Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem
Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.7 out of 5
5 Stars
2 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
1 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
0 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
0 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Different - Backswoodsy Murder Mystery & More

    Ain’t Nobody Nobody by Heather Harper Ellett Tragedy seem to find many of the characters in this book. The existence of all seems to be difficult with little money or food not much to look forward to. What one is wiling to do to make money gets some into trouble. Suicide, Murder, mysteries, drugs and money may or may not balance out friendship, family and community in this story. I came away feeling a little bit dirty at the end of the book and wishing that there had been “more” for those who survived and also for those that didn’t. In the end, though the feral hogs were being trapped and killed it seemed they survived and thrived better than t he humans. Was the book well written? Yes Did I enjoy it? On the fence Would I read more by this author? Maybe Thank you to NetGalley and Polis Books for the ARC – this is my honest review. 3-4 Stars

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Gotta Love a Hero Who's Addicted to Dr. Pepper!

    Gotta Love a Hero Who's Addicted to Dr. Pepper! What a crime story! This story is told in the slow back-woodsy style of the characters. The story slowly unfolds until the final reveal. Awesome, different and entertaining. I received this ARC book for free from Net Galley and this is my honest review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • The Perfect Debut

    Poignant and hilarious in tandem, Ain't Nobody Nobody is the book you didn't know you should be reading. From the moment I saw the hog beneath the title on the cover, I knew I had to read this book. Because I, too, grew up checking on hog tracks and waking the next day to the devastation they could wreak on your yard. Eliot is a local to East Texas, and it shows from the colloquialisms, the mannerisms and the true grit of its characters. I was watching out for certain things when I dove into Eliot's dark comedy, and more than pleased when she delivered in spades. Ain't Nobody Nobody takes place in "the thicket," or what most would consider the middle of nowhere. Former county Sherriff, Randy Mayhill is living with one foot in the past and the other in denial. You could say this story is the world according to Randy Mayhill. The disgraced Sherriff has little to his name: a one-room shack on his dead best friend's property, three dogs and a desperate need to somehow make a difference. When his former best friend's daughter Birdie finds herself in the worst possible pickle—how to dispose of a dead body—Mayhill rises to the occasion. Caught in the thick of things is poor Bradley, Birdie's "just-a-friend." All three people (because soon enough you stop thinking of them as characters) want simple things. Randy wants affirmation, Birdy wants her dad back, and Bradley just wants a better life. Finding a dead body is just the beginning of their story, and as you hope, lead them to a satisfying ending. Everything about Heather Harper Eliot's crafting is superb, in particular, her gift for blending humor and subjects you never would have thought could go so well together. You will laugh and you may shed a tear, but you'll certainly love every witty turn of phrase. Above all, I dare you not to be pulled in by the heart of this fantastic book. The truth is in the title, after all: Ain't Nobody Nobody. The perfect read for fans of Fargo and Justified, Heather Harper Eliot's debut highlights truths and mystery within the Piney Woods.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID