Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.0 out of 5
5 Stars
58 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
52 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
22 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
8 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
6 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • cozy murder mystery

    I've been getting more into cozy mysteries lately, and this queer relationship-in-trouble mystery was just what I needed. I am a huge true crime fan, so I enjoyed the true crime aspect, and that Liza was a true-crime podcaster made this mystery more fun for me. I loved the interactions and banter between the characters, it's what I've come to expect from Alexis Hall's books. The murder mystery part of this book was engaging and I had fun trying to piece everything together. I'm not usually a fan of relationship-in-trouble tropes, but I thought that it was nice to see how simply time can change things and a new perspective is sometimes necessary.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    3 person found this review helpful

    3 people found this review helpful

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 Mystifying Stars!

    4 STARS! “... a cozy mystery that revisits the Golden Age of detective fiction, starring a heroine who’s more podcaster than private eye and topped with a lethal dose of parody -- perfect for fans of Clue, Knives Out, and Only Murders in the Building!” This was a fun and witty "cozy" mystery about Liza and Hanna, a couple who decide to take some time away to work on their crumbling marriage. But, instead of being able to focus on their relationship, they find themselves right slap in the middle of a wild murder mystery. I am a true crime junkie. My husband and I actually just finished Only Murders in the Building, which was fantastic, by the way, and highly worth the watch. We pretty much watch all the crime shows we can get our eyes on, and I also love a good true crime podcast. This story had the feel of Clue or even Adam Sandler's Murder Mystery. Liza and Hanna are staying at a hotel in Scotland when a snow storm hits, and all the guests get locked in the building...along with a dead guy. One dead guy...for starters. Liza is actually a very successful crime pod caster...something that's a bit of a sore subject at the moment since there were recent romantic rumors about her and her co-star... This was such an entertaining read that I loved curling up with, with witty writing and an interesting cast of side characters (aka - suspects). It kept me guessing right up until the very end, and even then I was wrong! I would recommend it to pretty much any fans of thriller/mystery/suspense reads, or even newbies to this genre who are just looking to dip their toe in to see if it's for them. I enjoyed the narration and both the narrators. I did find some of the British expressions kind of hard to follow. I even had to look a few up because I had no idea what they were talking about. Other than that, I really enjoyed this story and would definitely read Alexis Hall again!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    3 person found this review helpful

    3 people found this review helpful

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Alexis, in the library, with a book

    Channeling the classic who-done-it, murder mystery detective novels, Alexis delivers a funny, slightly crazy yet heartfelt story, that's bound to have you searching for clues and examining every line. Full of whacky and colorful characters, twists and turns you wouldn't expect and some serious real relationship talk, this is the perfect novel for anyone who will not turn down a game of clue. 4 stars and a mystery

    Thanks for your feedback!

    2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Would love to see this as a movie!

    3.5* Murder Most Actual was a fun read, in that cozy murder mystery kind of way. It was reminiscent of the board game and movie Clue, wondering whodunit, where, and with what! But it was also heartfelt, in that Hanna and Liz's marriage was on the rocks, and Hanna booked this trip with the best of intentions, until everything went awry. As I was reading Murder Most Actual, I felt like I was right there in the midst of things. This book would make for a great screen adaptation. Alexis Hall did a really terrific job of bringing each scene to life, through the characters, his words, and descriptions. He kept me guessing on the "who" right until the very end, and I still got it wrong! And that's why Liz is the true crime podcaster and I just watch paranormal shows.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • A fun, cozy, snowy, British murder mystery!

    4.25 Stars Liza and Hanna. They've been together for ten years now and things are not good in their marriage. That's why Hanna booked them into a castle hotel in Scotland for a romantic weekend getaway - without asking Liza - which is kinda part of their problems. And instead of working on their relationship they land in the middle of a crazy murder mystery with all kinds of interesting hotel guests aka suspects. Let the fun times begin ... ═══════════════ Well, that was interesting. And funny and crazy and a bit heartbreaking with their crumbling marriage. It was like reading or watching one of those old murder mystery movie thingies where we're in some old library trying to guess who did it. You know? The Professor, the rich heir, the priest, the beautiful mysterious lady et cetera. 🤣 All those hotel guests locked in that hotel due to the snow storm and one dead guy (for starters) ... lots of suspects and mysteries and questions. Perfect for our crime podcaster Liza. But horrible for finance-numbers girl Hanna. She wanted to get away from their work to heal their marriage! I think I don't really have to say much more - the beginning of the blurb already explains the book perfectly: ... a cozy mystery that revisits the Golden Age of detective fiction, starring a heroine who’s more podcaster than private eye and topped with a lethal dose of parody -- perfect for fans of Clue, Knives Out, and Only Murders in the Building! I really liked detectiving with Liza and Hanna in this beautiful but slightly creepy setting! I so wouldn't mind seeing this as a movie! I didn't love the extreme British-ness of the book. It needs to be British to be amazing - to be what it needs/wants to be, but it was a little bit too much for me. There were soo many expressions and words and names thrown in that a non-English person just doesn't know what to do with. Also, the beginning of sentences were often weird. When someone talked, they kind of stuttered. "I... uh...it's...I...uhm." I know what it's supposed to achieve - and it would make sense if this were a movie, but in a book it just stops my reading flow. 😏 But still - I loved reading it. It wasn't edge-of-your-seat thrillerish, but it was cute and cozy and snowy and mysterious and dangerous ... just a cozy fun couch read! ► MURDER MOST ACTUAL was a fun, cozy, snowy, British murder mystery! Run to your nearest kobo to find out who the bad guy(s)/girl(s) is/are - and to see if Liza and Hanna will survive their romantic weekend! 😱

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS