Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.3 out of 5
5 Stars
201 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
109 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
38 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
5 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
12 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Good, but...

    Still digesting. I would love to have been able to flip back and forth quickly because there are spots I feel I missed something important and its not as easy to do on an e-copy. There are a few good twists but it was not a thrilling book. It didn't have me up at night wondering what will happen next. It will however make you think a little.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    26 person found this review helpful

    26 people found this review helpful

    26 of 28 people found this review helpful

  • Not progressive enough

    This book is explicitly a damsel-in-distress tale that encourages you to believe that woman power will prevail against injustice - which is sadly not the case. While this is only the first book in the series I can't help but feel slightly disappointed by the suggestion that Lia is this intelligent and powerful creature when she never manages to defend herself once without the help of a man. She appears so helpless which is perhaps the intent to set up the next book for when she takes action, however, that just admits that this book isn't action-packed. As per YA novels there was a love triangle, one that I was admittedly confused by halfway through the book. It may have just been my misinterpretation but for the first half of the book I thought Rafe was Kaden and vice versa. This was an issue for me since I formed opinions on the characters based on what I thought their background was in comparison to how they interacted with Lia. I believe the most interesting characters in this book were the secondary ones like the gang of assassins from Venda (Griz and Eben) or the ladies back at the inn. The main characters seemed too predictable and not inspiring as heroes in my opinion. I enjoyed the installation of cultures between Vendan and Morrighese, they were colourful. Also, the ending was the best part for me. Not that it was a jolt ending by any means but the anticipation that Lia may actually be thrown into action is probably the most exciting part of this book for me. I've given this book a 3 star rating because there were intriguing elements but I got bored a lot of the time and there wasn't a vastly gripping storyline or characters. I would consider reading the sequel to see if the story picks up.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    16 person found this review helpful

    16 people found this review helpful

    16 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Very good

    I enjoyed this book very much. Could not put it down. Romance, love mystery all in one combined with suspense gives it lots of up and downs to enjoy.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    4 person found this review helpful

    4 people found this review helpful

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Great book

    Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Maria V. Snyder.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    3 person found this review helpful

    3 people found this review helpful

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • The Kiss of Deception

    Unique and kept you wandering what was going to happen next. Looking forward to reading the sequel.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS