Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

United States

If you like United States eBooks, then you'll love these top picks.
Skip side bar filters
  • The Lost Continent

    Travels in Small Town America

    by Bill Bryson ...
    “The kind of book Steinbeck might have written if he’d traveled with David Letterman.” —New York magazineAn inspiring and hilarious account of one man’s rediscovery of America and his search for the perfect small town.Following an urge to rediscover his youth, Bill Bryson left his native Des Moines, Iowa, in a journey that would take him across 38 states. Lucky for us, he brought a notebook. With ... Read more

    $12.99 USD $1.99 USD

  • Unlost

    A journey of self-discovery and the healing power of the wild outdoors

    by Gail Muller ...
    Gail Muller was told she’d be in a wheelchair by the age of forty. At forty-one she set out to hike one of the world’s toughest treks, The Appalachian Trail – a 2,200-mile journey that would help her reclaim her life and heal her mind and body. An inspiring, moving and uplifting memoir for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love. As Gail took her first steps through ... Read more

    $0.99 USD

  • Tracer

    A gripping thriller full of intrigue and suspense

    by Jason Dean ...
    series Korso Thrillers #1
    ‘Unique and engaging characters woven into the fabric of a fantastic plot. Jason Dean is one to watch’ Marc Cameron, New York Times bestselling author of Tom Clancy Code of HonorWhat is a death sentence to a dead man?He was a man with many names. Moving from country to country, changing his face constantly so as to remain in the shadows, he was nothing more than a ghost. For now, he is known ... Read more

    $0.99 USD

  • Chronicles of Old Boston

    Exploring New England's Historic Capital

    by Charles Bahne ...
    series Chronicles Series
    Discover one of America's most historic cities through 30 dramatic true stories spanning Boston's 400-year history, and then visit the places where history happened on walking tours of the city's historic neighborhoods. Boston expert Charles Bahne reveals some of the city's most shocking moments, from a murder mystery on the Harvard campus to the mistake that sent two million gallons of molasses ... Read more

    $14.29 USD

  • John Muir Trail: South to North edition

    The Essential Guide to Hiking America's Most Famous Trail

    This is a complete, digital-only South-to-North edition of the best-selling John Muir Trail Lizzy Wenk's authoritative guide describes the 212-mile John Muir Trail, running from the summit of Mt. Whitney to Yosemite Valley. It provides all the necessary planning information, including up-to-date details on wilderness and permit regulations, food resupplies, trailhead amenities, and travel from ... Read more

    $13.69 USD

  • Birds of Maine

    A comprehensive and beautifully illustrated overview to the birds of MaineThe first comprehensive overview of Maine’s incredibly rich birdlife in more than seven decades, Birds of Maine is a detailed account of all 464 species recorded in the Pine Tree State. It is also a thoroughly researched, accessible portrait of a region undergoing rapid changes, with southern birds pushing north, northern ... Read more

    $32.39 USD

  • Living a Jewish Life, Updated and Revised Edition

    Jewish Traditions, Customs and Values fo

    Living a Jewish Life describes Judaism as not just a contemplative or abstract system of thought but as a blueprint for living fully and honorably. This new edition builds on the classic guide, which has been a favorite among Jewish educators and students for years. Enriched with additional resources, including online resources, this updated guide also references recent changes in the modern ... Read more

    $14.99 USD

  • Insiders' Guide® to Houston

    series Insiders' Guide Series
    For more than twenty years, the Insiders' Guide series has remained the essential source for in-depth travel and relocation information. Written by locals and true insiders, each guide is packed with useful tips on places to stay, restaurants, events, attractions, fun thnigs to do with the kids, nightlife, recreation, shopping, local history, and much more--as well as a comprehensive appendix ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • A Delicious Country

    Rediscovering the Carolinas along the Route of John Lawson's 1700 Expedition

    by Scott Huler ...
    In 1700, a young man named John Lawson left London and landed in Charleston, South Carolina, hoping to make a name for himself. For reasons unknown, he soon undertook a two-month journey through the still-mysterious Carolina backcountry. His travels yielded A New Voyage to Carolina in 1709, one of the most significant early American travel narratives, rich with observations about the region's ... Read more

    $20.89 USD

  • Denali's Howl

    The Deadliest Climbing Disaster on America's Wildest Peak

    by Andy Hall ...
    In the summer of 1967, twelve young men ascended Alaska’s Mount McKinley—known to the locals as Denali. Engulfed by a once-in-alifetime blizzard, only five made it back down.Andy Hall, a journalist and son of the park superintendent at the time, was living in the park when the tragedy occurred and spent years tracking down rescuers, survivors, lost documents, and recordings of radio communications ... Read more

    $12.99 USD $4.99 USD

  • Lonely Planet Florida

    series Travel Guide
    Lonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisherLonely Planet ***Florida***is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Kayak the Everglades, snorkel the coral reefs of Biscayne National park, and experience Miami's mix of cultures from across the Americas -all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart ... Read more

    $17.99 USD

  • Wild

    From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

    #1 NATIONAL BESTSELLERAt twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed. Four years later, with nothing more to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life. With no experience or training, driven only by blind will, she would hike more than a thousand miles of the Pacific Crest ... Read more

    $9.99 USD

  • American Notes

    For General Circulation

    A travelogue detailing Charles Dickens’s tour of North AmericaIn January of 1842, Charles Dickens and his wife, Kate, traveled from Liverpool to Boston. At the time, Dickens had already attained a tremendous level of literary success and fame, and the author hoped his travels would help him gain insight into the New World that had captivated the English imagination. Over the ensuing 6 months, ... Read more

    $2.99 USD

  • The Big Book of Pennsylvania Ghost Stories

    series Big Book of Ghost Stories
    A treasury of 125 ghost stories from the Keystone State, gathered by two of the state's best-known authors on the subject. ... Read more

    $13.69 USD

  • Haunted South Carolina

    Ghosts and Strange Phenomena of the Palmetto State

    by Alan Brown ...
    series Haunted Series
    Phantoms from Indian conflicts, American Revolution, and the Civil War still wander South Carolina. ... Read more

    $8.69 USD

  • God, Human, Animal, Machine

    Technology, Metaphor, and the Search for Meaning

    **A strikingly original exploration of what it might mean to be authentically human in the age of artificial intelligence, from the author of the critically-acclaimed Interior States."Meghan O’Gieblyn is a brilliant and humble philosopher, and her book is an explosively thought-provoking, candidly personal ride I wished never to end. . .This book is such an original synthesis of ideas and ... Read more

    $14.99 USD

  • Death in Yellowstone

    Accidents and Foolhardiness in the First National Park

    The chilling tome that launched an entire genre of books about the often gruesome but always tragic ways people have died in our national parks, this updated edition of the classic includes calamities in Yellowstone from the past sixteen years, including the infamous grizzly bear attacks in the summer of 2011 as well as a fatal hot springs accident in 2000. In these accounts, written with ... Read more

    $8.69 USD

  • Best Easy Day Hikes Yellowstone National Park

    series Best Easy Day Hikes Series
    Yellowstone National Park is one of the great outdoor destinations on the planet, with spectacular vistas, intriguing geology, and abundant and varied wildlife. This updated and revised edition, published in a convenient, pocket-size format, describes 30 of the best day hikes in the park. ... Read more

    $8.09 USD

  • Core Four

    The Heart and Soul of the Yankees Dynasty

    by Phil Pepe ...
    Tracing the careers of four instrumental players who turned around the Yankees ball club, this book shares behind-the-scenes stories from their early days together in the minors through the 2013 season, and follows them on their majestic ride to the top of the baseball world. At a time when the New York Yankees were in free fall, having failed to win a World Series in 17 years and had not played ... Read more

    $11.39 USD

  • Big Thicket Guidebook

    Exploring the Backroads and History of Southeast Texas

    Start your engines and follow the backroads, the historical paths, and the scenic landscape that were fashioned by geologic Ice Ages and traveled by Big Thicket explorers as well as contemporary park advocatesall as diverse as the Big Thicket itself. From Spanish missionaries to Jayhawkers, and from timber barons to public officials, you will meet some unusual characters who inhabited an ... Read more

    $17.29 USD

  • What I Saw in America

    An enduring portrait of America’s virtues and vices as seen by one of England’s greatest thinkersAfter losing his brother in the Great War, a troubled and depressed G. K. Chesterton accepts an invitation to join a lecture tour that will take him across the United States for the first time. Part travelogue, part exploration of the American experiment, What I Saw in America begins with a man of ... Read more

    $2.99 USD

  • Haunted Illinois

    Ghosts and Strange Phenomena of the Prairie State

    by Troy Taylor ...
    series Haunted Series
    Illinois's mysterious and often violent history has made the state a haven for restless spirits. ... Read more

    $8.69 USD

  • Cool Gray City of Love

    49 Views of San Francisco

    by Gary Kamiya ...
    "A kaleidoscopic homage both personal and historical . . . Kamiya's symphony of San Francisco is a grand pleasure." -New York Times Book ReviewThe bestselling love letter to one of the world's great cities, San Francisco, by a life-long Bay Area resident and co-founder of Salon.Cool, Gray City of Love brings together an exuberant combination of personal history, deeply researched history, in-depth ... Read more

    $12.29 USD

  • Brooklyn By Name

    How the Neighborhoods, Streets, Parks, Bridges, and More Got Their Names

    How the places in Brooklyn got their names--complete with vivid photographs and mapsFrom Bedford-Stuyvesant to Williamsburg, Brooklyn's historic names are emblems of American culture and history. Uncovering the remarkable stories behind the landmarks, Brooklyn By Name takes readers on a stroll through the streets and places of this thriving metropolis to reveal the borough’s textured past.Listing ... Read more

    $13.69 USD