More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem

Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

4.7 out of 5
23
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
16 6 1 0 0

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Reviews

  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    I want more!

    This is the second book and I would strongly suggest reading them in order. I'm sure that you would be glad that you did, as book one sets the scenario and you would miss a lot by skipping it. I really liked The Gilded Cuff, book one in the Surrender series. I reviewed it awhile ago and I have been waiting for this one. The Gilded Cage picked up right where book one left off. This book focused on Fenn and Hayden. This book had plenty of suspense, sexy scenes including some tying and kink ;-) action and danger, plotting, romance and some tender moments too. I am happy to say that this book was just as good as the first, maybe even a little better. It was definitely worth the wait but I really hope The Gilded Chain, book three, is available quicker. :-) I received an ecopy in exchange for my honest opinion. I was glued to my kindle with very few breaks. Lauren has a way of pulling me in and wrapping me up in the words she writes. It is addictive, endearing, adrenaline spiking and super sexy. I am so ready for more! ;-) If you like your books with plenty of sexy, a huge heaping of suspense, and characters that will work their way into your heart, this series is for you!
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Wickedly delicious! A must read!

    THE GILDED CAGE by Lauren Smith is an interesting Erotica Contemporary Romance with BDSM, mystery, bondage, and suspesne. #2 in the highly anticipated "Surrender" series, while, it can be read as a stand alone, I would recommend reading "The Gilded Cuff", first, book 1 in the series. Fast paced tale of passion, romance, bull riding, and so much more. The characters are engaging, wild, and passionate. This story contains, bondage, BDSM, mystery, suspense, romance,love and finding your HEA. Twins kidnapped as infants, finally find each other after years of separation, in "The Gilded Cuff". Now with "The Gilded Cage", the story continues. This is Fenn Lockwood and Hayden Thorne's story. Fenn was traumatized, and misused during his childhood, now he finds his pleasure in his own private BDSM world. A world where erotic obsession is bound with no limits. Is Fenn worth fighting for? Hayden believes so. A heartbreaking story, one which is realistic, believable, and engaging. With characters that steal your heart as they fight for their love, finds forgiveness, healing and their HEA. Ms. Smith is an amazing storyteller, one who enthralls her readers with flawed characters, realistic plots, and believable circumstances. Fans of Erotica, Contemporary Romance, flawed characters, bondage, the BDSM world, secrets, suspense, mystery, and so much more will devow "The Gilded Cage". Can passion, ecstasy, and love make good bed fellows? Another hit for Ms. Smith, and one I would strongly recommend, but I would suggest reading "The Gilded Cuff" first, in order to get the backstory. I look forward to the next installment in the "Surrender" series. Well done, once again! Another must read! *Received for an honest review from the author and Net Galley* **Cross-posted on My Book Addiction and More dot com** Rating: 4.5 Heat rating: Hot Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    It's hot in the country! Fantastic Read!

    Hayden Thorne has nothing to lose! She is from a wealthy family, but no one understands her. Her parents want to parade her around hoping she will make a match with one of their rich associates sons. Making themselves look good. It’s all about looks. Nevermind that they don’t even ask her what she wants. She has an MBA, but her mother thinks she should forget about all that and find herself a husband. Her brother, Wes, doesn’t really pay much attention. He is a man after all and completely independent these days. She wishes there was a way to show everyone that she is just as smart and capable as they think they are. She finally figures out a way to shoe them! The Lockwood Twins were kidnapped 25 years ago before she was born! But her brother had been close to the twins, Emery and Fenn. Through him, she finds out that the missing and presumed dead twin, Fenn is alive and living in a small country town. She must get to him first and be the one to bring him home! Then maybe her parents will see her for who she really is. So she grabs the family’s private jet and takes off to find him. She finds him alright! In the middle of a bull riding ring getting thrown from a bull! The clowns are late and she is wearing a little red dress, might as well distract the bull! She jumps in the ring and saves Fenn from getting trampled and the adventure begins! Fenn can’t believe his eyes! A gorgeous woman in a barely there red dress comes out of nowhere to distract the bull that just threw him off! What the? He has no idea what is in store for him with this woman! I really liked the message in this novel! Hayden’s parents have her trapped, They control her income, her days and her future, thus the name of the book, The Gilded Cage. That is what she is living in. But she is persistent. She is strong, but she needs a little push in the right direction. This is a continuation of The Gilded Cuff and I highly recommend reading that book first. The characters are dynamic and real. The things that happen to them are heartbreaking but also very realistic. The writing is fantastic and kept me on the edge of my seat reading until way past bedtime! The teaser at the end for the next book, The Gilded Chain, has me impatiently waiting for the release of it! The “heat factor” is very high! Just be aware! <G> 8 out of 10 maybe there is BDSM, but it is not a lot and nothing hardcore.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    One of the best books I've read so far this year

    The first book I read by Lauren Smith was The Gilded Cuff and I completely fell in Love with her writing. The story of Emory and Sophie was so intriguing and heartbreaking that I simply couldn't put the book down. And I immediately knew that reading Fenn's story was simply a must. That's why I was so happy when I got the chance to review The Gilded Cage. True to the style I got to know with the first book in The Surrender Series, I was captivated by the first few words and I simply couldn't stop reading until I reached the last page. The writing is simply superb and in my opinion it cannot get much better than that. The characters are well developed, complex and very interesting. The story line in itself is quite captivating, full with a healthy dose of danger and suspense which are nicely balanced with the extremely hot, sometimes fun but always explosive interactions between Fenn and his other half Hayden. Fenn is definitely one alpha dominant male that you will salivate after. Even though he is physically identical to his twin brother and they share some character traits (such as their dominant nature), they are also quite different. I was left with the feeling that he is a little bit wilder than Emory. Where Emory closed off himself from the world and the danger, Fenn, in a way, went seeking it (bull riding is not exactly a safe sport). I have to say that finally reading his story and what exactly happened all those years ago, broke my heart and brought tears to my eyes on more than one occasion. I cannot imagine how difficult it could be to have to live through all that. Fenn's relationship with Hayden is the perfect addition to the suspenseful and dangerous story. The chemistry between them is explosive and the sparks fly from the first moment their eyes meet :) and I cannot say that I blame Hayden :) I will also want to lick that fine specimen of a man from top to bottom (although I am not really sure whether I will start with Fenn or with Emory :D). As you probably already figured out, I am definitely a fan of the Lockwood twins but I wasn't sure that I would like Hayden. In the first book I was left with the impression that she was a little bit too much of a drama queen in a way. So I was pleasantly surprised when I got to know her better in this story. It is true that she is a little bit reckless and sometimes she acts before she thinks but she is also strong, independent, smart and very loyal. She is also ready to do everything for the people she loves, and in specific on Fenn Lockwood :) In a way she is Fenn's perfect other half and exactly what he needed to help him through the nightmare he has to live through once again. In addition to all that, I loved getting small snippets of Emory, Sophie and Wes (I can't wait to read his story :)) and also meeting Callie and her father :) These scenes made the whole book just perfect :) And I don't think there is much more I can say about the story :) So in a few words if I have to summarize, I will just say that The Gilded Cage and The Surrender Series are phenomenal. The Gilded Cage is one of the best books I've read so far this year (together with The Gilded Cuff) and I definitely recommend them to everyone who enjoys their books with fast-paced action, healthy dose of suspense and danger and all that topped with off the charts chemistry between the main characters and scenes that will melt your panties and leave you breathless. I can guarantee that you won't regret reading this series and this author. I just hope that the next book in the series (Wes and Callie's) story will come out soon because otherwise I will be suffering from withdrawal issues :D This review was originally posted at Living In Our Own Story Book Blog. I received an ARC of the book in exchange of an honest review.
23

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS
  • WINDOWS