More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
See your RECOMMENDATIONS

Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

4.1 out of 5
37
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
14 17 2 2 2

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Reviews

  • 1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Charming!

    The Dangerous Duke of Dinnisfree is the perfect romantic love story that made me fall in love for the Regency era! I really adored, this book, nicely written by Julie Johnstone. I found it refreshing, full of love, secrets, danger, loyalty and passion! Her characters, Justin and Anabella were charming and adorable! Ms. Johnstone is a talented writer with a warm style of writing that kept me reading until their romantic story was finished. Desperate to protect her parents from poverty, Miss Anabella will do anything to achieve her goal until she meets Justin who has a mission too. Love will be in the air for those two lonely hearts and their beautiful friendship will bloom into a beautiful passion! If you love romance set during the Regency era, The Dangerous Duke of Dinnisfree, will be a delight to read! This is the fifth book in the Whisper of Scandal series!
  • 1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Passionate, and awe-inspiring tale!!

    #5 in the heart pounding "A Whisper of Scandal", but can be read as a stand alone. Fast paced, adventure filled with engaging and mesmerizing characters. The storyline is passionate, compelling, and intriguing. It has secrets, passion, a bit of mystery, add in some suspense, romance and what a story! Once again, Ms. Johnstone has written a story that is spellbinding, intriguing and simply mesmerizing! Fans of Historical Romance will be astounded, and thrilled as they turn from page to page. I personally, never tire of Ms. Johnstone's electrifying tales of Victorian Romance. She brings the story to life through the pages of a book! A must read! Highly recommended for fans of Historical Romance, Suspense and mystery. Another awe-inspiring tale! *Received for an honest review from the author/publisher* Rating: 5 Heat rating: Mild Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    The Dangerous Duke of Dinnisfree

    I was provided with a copy of The Dangerous Duke of Dinnisfree in exchange for an honest review and I loved it! I can honestly say that it had me enthralled and I didn’t want to put it down! This story begins with a woman named Arabella trying to figure out how she is going to pay for her mother’s hospitalization. Her mother becomes mentally ill after the loss of Daniel, her biological son. After placement into the medical home, the warden begins to threaten Arabella that she will transfer her mother to a terrible facility if her payments are not made by the following Monday. With Arabella struggling to make ends meet, her seamstress work for a very fortunate woman will have to be her saving grace. With finding out that Lady Cunnyngham is not pleased at all by her work, even though it is exactly what she ordered, so she throws a tantrum that has absolutely nothing to do with Arabella. After being forced to leave the woman’s bedchamber with the dresses and her pride diminished, she is given an ultimatum by a man who isn’t who he appears to be. With so many things spiraling down on Arabella, she is desperate to get the money for her mother as well as feed her and her father. This new character named Jude gives her hope when he tells her about a job that involves seducing a man at the local brothel. Arabella, being very desperate must decide what she holds most dear and what she is willing to sacrifice in the name of family. Is there any hope left? My favorite characters are Arabella, Jude and Justin. Arabella is such a wonderful character and her bravery is inspirational. She is pure of heart and the love that she has for her family, the only family that she has ever known, is beautiful and truly touching. After her father’s illness and her mother being placed into the hospital, she never gives up hope. Her continuance for taking care of both of them is astounding and it really captivated my attention. Jude is just so unpredictable! He is a favorite character of mine because his presence and significance in this story did take me by complete surprise. He is cunning, friendly, affectionate and hospitable—until her plans start unraveling before him. And then, there is Justin. He is the one person who really made the story fascinating! As the king’s spy, he has several skills sets that seem to all fail him upon meeting Arabella. His constant need to stay cold and numb to emotion becomes quite a challenge in which no woman has ever been able to hold over him. This feat makes him more curious, but he is leery of exposing too much for fear of his trust being misguided. Can he really trust Arabella, when everyone around him seems to have an ulterior motive? One of the most prevalent thoughts troubling him finally presents itself, who should he really be holding his allegiance to—the King or the Queen? In my overall opinion, I would highly recommend this fifth installment of A Whisper of Scandal series to anyone who enjoys historical romance. This is such a beautiful story and it held my interest throughout the entire read. I love reading about the historical context, which is credible. The originality of the story is wonderful and fascinating as is the creativity and character development. Not only are the characters well developed, but the author does a superb job of accurately linking everyone to each other during the story. I found that the element of mystery really pulled me in as well. I was so impressed by this author’s writing style and the quick pace of the story, that I downloaded the first of the series and hope to read it next month.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Heartwarming !

    Loved It! Two lonely souls afraid to love, to trust, and of getting hurt . Thrown together by fate, the two face danger, secrets , and a growing passion that they can no longer deny. It was hard to put this book down. Julie Johnstone creates a fascinating read that is surrounded with anticipation, that continues to build, leaving the reader spellbound. Happy reading!
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Wonderful addition to a great series!

    Arabella Carthright is desperate. With her father in a wheelchair and her mother in a respectable home for mental illness, the family financial situation rests in her hands. Dealt a severe blow, she doesn't know how she'll keep the roof over her and her father's head and her mother from being transferred to Bedlam until a kind gesture from a veritable stranger provides her with a rather undesirable but necessary solution to her problems. Unfortunately, not all is as straightforward as it seems but she has no choice but to see it through. As the Duke of Dinnisfree, Justin Holleman has the power and privilege that being one of the highest ranking members of the aristocracy can afford him but more than that, he also has the king's ear. As his most trusted confidant, Justin also has secrets, ones that he will die to protect as he also secretly fights to protect King and Country. But someone is out to reveal those secrets and uses Arabella to do it. Justin is suspicious and knows he should keep her at arms length but cannot deny his attraction to her or hers for him. He now questions many things in his life, the most important being will he sacrifice a once in a lifetime love for the duty he's been sworn to uphold. I loved this story and wish I could do 4.5 stars. I would've given it 5 stars but felt that a few scenes could've been expanded on just a tad bit to build the intrigue. The attraction between the H/h is believable as is the situation all the characters find themselves in. There was a twist I did not see coming but very plausible in light of the political backdrop of the story. Ms. Johnstone is a writer who never disappoints and is one of my favorite go-to authors. . I received an ARC of this novel for an honest review.
37

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • WINDOWS