Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

It's back to school season, with a side of murder and madness

Enroll in the dark side of academia — full of secret societies, chilly campuses, and suspicious teachers.
Showing 1 - 24 of 46 Results
  • Ninth House

    by Leigh Bardugo ...
    Book 1 - Alex Stern
    A LOCUS AWARD FINALIST!The mesmerizing adult debut from Leigh Bardugo, a tale of power, privilege, dark magic, and murder set among the Ivy League eliteGalaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug-dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. ... Read more

    $9.99 USD

  • Babel

    Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators' Revolution

    by R. F Kuang ...
    Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller from the author of The Poppy War“Absolutely phenomenal. One of the most brilliant, razor-sharp books I've had the pleasure of reading that isn't just an alternative fantastical history, but an interrogative one; one that grabs colonial history and the Industrial Revolution, turns it over, and shakes it out.” -- Shannon Chakraborty, bestselling author of The ... Read more

    $14.99 USD

  • In My Dreams I Hold a Knife

    A Novel

    "[A] mordant debut novel....examines what it means to covet the lives of others, no matter the cost."—The New York Times"Tense, twisty, and packed with shocks."—Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Survive The NightSix friends.One college reunion.One unsolved murder.Ten years after graduation, Jessica Miller has planned her tri... ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • Black Chalk

    One game. Six students. Five survivors.It was only ever meant to be a game.A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results.Now, ... Read more

    $4.99 USD

  • A Deadly Education

    A Novel

    by Naomi Novik ...
    Book 1 - The Scholomance
    **NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the author of Uprooted and Spinning Silver comes the first book of the Scholomance trilogy, the story of an unwilling dark sorceress who is destined to rewrite the rules of magic.FINALIST FOR THE LODESTAR AWARD • “The dark school of magic I’ve been waiting for.”—Katherine Arden, author of the Winternight Trilogy**I decided that Orion Lake needed to die after the ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • The Atlas Six

    by Olivie Blake ...
    Book 1 - Atlas Series
    The much-acclaimed BookTok sensation, Olivie Blake's The Atlas Six--now newly revised and edited with additional content.• The tag #theatlassix has millions of views on TikTok• A dark academic debut fantasy with an established cult following that reads like THE SECRET HISTORY meets THE UMBRELLA ACADEMY• The first in an explosive tri... ... Read more

    $8.99 USD

  • The Secret History

    by Donna Tartt ...
    series Vintage Contemporaries
    INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER • A contemporary literary classic and "an accomplished psychological thriller ... absolutely chilling" (Village Voice), from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Goldfinch.Under the influence of a charismatic classics professor, a group of clever, eccentric misfits at a New England college discover a way of thought and life a world away from their banal contemporaries. ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • Vladimir

    A Novel

    “Delightful…cathartic, devious, and terrifically entertaining.” —The New York Times“Timely, whip-smart, and darkly funny.” —People (Book of the Week)“A deliciously dark fable of sex and power.” —EsquireA provocative, razor-sharp, and timely debut novel about a beloved English professor facing a slew of accusations against her professor husband by former students—a situation that beco... ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • Bunny

    A Novel

    by Mona Awad ...
    **"Jon Swift + Witches of Eastwick + Kelly 'Get In Trouble' Link + Mean Girls + Creative Writing Degree Hell! No punches pulled, no hilarities dodged, no meme unmangled! O Bunny you are sooo genius!" —Margaret Atwood, via Twitter"A wild, audacious and ultimately unforgettable novel." *—*Michael Schaub, Los Angeles Times"Awad is a stone-cold genius." —Ann Bauer, The Washington PostThe Vegetarian ... Read more

    $13.99 USD

  • All's Well

    A Novel

    by Mona Awad ...
    From the author of Bunny, which Margaret Atwood hails as “genius,” comes a “wild, and exhilarating” (Lauren Groff) novel about a theater professor who is convinced staging Shakespeare’s most maligned play will remedy all that ails her—but at what cost?Miranda Fitch’s life is a waking nightmare. The accident that ended her burgeoning acting career left her with excruciating chronic back pain, a ... Read more

    $13.99 USD

  • My Dark Vanessa

    A Novel

    INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER“[An] exceedingly complex, inventive, resourceful examination of harm and power.” —The New York Times Book Review, Editors’ Choice“A lightning rod . . . brilliantly crafted.”—The Washington PostA most anticipated book by The New York Times*•* USA Today • Entertainment Weekly • <em... ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • Special Topics in Calamity Physics

    by Marisha Pessl ...
    The mesmerizing New York Times bestseller by the author of Night FilmMarisha Pessl’s dazzling debut sparked raves from critics and heralded the arrival of a vibrant new voice in American fiction. At the center of Special Topics in Calamity Physics is clever, deadpan Blue van Meer, who has a head full of literary, philosophical, scientific, and cinematic knowledge. But she could use some friends. ... Read more

    $6.99 USD

  • Plain Bad Heroines

    A Novel

    NATIONAL BESTSELLER“A delectable brew of gothic horror and Hollywood satire . . . [and] what makes all this so much fun is Danforth’s deliciously ghoulish voice . . . exquisite." —Ron Charles, THE WASHINGTON POST"A multi-faceted novel, equal parts gothic, sharply funny, sapphic romance, historical, and, of course, spooky.” —ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLYNamed a Most Anticipated Book by Entertainm... ... Read more

    $13.99 USD

  • Ace of Spades

    Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully.All you need to know is . . . I’m here to divide and conquer. Like all great tyrants do. —AcesWhen two Niveus Private Academy students, Devon Richards and Chiamaka Adebayo, are selected to be part of the ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • The Maidens

    A Novel

    **THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**"Alex Michaelides’s long-awaited next novel, 'The Maidens,' is finally here...the premise is enticing and the elements irresistible."—The New York Times"A deliciously dark, elegant, utterly compulsive read*—*with a twist that blew my mind. I loved this even more than I loved The Silent Patient and that's saying something!"**—Lucy Foley, New York Ti... ... Read more

    $14.99 USD $11.99 USD

  • Never Saw Me Coming

    A Novel

    by Vera Kurian ...
    **Edgar Award Nominee for Best First NovelNamed a New York Times Best Thriller of 2021"I devoured this riveting book through a day of travel...My desire to rush to the end clashed with my desire to savor every word. Who would be the last psychopath standing?” — New York Times Book Review"Fresh, fast-paced and fiendishly clever! If you love watching true crime and wonder about the psychopaths among ... Read more

    $13.99 USD

  • Transcendent Kingdom

    A novel

    by Yaa Gyasi ...
    **NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK! • Finalist for the WOMEN'S PRIZEYaa Gyasi's stunning follow-up to her acclaimed national best seller Homegoing is a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama.**Gifty is a sixth-year PhD candidate in neuroscience at the Stanford University School of Medicine studying reward-seeking ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • If We Were Villains

    A Novel

    by M. L. Rio ...
    “Much like Donna Tartt’s The Secret History, M. L. Rio’s sparkling debut is a richly layered story of love, friendship, and obsession...will keep you riveted through its final, electrifying moments.”—Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, New York Times bestselling author of The Nest"Nerdily (and winningly) in love with Shakespeare…Readable, smart.”—New York Times Book ReviewOn the day Ol... ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • Real Life

    A Novel

    A FINALIST for the Booker Prize, the National Book Critics Circle John Leonard Prize, the VCU/Cabell First Novelist Prize, the Lambda Literary Award, the NYPL Young Lions Award, and the Edmund White Debut Fiction Award“A blistering coming of age story” —O: The Oprah Magazine**Named a Best Book of the Year by The New York Times, The Washington Post, New York Public Library, Vanity Fair, Elle, NPR, ... Read more

    $13.99 USD $7.99 USD

  • Vita Nostra

    A Novel

    Book 1 - Vita Nostra
    “Vita Nostra” — a cross between Lev Grossman’s “The Magicians” and Elizabeth Kostova’s “The Historian” [...] is the anti-Harry Potter you didn’t know you wanted.” -- The Washington Post“Vita Nostra has become a powerful influence on my own writing. It’s a book that has the potential to become a modern classic of its genre, and I couldn’t be more excited to see it get the global audience in English ... Read more

    $13.49 USD

  • A Great and Terrible Beauty

    by Libba Bray ...
    Book 1 - The Gemma Doyle Trilogy
    The first book in the critically acclaimed New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Gemma Doyle trilogy, the exhilarating and haunting saga from the author of The Diviners series and Going Bovine.It’s 1895, and after the suicide of her mother, 16-year-old Gemma Doyle is shipped off from the life she knows in India to Spence, a proper boarding school in England. Lonely, guilt ... Read more

    $9.99 USD

  • Truly Devious

    A Mystery

    Book 1 - Truly Devious
    New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • A Study in Charlotte

    Book 1 - Charlotte Holmes Novel
    The first book in a witty, suspenseful new series about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes ... Read more

    $9.99 USD

  • Catherine House

    A Novel

    “[A] delicious literary Gothic debut.” –THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW, EDITORS' CHOICE“Moody and evocative as a fever dream, Catherine House is the sort of book that wraps itself around your brain, drawing you closer with each hypnotic step.” – THE WASHINGTON POSTA Most Anticipated Novel by Entertainment Weekly • New York magazine • Cosmopolitan... ... Read more

    $13.99 USD $12.49 USD