappointed with the initial police response so, with a little professional help, he ... Read more

    $6.99 NZD

  • The Most Avoided Questions

    by Jim Reay ...
    In the 1960s, Professor Julius Sumner Miller asked television viewers, ‘Why is it so?’Now, in The Most Avoided Questions, Jim Reay examines the historical and scientific evidence as to how we regularly make moral decisions about difficult issues such as:• Is survival of the species more important than human rights?• Are we all brainwashed and the notion of free will is a myth?• Should people have ... Read more

    $6.99 NZD

  • The Run

    by Jim Reay ...
    Something big is about to happen in the eastern Mediterranean; potentially a crime against humanity. It will be soon, and in many places, but the target and the means are far from clear.Emma Jazy is a twenty-nine-year-old Swiss agent with IIB, the Netherlands-based International Investigations Bureau. IIB’s brief is to obtain court-admissible evidence about criminals operating across international ... Read more

    $6.99 NZD

  • The Napoleon Curse

    by Jim Reay ...
    When Napoleon is crowned King of Italy in 1805, a gypsy claims his troops have stolen a precious sapphire from her family. The gypsy curses Napoleon, predicting a future where he will be stripped of his power and banished from society.Fast forward 200 years. Journalist, Alison Wood reports on a sapphire theft in the Queensland gem fields. Again, a curse is proclaimed against the perpetrator. Enter ... Read more

    $6.79 NZD

  • Audiobook

    None of Us is As Good As All of Us

    How McDonald's Prospers by Embracing Inclusion and Diversity

    Unabridged

    4 hours 39 min

    None of Us is As Good As All of Us tells the first insider story from any major corporation on how diversity within the organization translates into success in business. Its a dramatic tale told from the perspective of the people who made it happen. Although everyone knows McDonalds, very few people realize that its overwhelming, worldwide sensation is due, in part, to its commitment to inclusion ... Read more

    $20.84 NZD or free with audiobook trial

  • The Seventh Son

    A Unique Portrait of Richard III

    A superb historical novel about Richard III, the notorious hunchback king whose burial site was recently uncovered, which will appeal to fans of Josephine Tey's THE DAUGHTER OF TIME, Philippa Gregory's THE KINGMAKER'S DAUGHTER, and readers of Hilary Mantel. At the heart of this stunning novel is the complex human being known to history as Richard III, a king whose reign is darkened by the murder ... Read more

    $16.99 NZD

  • A Portrait of Emily Price

    “A delightful story of love, passion, and appetite, filled with Italian vivacity and charm.” —Anthony Capella, international bestselling author of The Food of Love and The Wedding OfficerArt restorer Emily Price has never encountered anything she can’t fix—until she meets Ben, an Italian chef, who seems just right. But when Emily follows Ben home to Italy, she learns that his family is another ... Read more

    $12.99 NZD

  • The Brontë Plot

    When a bookseller’s secret is unearthed, her world begins to crumble. But it may be the best thing that has ever happened to her.Lucy Alling makes a living selling rare books, often taking suspicious liberties to reach her goals. When her unorthodox methods are discovered, Lucy’s secret ruins her relationship with her boss and her boyfriend, James—leaving Lucy in a heap of hurt and trouble. ... Read more

    $12.99 NZD

  • Smithers Mammals of Southern Africa

    This popular and authoritative field guide to the mammals of southern Africa has been fully revised and updated to include the latest research, while remaining accessible and compact for use in the field. Detailed accounts of over 220 land and nine marine mammal species are discussed in depth, with full species descriptions detailing physical characteristics, habitat, diet, life history, behaviour ... Read more

    $21.26 NZD