Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.6 out of 5
5 Stars
41 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
6 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
4 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
2 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • AMAZING

    Could not put this down! the characters were so complex tht they fel like my real friends. So many emotions while reading this. basically gay fantasy percy jackson but very aware of itself.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Hilarious and heartbreaking

    Hilarious and heartbreaking and really, really good.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • In Other Lands

    This is honestly one of my favorite books of all time. Its hilarious, and uniquly written with a diverse cast of characters. It looks at hard topics but presents them in a way that makes it easy to read and it dosen't swallow up the cool adventure and action parts of the book. Synopsis: Elliot Schafer can see the border. The large wall that divides the modern world from the border lands, a magical relm filled with harpies, humans, elves, dwarves, and mermaids! When Elliot gets the chance to leave his old life behind to live in the border lands he accepts, after all it's not like anyone will miss him. But things aren't perfect in the border lands. The girl of Elliot's dreams prefers his Frienemy Luke Sunborn to him, Elliot keeps getting into problems that he might not be able to fix, and everyone in the border camp (the place Elliot lives) keeps trying to find solutions with swords and war instead of words and peace. 5 things I liked about this book 1. The characters Elliot was an amazing main character. He's sarcastic, smart, stubborn and lovable, his relationships with the other characters were fresh and real. Elliot struggles with abandonment, and throughout the book he worries that he is unlovable and will always be second best to Luke, but it isn't annoying, it just helps you sympathize with him. Elliots veiw on violence is quiet refreshing too. In this world of YA books you'd be hard pressed to find an adventure book where the main character is a pacifist and a diplomat in a world where people really like stabbing things. It was really eye opening and enjoyable because it was so unique. The other characters are just as unique and amazing. This book has a large portion of LGBTQ charcters (including Ellilot who is bisexual) and it was presented in a way that was very real and powerful. Serene, Elliot's crush is so much more than a love intrest and is an extreamly kick butt, girl power character. Luke, Elliot's frienemy defys the sterotypes by being a golden boy jock in the beginning and growing into a much more 3-D relatable character. 2. The world The borderlands takes every cliche magical world and makes it its own. I loved to see the different diverse cultures of every species that lives there and it was very clear the author put lots of effort into detailed but easy to understand world buildng. 3. The refreshing outlook on gender In the borderlands you get to look at two sides of the sexism spectrum. The humans that live in the borderlands are less progressive than we are with many discriminating against women. On the other side the Elves are a culture where men are the ones looked at as gentle and delicate and women are the warriors. It was incredibly insightful seeing these two cultured interact and it gave me a fresh perspective 4. The pacing As with everything else the pacing was unique using sections for each year of Elliot's life (13-17) instead of chapters. It really helped the story flow. 5. The relationships. There were so many kinds of relationships in this book and all of them were different, giving intresting perspecriv sand showng multipul types and kinds of love from the love of family to the love of a partner or girl/boyfriend. All in all a remarkable and unique read (I've read it at least 5 times). Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments, Percy Jackson, or books by becky albertalli or shaun david hutchinson. So unique and amazing, and SUPER funny. great job Sarah Rees Brennan!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • The nerdy snarky Hero I needed!

    I kept picturing Elliot’s voice as Eustace from Narnia’s “Prince Caspian” but with more hilarious wit ,courage and sex appeal!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID