Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.5 out of 5
5 Stars
3 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
3 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
0 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
0 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Such a good book

    This was an amazing story with an even better message. I absolutely loved it, the characters were wonderful, and like it said at the beginning of the book, while the book was fictional. It has real issues that should be talked about like racism and homophobia. The characters were wonderful as well, I loved Chiamaka's character the most. And Devon was such a great person as well. I picked it up because of the Gossip Girl reference in the summary and the beautiful cover, and this did not disappoint the high hopes I had for it. It was pretty suspenseful, the idea got pretty dark fast and the whole Aces thing was so utterly twisted and messed up to read, it made me sick. Devon's past and the place he was in is something that is very real, and the way those boys reacted to him is the same. And while that wasn't very fun to read, I liked how real this book was. As for Chiamaka, I found it so messed up what they did to her even more, the way they made her think she was the queen of the school only for it to be game. This book was very dark. There were definitely some light parts and Chiamaka was pretty funny sometimes though. The high school aspect of it was alright, and the special rich-kid private school wasn't too bad, maybe some inaccuracies. It does have some gossip girl vibes, but this book has a better message than gossip girl ever did. The plot was also rather interesting, and I truly felt bad for the characters because in no way did they deserve this. The writing wasn't amazing, it's not anything special but the story told is very important so it outweighed for me. I also felt as if the suspense was built up well but then at the end, it was a bit rushed, the end could have been dragged out more. Devon and T were very cute, and I really loved Chiamaka and Belle, it's a shame Belle was a terrible person. Also, I really liked what happened at the end, perhaps it's a bit cruel, but all those people deserved to rot in hell. Especially Jamie. Overall this was a wonderful story, and I truly do hope other people read it and like it just as much. Thank you for the ARC!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    4 person found this review helpful

    4 people found this review helpful

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • A page-turner

    Devon and Chiamaka are the only two black kids in a prestigious private academy, opposites in terms of social status but brought together when they're both targeted by an anonymous person digging up and spreading their secrets around to everyone in the school. "Ace of Spades" was one of my most anticipated reads this year. After reading the excerpt I was a little less excited, but I still knew I wanted to read it. That is to say the writing isn't really to my tastes. But both the main characters being queer and the promise of the plot was too good to pass up. I'm glad I read it; it was such an addictive page-turner and I really came to love both Devon and Chiamaka. I won't give any of the twists away, as I think it's best to go in blind. I read some other opinions on how things play out, though, and... I just want to say that exaggeration, no matter how unbelievable, can sometimes play an important role in storytelling.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Really Good

    Devon Richards and Chiamaka Adebayo are both students at Niveus Private Academy and both selected to be their senior class's prefects. Both feel honored because it puts them in the running for valedictorian in addition to looking great on college applications. However, someone who has named themselves Aces begins to send out anonymous text messages to the whole school revealing secrets that Devon and Chiamaka have spend a lot of effort trying to keep secret. These texts successfully turn their lives upside down and threaten everything that they had had planned for the future. What first seems like a disturbing prank quickly turns into a very dangerous game and Aces doesn't show any signs of stopping. Devon and Chiamaka have to work together to try and stop Aces before things turn deadly. The suspense and thrill of the writing is really good and will keep you guessing. I did not see the ending coming at all!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Mysterious Person + Leaked Secrets + Senior Year =

    Thank you to NetGalley and Macmillan Children's Publishing Group for the ARC. The version I read was a 25 page, sneak peek. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Senior year has started at Niveus Private Academy. Chiamaka -- popular and star student, is picked as head prefect for her third year in a row. Devon -- music student with a scholarship, is very surprised he was chosen for a prefect role. But both are happy, since being a prefect makes you stand out on college applications and helps your chances in the running for valedictorian. Someone starts exposing their secrets though. Secrets that may have an impact on their plans for the future. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Even though this sneak peek was only 25 pages, I really enjoyed the story. I can tell it's going to have a lot of mystery as to who the person behind the leaks is, and I can imagine that it will be a suspenseful story as well. This ARC ended with Devon finding out about his first exposed secret. It left on such a cliff hanger that I just am dying to read more!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A blend of Pretty Little Liars and Dear White Peop

    Thank you to Usborne and Bookishfirst for this ARC in exchange for an honest review! Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé is like a blend of Pretty Little Liars and Dear White People, which are two of my absolute favorite TV shows. The author admits as much in the afterword of this book, stating that she loved watching Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, but wished that there were more black people. As a PoC myself, I totally support the author in doing this! So many of the shows that I love don't have enough PoC in them. It sucks when your favorite TV show characters are all white. Unfortunately, the end result of this book just didn't "click" for me. The two main characters, Devon and Chiamika, are prefects at Niveus Private Academy, an elite high school that sends many students to Ivy League universities. However, they both have secrets, and an anonymous person is sending text messages and threatening to reveal those secrets to the whole school. I have read several 2021 YA thrillers in this vein, such as How We Fall Apart by Katie Zhao and The Ivies by Alexa Donne. I really enjoyed The Ivies, so I was expecting something similar from Ace of Spades. It was one of my most anticipated reads of 2021. That's why it's so devastating for me to rate it just 3 stars. Here is an amazing excerpt from Chapter 2, from Chiamika's point of view: "High school is like a kingdom, only instead of temperamental royals, golden thrones, and designer outfits flown in from Europe, the hallways are filled with loud postpubescent teens, the classrooms with rows of wooden desks, and students dressed in ugly plaid skirts, navycolored slacks, and stiff blue blazers. In this kingdom, the queen doesn’t inherit the crown. To get to the top, she destroys whoever she needs to. Here, every moment is crucial; there are no do-overs. One mistake can have you sent to the bottom of the food chain with the girls that have imaginary boyfriends and wear polyester unironically. It sounds dramatic, but this is the way things are and the way they will always be.' Based on this excerpt, I was expecting Gossip-Girl level antics and commentary, and I was looking forward to reading a YA thriller starring PoC. - SPOILER ALERT: SPOILERS WILL BE BELOW THIS LINE - The reveal of the anonymous people trying to ruin the two main character's lives was way too unrealistic. I was expecting the racism that they face to be realistic and reflect actual real-world racism, and there was definitely some of that in the book. But the idea that so many people were out to get them requires suspension of disbelief that is beyond my limits. I get that the author was trying to write something allegorical, but it's just too unbelievable. I would have preferred a reveal and ending with just 1-2 culprits. Overall, Ace of Spades is an enjoyable YA thriller that has black students in starring roles. I liked the concept more than the actual execution. I think it will appeal to fans of Pretty Little Liars, Dear White People, as well as upcoming thrillers like The Other Black Girl, How We Fall Apart, and The Ivies. Unfortunately, I just enjoyed all of the previously mentioned works more than I enjoyed this one. If you're intrigued by the excerpt above, or if you're a fan of the YA thriller genre, I still recommend that you check out Ace of Spades when it comes out in June!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS