Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Everyone deserves to see themselves

YA novels paving the way for better representation.
  • Cinderella Is Dead

    by Kalynn Bayron ...
    "Wholly original and captivating." - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and LonelyGirls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that's perfect for fans of Dhonielle Clayton and Melissa Albert.**It's 200 years after Cinderella found her prince, but the fairy tale is over. Teen girls are now ... Read more

    $1.99 USD

  • The Black Flamingo

    by Dean Atta ...
    Stonewall Book Award Winner!A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he’s navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican—but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.As ... Read more

    $1.99 USD

  • The Gilded Ones

    by Namina Forna ...
    series The Gilded Ones #1
    **THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTELLER!“Namina Forna Could Be The Toni Morrison Of YA Fantasy.” –Refinery 29“Fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Mulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one.” –BuzzFeed"A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold. Must read!" –Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestsellingauthor of The BellesThe most anticipated fantasy of 2021. In th. ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • All Boys Aren't Blue

    A Memoir-Manifesto

    *An Amazon Best Book of the Year optioned for television by Gabrielle Union!*In a series of personal essays, prominent journalist and LGBTQIA+ activist George M. Johnson explores his childhood, adolescence, and college years in New Jersey and Virginia. From the memories of getting his teeth kicked out by bullies at age five, to flea marketing with his loving grandmother, to his first sexual ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • Children of Blood and Bone

    by Tomi Adeyemi ...
    series Legacy of Orisha #1
    Instant New York Times BestsellerTIME Top 100 Fantasy Books of All TimeTIME 100: Most Influential People of 2020New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads ListBuzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 20182018 Kirkus Prize Finalist<str... ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • Akata Witch

    Affectionately dubbed "the Nigerian Harry Potter," Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world.Twelve-year-old Sunny lives in Nigeria, but she was born American. Her features are African, but she's albino. She's a terrific athlete, but can't go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she ... Read more

    $2.99 USD

  • Concrete Rose

    by Angie Thomas ...
    International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.If there’s one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it’s that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that the only way he knows how: dealing for the King Lords. ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • Agnes at the End of the World

    The Handmaid's Tale meets Wilder Girls in this genre-defying novel about a girl who escapes a terrifying cult only to discover that the world Outside has succumbed to a viral apocalypse.Agnes loves her home of Red Creek—its quiet, sunny mornings, its dusty roads, and its God. There, she cares tirelessly for her younger siblings and follows the town's strict laws. What she doesn't know is that Red ... Read more

    $2.99 USD

  • Deathless Divide

    The sequel to the New York Times bestselling epic Dread Nation is an unforgettable journey of revenge and salvation across a divided America.After the fall of Summerland, Jane McKeene hoped her life would get simpler: Get out of town, stay alive, and head west to California to find her mother.But nothing is easy when you’re a girl trained in putting down the restless dead, and a devastating loss ... Read more

    $8.99 USD

  • Legendborn

    by Tracy Deonn ...
    series The Legendborn Cycle
    An Instant New York Times Bestseller!Winner of the Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe for New Talent Author AwardFilled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn’s YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic.After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year... ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • Full Disclosure

    **"An unflinchingly honest, eye-opening, heartful story that's sure to keep readers talking." --Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give and On the Come Up"Romantic, funny, hopeful, and unflinchingly real." --Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon Vs. The Homosapiens AgendaThe uplifting story of an HIV-positive teen, falling in love and learning ... Read more

    $8.99 USD

  • Ghost

    series Track
    A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read.Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of the acclaimed Trackseries from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award–winning author Jason Reynolds.Ghost. Lu. ... Read more

    $7.99 USD

  • Pet

    by Akwaeke Emezi ...
    **NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST • STONEWALL BOOK AWARD WINNER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR by The New York Times • Time • Buzzfeed • NPR • New York Public Library • Publishers Weekly • School Library JournalA genre-defying novel from the award-winning author NPR describes as “like [Madeline] L’Engle…glorious.” A singular book that explores themes of identity and justice. Pet is here to ... Read more

    $9.99 USD

  • Not So Pure and Simple

    by Lamar Giles ...
    "Hysterical. I couldn’t put it down.” (Nic Stone) "I laughed, I gasped, I church grunted through every chapter." (Tiffany D. Jackson) "Heartfelt and hilarious on every page!" (Justin A. Reynolds)4 starred reviews! * An Indie Next List Pick!Two-time Edgar Award finalist Lamar Giles spotlights the consequences of societal pressure, confronts toxic masculinity, and explores the complexity of what it ... Read more

    $1.99 USD

  • The Sound of Stars

    by Alechia Dow ...
    Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves pop music work together to save humanity? A beautiful and thrilling debut novel for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth.Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world’s population.Today, seventeen-year-old Ellie Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled ... Read more

    $9.49 USD

  • The Hate U Give

    by Angie Thomas ...
    8 starred reviews · Goodreads Choice Awards Best of the Best · William C. Morris Award Winner · National Book Award Longlist · Printz Honor Book · Coretta Scott King Honor Book · #1 New York Times Bestseller!"Absolutely riveting!" —Jason Reynolds"Stunning." —John Green"This story is necessary. This story is important." —Kirkus (starred review)... ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • Ace of Spades

    Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully.All you need to know is . . . I’m here to divide and conquer. Like all great tyrants do. —AcesWhen two Niveus Private Academy students, Devon Richards and Chiamaka Adebayo, are selected to be part of the ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • Felix Ever After

    A Stonewall Honor BookFrom Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.Felix Love has never been in love—and, yes, he’s painfully aware of the irony. He desperately wants to know what it’s like and why it seems so easy for everyone but him to find ... Read more

    $9.99 USD

  • Monster

    series Monster
    This New York Times bestselling novel from acclaimed author Walter Dean Myers tells the story of Steve Harmon, a teenage boy in juvenile detention and on trial.Presented as a screenplay of Steve's own imagination, and peppered with journal entries, the book shows how one single decision can change our whole lives.Monster is a multi-award-winning, provocative coming-of-age story that was the first ... Read more

    $1.99 USD

  • Beasts Made of Night

    "...The beginning of a great saga..." —NPR.org"This compelling Nigerian-influenced fantasy has a wonderfully unique premise and lush, brilliant worldbuilding that will consume you until the last page."—Buzzfeed"...Unforgettable in its darkness, inequality, and magic." —VOYA, Starred Review"...A paean to an emerging black legend."—Kirkus Reviews, Starred ReviewB... ... Read more

    $9.99 USD

  • A Song Below Water

    A Novel

    Bethany C. Morrow's A Song Below Water is the story for today’s readers — a captivating modern fantasy about Black sirens, friendship, and self-discovery set against the challenges of today's racism and sexism.In a society determined to keep her under lock and key, Tavia must hide her siren powers.Meanwhile, Effie is fighting her own family struggles, pitted against literal demons from her past. ... Read more

    $6.71 USD

  • March: Book Two

    After the success of the Nashville sit-in movement, John Lewis’ commitment to change through nonviolence is stronger than ever — but as he and his fellow Freedom Riders board a bus into the vicious heart of the deep south, they will be tested like never before. Faced with beatings, police brutality, imprisonment, arson, and even murder, the movement’s young activists place their lives on the line ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • The Stars and the Blackness Between Them

    **A Coretta Scott King Honor BookTold in two distinct and irresistible voices, Junauda Petrus's bold and lyrical debut is the story of two black girls from very different backgrounds finding love and happiness in a world that seems determined to deny them both.**Port of Spain, Trinidad. Sixteen-year-old Audre is despondent, having just found out she's going to be sent to live in America with her ... Read more

    $2.99 USD

  • A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

    An instant New York Times bestseller!The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attraction—from debut author Roseanne A. Brown. This New York Times bestseller is perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Renée Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.For ... Read more

    $9.99 USD