Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

3.5 out of 5
5 Stars
18 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
27 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
20 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
8 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
6 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Slow Suspenseful Mystery

    Such a Quiet Place is set in Hollow’s Edge, a small idyllic neighborhood in a college town. A year and half ago, two neighbors were murdered and one of the neighbors, Ruby, was convicted of the crime. Harper, her roommate, is surprised to see Ruby waltz back into her house after being released from prison due to her conviction being overturned. Suspicion begins to rise in the neighborhood as everyone worries the killer will strike again. Three words to describe this book: Slow. Secrets. Lakeside. Cover: I loved the cover which is an aerial view of Hollows’ Edge a neighborhood which plays such a big part of the novel. Character Development: I found the character development generally lacking, especially of Harper and Ruby. The author spends a lot of time discussing big events in their life but not much about who they are at their essence. World-Building: Miranda does an excellent job building the world in a small college town near a beautiful lake. I felt like I could clearly picture this neighborhood even though I don’t think I’d like to visit! Plot & Pacing: This book is a slow-burn mystery. A bit too slow for my taste. I think part of the slowness is we were told vague recollections of the original event and trial, but not given specific details. It was the classic telling instead of showing the reader. Mostly, I wanted to know more about the original trial so that I could better understand the current events. Despite the slow build, the ending was great and quite thoughtful. Twists/Shocks: As an avid thriller reader, I did not guess the ending. It was something I was not expecting at all. That said, there were not a lot of twists throughout the book. You might like this book if: You enjoy slow-burn mysteries. You want a thriller without gore, violence, or large scares. You enjoy reading about a neighborhood and how everyone relates to one another. ARC was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    7 person found this review helpful

    7 people found this review helpful

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • For fans of Big Little Lies and Little Fires

    For fans of Big Little Lies and Little Fires Everywhere I think Megan Miranada is one of the best, current domestic suspense authors. She is brilliant at creating a creepy, relatable atmosphere filled with a cast of characters that you might find in your own life. In Such A Quiet Place, Miranda sets her mystery in Hollow’s Edge, a private suburb filled with nosey parkers. They have a neighborhood watch, shared amenities and their own message board where everyone is in each other’s business. All was good in the hood until Brandon and Fiona Truett were found dead in their home from carbon monoxide poisoning. Their dog walker and fellow Hollow’s Edge resident Ruby, was convicted for the double murder but after 14 months in jail she was exonerated on a technicality. She is now back baby, and her former roommate and narrator Harper, isn’t sure if she is back for revenge, to clear her name, or to start fresh. One of the themes of this novel is surveillance. How many times do you appear on someone’s camera each day? Can this be used to save you or incriminate you? Your digital footprint can be easily manipulated against you. This novel definitely made me paranoid 😳 This is a true domestic suspense, which means no crazy motivations, unreliable narrators or forced twists. If you like thrillers packed with intense drama you will probably find this a slow read.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Perfect summer read

    Such A Quiet Place is a closed door mystery except in this case its a closed community. Hollow's Edge sounds like the perfect place to live; until two of their closed community are found dead and Ruby in prison for the murder has just been let out. Ruby returns to Hollow Edge and everyone is wary. No one wants her back. The only one who feels responsible and somewhat guilty that Ruby was in prison is Harper and she is quietly watching and wants to clear the air. I was suspicious of them all at one time or another. No spoilers here, just pick up your copy and get lost in a page turning read.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Lots of twists

    I would like to begin by thanking NetGalley and Simona and Schuster Canada for allowing me to read the ARC of this book. I have read and loved several other books by this author and she continues her run of great books with Such A Quiet Place. This is a mystery with numerous twists and false leads that keep you guessing whodunnit until the last chapter. The book has a slow but steady storyline that keeps you on your toes. Ruby was charged and convicted of murdering a couple in her small, close knit community. Everyone living there knows each other and most work at the nearby college. At her trial, her neighbours all testify against her. Each of them seem sure that she is guilty. But somebody sends her lawyer enough evidence to get her released and I stead of moving somewhere else Ruby goes right back to the quiet little community to see what she can stir up. While the story is all about Ruby, the author actually tells the story through the eyes of her ex roommate and friend, Harper. This is what provides all the twists as we aren’t told what Ruby is thinking or doing. The book makes one look at what people will do to protect themselves, even if it’s something minor and even if the results are devastating to another. This isn’t a creepy or scary book but full of mystery. A good read.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A slow-burn thriller for the summer

    A common statement made regarding modern living: “I don’t even know who my neighbors are”. After reading Miranda’s latest book, I’m not sure that’s such a bad thing. In the tight-knit community of Hollow’s Edge, neighbors know each other, gathering in each other’s homes or at the local pool, gossiping and empathizing, generally living in each other’s space. And then the Truett’s die under suspicious circumstances. Ruby is found guilty, and why not? She had access to the house, she’s acted suspiciously, and was accused of stealing from her neighbors. And those darned security cameras saw her out that night. But when she’s suddenly released after 14 months and the charges dropped, nobody knows what to think. And why has she returned to Hollow’s Edge? Is she set to claim her next victim? A slow start had me worried about a book that had been lauded as a psychological thriller, one of my favorite genres. I shouldn’t have worried, because once this story got going, I couldn’t flip pages quickly enough. The paranoia and suspense that oozed from some of these pages, with well-timed twists, had me guessing and re-guessing, never sure of what the final outcome would be. This book will be a great addition to that thriller stack that keeps you company poolside this summer. Thanks to NetGalley and Simon and Schuster Canada for providing an advance copy in exchange for an honest review. This book is available now.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS