More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
Ratings and Reviews (5 13 star ratings
5 reviews
)

Overall rating

4.5 out of 5
13
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
9 3 0 1 0

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Reviews

  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Nice

    Luv reading it. I didn't want to put it down. Two thumbs up!
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Unexpected Emotions

    What happens when a man desperate for money finds himself married to a woman he thought was cold and unfeeling? An intriguing story! Owen Hadley needs money to restore his estate that had fallen to near ruin while he was off at war. So when he ends up in the room of Lady Mildred Pepperwirth by mistake he compromises her and they are forced to wed. Now Owen has his heiress but will they be able to tolerate each other? Millie and Owen both have fears and emotions that they have kept hidden but are revealed the more they are together. Lauren Smith, in her usual fashion, has written a mesmerizing story that makes you feel connected to Owen and Millie and the strong emotions that are felt. Cannot wait for the next book in this series! This can be read as a stand alone book.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Loved it!!!

    'A Gentleman Never Surrenders' by Lauren Smith is Book Two in The "Sins and Scandals" series. This is the story of Owen Hadley and Mildred 'Milly' Pepperwirth. I have read the previous book "An Earl by Any Other Name" but feel this can easily be a standalone book. Owen has been away fighting a war but is now back finding that his Cotswold Estate and other things are in dire need of his attention. But more importantly he needs the money to bring everything up to date and to do so quickly he thinks to marry a heiress. But without a Title he has slim chance of find a bride. Owen had tried to kiss Ivy Leighton but his friend Leopold Graham stopped him. (Ivy and Leopold were met in the first book) but now Graham has offered him a chance to meet Rowena Pepperwirth who will be coming to a house party. Owen agrees to meet Rowena and hopes that she not as cold as her older sister Milly. Milly wants a love like her parents and also one that the husband loves her mind and body...not just needs money. So she has taken to be cold toward men so that they aren't encouraged to think of her as a easy money target. But when Owen and Milly are caught in a compromising position they will have to marry. Love watching their story come together and each finding what they thought at first of each other wasn't who they actually were! "My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    5 glowing stars!

    Lauren Smith is an insta-buy author for me...and with good reason! Lauren is a master story-teller, capturing your imagination and your heart with each of her characters. A Gentleman Never Surrenders is a great read for fans of Titanic and Downton Abbey, as it takes place in 1912. Lauren expertly weaves the details of the time period into the every day goings-on of her characters; politics, money, society rules, and the preservation of family legacy all play a part in this series. Owen and Milly are great characters to fall in love with! Brought together by an honest mistake and bad intentions (honestly, if you are sneaking around a large house at night, know who's room you are sneaking into!), their unlikely union leads to deeper feelings and a solid marriage based on earned trust and respect. We met Milly previously in book 1, and were led to think she was a cold and unfeeling person. It turns out that Lauren had us completely fooled! Milly is warm hearted, intelligent, and caring - and was unwilling to settle for a marriage that did not recognize her as an equal partner. Owen is a good man in a desperate situation - to save his family's estate. He plans to "accidentally" compromise Milly's sister so that she must marry him. He ends up in the wrong room, and finds himself married to Milly! I loved book 1 in this series, but I think book 2 has taken the cake! Owen and Milly are PERFECT together, and make me wish there was a tv series like Downton Abbey where we could see them in real life! You will NOT be disappointed in this book, or this series. HIGHLY recommended from a long time reader of this author!! :D
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    ...more than just a scandal...

    Lauren Smith has a gift for taking the misfortunes of social class from long ago and making them relevant, as she turns on the charm with her wise words and humorous spirit. A Gentleman Never Surrenders is a breath of fresh air. A little more scandal, a bit less danger and a whole lot of heart. Owen and Milly are more than just a scandal, they are a sensation.
13

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS
  • WINDOWS