More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem
Ratings and Book Reviews (10 18 star ratings
10 reviews
)

Overall rating

4.3 out of 5
18
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Star
10 6 0 2 0

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • 1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Must Read Thriller

    The Mistress by Jill Childs is a must read for fans of Gone Girl and Big Little Lies. “Everything’s got a price. Even friendship. Don’t make that mistake.” Laura is having a Romeo and Juliet affair with Ralph. When Ralph dies, Laura and Ralph’s wife, Helen covers it up. From school gossip and looking back at their relationship, Laura starts to wonder how well she actually knew Ralph. Laura is alone trying to figure out what is going on. She is trying to turn to the one person that understands. Throughout the book everyone is discovering more about Ralph. Ralph is an awful person but such a wonderful character. Every time I thought I had Ralph figured out, more lies were uncovered. Most of the characters I felt that way about where I wanted to learn so much about them as characters, but everything I learned made me like them less. Laura is a grown woman, having an affair with a married man hoping and expecting him to leave his wife. She is needy and clingy around Ralph. Helen is probably the most interesting character to me. It is unclear what her motivations are until farther in the book. Bea is a loyal friend and the only character I actually liked as a person other than the children. I really enjoyed the mistress. There are so many lies and deceptions. Everyone is covering up so much. Nobody really knows who to trust and if their lies will be uncovered. Everyone has their own plans, secrets and purposes. The Mistress includes cheating, child abuse, stalking, manipulation and so many secrets. The first part of the book is through Laura’s point of view. Laura is very confused and trying to figure out what is going on. I was very concerned where I thought the story was leading near the end of this section and I am so glad I was wrong. The second part of the book is through a different character’s perspective and explains a lot more about Ralph and his past. Some of the smaller plot twists and revelations I figured out before they were revealed, but the main plot I didn’t figure out until Childs revealed it. I thought the ending and all the twists fit perfectly with the story. I recommend The Mistress to thriller fans. Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for The Mistress.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    A thrilling read

    I love these types of stories and The Mistress is no exception! Jill Childs has outdone herself here and has produced a highly enjoyable read. If you love a story that is full of drama, tension and suspense, with a twist and a jaw dropping ending, then The Mistress is definitely for you! I just can’t recommend this book highly enough! In a market that can be overdone with these types of tales, Jill Child’s The Mistress, really does stand out above others I have read. Right from the opening, you are caught in its web and entangled in its wickedness, where you are held hostage till the final page! Never at any time did my focus wavier and I could not get enough of it! The story is broken up and told in two parts. The first from the perspective of the mistress (Laura) and the other, from the wife (Helen), as each gives you their side of the story and a look into their relationships with adulterer and piece of work Ralph. Never have I detested a character more than Ralph, but I have to say he has been perfectly written in his role. Jill Childs brings this story to life through writing that is both vivid and flawless. Everything just flows so well and is to the point. The story moves seamlessly between the main protagonists and never once gets to bogged down in the details. It is fast paced and there are no plot holes or unnecessary filler chapters dragging it out, making it a smooth read.The twist was unexpected and the last three words of the story, are the best and the most chilling I have read in a long while. There are so many books I have read this year that have exceeded my expectations and The Mistress is definitely one of these books! I am a new reader to Jill Child’s work having only read her previous release, The First Wife, and I am so glad that she is now on my radar. I will be looking forward to see what she comes up with for us next! Thank you to Jill Childs, Bookouture and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy of The Mistress, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    4.5 Stars!

    4.5 Stars!! I was a little hesitant to pick this one up, as I wasn't a huge fan of "The First Wife", but The Mistress had me enthralled from page one! The first half of this book is told from the perspective of the mistress, while the second half is told from the perspective of the wife. One night, Ralph, our philandering man, summons the mistress to his home to end things with her, once and for all.....and she accidentally kills him! While the mistress is beside herself, trying to figure out what to do, in walks Ralph's wife. WHAT?!?! This story is rich and well written and will have you turning the pages for more. It will also having you questioning yourself.....do you root for the mistress whose mental state is fleeting due to the guilt or the poor wife who dutifully loved her husband and cared for their child? Do yourself a favor and pick up the juicy, drama filled fun read! A special thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture, and Jill Childs for providing me with an ARC.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    A fast-paced thriller!

    “I didn’t turn up uninvited. He summoned me, with a text. The last thing on my mind was killing him.” So begins the unputdownable The Mistress by Jill Childs. In this thriller, two women tell their very different stories. Laura Dixon is the mistress. A private school teacher, shy and somewhat aloof, she falls under the spell of charismatic English teacher Ralph Wilson. He romances her with poetry and flattery but then she learns he is married and has a young daughter. Worse yet, the daughter attends the same school where she and Ralph teach and the mother is a regular volunteer there. When Ralph’s passion cools, Laura becomes obsessed and refuses to leave him alone until a visit ends with a shocking act. Helen is the betrayed wife. A former librarian, now stay at home mother, she too was drawn to Ralph’s flamboyant personality. She discovered that marriage to him is not what she was expecting. Ralph finds it impossible to be faithful to her. Still, she loves him and will do anything to save their marriage. Anything turns out to be something unexpected and extraordinary…and a total surprise! This is a fast-paced suspenseful psychological thriller full of dark, twisted moments. It is definitely a 5 star read! Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Jill Childs for this ARC.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Disturbing

    This is a very fresh story but very twisted and certainly takes revenge to an extreme. I raced my way through this, I wished I’d started it earlier in the day as I went to bed wondering how the story would progress. I found the start very unusual but it added to the psychological pressure and unfolded well.
18

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS
  • WINDOWS