More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
Ratings and Book Reviews (2 9 star ratings
2 reviews
)

Overall rating

3.6 out of 5
9
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Star
4 1 2 0 2

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • 1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    A different kind of mystery

    This book was very different than anything else that I have read. I know that there are other books out there that have characters with Alzheimer's Disease but I just have not read any of them yet. This was completely uncharted territory for me. A mystery thriller told from the point of view of an Alzheimer's patient was a unique twist that caught my interest. I just had to see this idea in its execution. I have been lucky enough that I have not had any loved ones close to me affected by Alzheimer's Disease. I have been around a few more distant relatives dealing the the disease but my experience is very limited. I really cannot say how accurately the disease is represented in this book but it seemed to me that some sections would ring true while other parts were incredibly far fetched. I think that the change in Jerry's personality seemed authentic and the most powerful aspect of the story. The change in the relationship between Jerry and his wife, Sandra, was heartbreaking. The change in roles from equal partner to caretaker would have to have a dramatic effect on the relationship which I think was well represented. Jerry's frustration with his limitations were so easy to empathize with. I thought that a lot of the mystery in this book was far fetched. I am sorry but I just don't believe that Jerry would have been able to do some of the things that he does at the end of the story at his stage in the disease. I do understand that some days can be much better than others but it was just too much of a jump for me. Unfortunately, I also guessed one of the big twists pretty early on which really lessened my overall enjoyment of the story. The way that the story was told really made it easy to guess quite a few of the big moments. I did find some humor in this story which I did enjoy. Each chapter in the book was told from more than one point in time which actually worked well. The sections from the journal showed the progression of the disease while the present day made it obvious that there was a lot that had changed. The overall mystery was not only what was happening to Jerry during the present day but also what happened during the time in between. I would recommend this book to mystery readers looking for something different. I found it to be a very entertaining book even thought it was somewhat easy to set down. This was the first book by Paul Cleave that I have read and I would definitely read other works by this author in the future. I received an advance reader edition of this book from Atria Book via NetGalley for the purpose of providing an honest review.
  • 1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    An Unreliable Narrator Par Excellence

    I love mysteries and thrillers with unreliable narrators, and there is no more unreliable narrator than one suffering from Alzheimer's disease. Well, unless the Alzheimer's patient also happens to be a bestselling author of crime fiction, with all that such an imagination entails. In Trust No One, Paul Cleave continuously shifts the point of view back and forth between Jerry Grey's "Madness Journal," written in the second person to his future, even more demented self, and third-person narration of Jerry's current situation, in which he keeps escaping from his nursing home at the same time that local women are being murdered in the ways described in Jerry's novels. Is Jerry the killer? Is someone else following his book plots, and, if so, is that person deliberately framing Jerry? And by the way, Jerry's murderous protagonist Henry Cutter has started talking, too; what does that mean for Jerry's sanity? Cleave does a terrific job in keeping all of the possibilities in play to the very end of the book. Highly recommended for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, Alice LaPlante's Turn of Mind, and other crime fiction featuring untrustworthy protagonists. Those with loved ones suffering from Alzheimer's should be prepared for a very realistic picture of that disease from the perspectives of both the patient and his family. Those who enjoy Trust No One should also consider reading Cleave's "Christchurch Noir" series. I received a free copy of Trust No One through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
9

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS