More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem
Ratings and Book Reviews (49 337 star ratings
49 reviews
)

Overall rating

4.5 out of 5
337
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Star
192 112 30 2 1

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • 13 person found this review helpful

    13 people found this review helpful

    13 of 15 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Wonderful story

    This is one of those books that deserves more than 5 stars. This is a very well written story of Anke, a German midwife who was sent to a work camp during World War II because she did not follow the rules at her hospital regarding the Jewish women who gave birth. She started at the work camp as a seamstress making uniforms for the SS. She delivered a baby while at work and they transferred her to an area where she could work as a midwife which is what she loved to do. One day, she is called in and told she will be leaving to attend to Eva Braun, Adolph Hitler's mistress, who is pregnant. Anke goes to the mountains to attend Eva Braun and from there a lot of very interesting things happen. There was a lot of pregnancy/birth/midwifery details in this story that were very accurate and realistic. This is the first book for this author and she did a fantastic job. I very highly recommend this wonderful World War II story. Thank you NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC of this great book in exchange for an honest review.
  • 11 person found this review helpful

    11 people found this review helpful

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Brilliant

    This book was absolutely brilliant and if you told me it was true, I wouldn't even hesitate to believe it! It is so refreshing to read WW2 historical fiction from a German character's perspective, to see the little acts of rebellion which can add up to a bigger rebellion. It made me realise that the stories that we hear about our own countrymen working against Hitler can also be similar to many German people who were doing all that they could to rebel whilst still remaining alive - more risky as they would be labelled as a traitor if anyone discovered what they were doing. It was well-written, emotional and always had me wondering how it would play out and what would happen with 'that baby'. I think the ending added to the realism and made it more believable and even had you wanting the best for 'Frauelin' despite knowing her real-life ending. I'd 100% recommend this book to anyone! I could also see it being a brilliant film!
  • 5 person found this review helpful

    5 people found this review helpful

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Loved it!

    Touching, entertaining, historical, and a beautiful love story! A good read that’ll really hard to put down. I thoroughly enjoyed it!
  • 3 person found this review helpful

    3 people found this review helpful

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Interesting read.

    It was a good work of fiction. Although the characters and events were fictional the reader can get a feel of what it would be like during such a turmoil period of history.
  • 3 person found this review helpful

    3 people found this review helpful

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Great read

    Loved it! Such a captivating piece. Huge fan, can’t wait for more from Robotham.
337

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS