Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

It's back to school season, with a side of murder and madness

Enroll in the dark side of academia — full of secret societies, chilly campuses, and suspicious teachers.
  • A Deadly Education

    A Novel

    by Naomi Novik ...
    series The Scholomance #1
    **NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the author of Uprooted and Spinning Silver comes the first book of the Scholomance trilogy, the story of an unwilling dark sorceress who is destined to rewrite the rules of magic.FINALIST FOR THE LODESTAR AWARD • “The dark school of magic I’ve been waiting for.”—Katherine Arden, author of Winternight Trilogy**I decided that Orion Lake needed to die after the ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • Transcendent Kingdom

    A novel

    by Yaa Gyasi ...
    **NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK! • Finalist for the WOMEN'S PRIZEYaa Gyasi's stunning follow-up to her acclaimed national best seller Homegoing is a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama.**Gifty is a sixth-year PhD candidate in neuroscience at the Stanford University School of Medicine studying reward-seeking ... Read more

    $13.99 USD $11.99 USD

  • The Maidens

    **THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**"Alex Michaelides’s long-awaited next novel, 'The Maidens,' is finally here...the premise is enticing and the elements irresistible."—The New York Times"A deliciously dark, elegant, utterly compulsive read*—*with a twist that blew my mind. I loved this even more than I loved The Silent Patient and that's saying something!"**—Lucy Foley, New York Ti... ... Read more

    $14.99 USD

  • In My Dreams I Hold a Knife

    A Novel

    "[A] mordant debut novel....examines what it means to covet the lives of others, no matter the cost."—The New York Times"Tense, twisty, and packed with shocks."—Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Survive The NightSix friends.One college reunion.One unsolved murder.Ten years after graduation, Jessica Miller has planned her triumphant return to her southern, elit... ... Read more

    $10.69 USD

  • They Never Learn

    by Layne Fargo ...
    From the author of the “raw, ingenious, and utterly fearless” (Wendy Walker, USA TODAY bestselling author) Temper comes a dynamic psychological thriller about two women who give bad men exactly what they deserve—perfect for fans of Killing Eve and Chelsea Cain.Scarlett Clark is an exceptional English professor. But she’s even better at getting away with murder.Every year, Dr. Clark searches for ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • Ninth House

    by Leigh Bardugo ...
    series Alex Stern
    A LOCUS AWARD FINALIST!The mesmerizing adult debut from Leigh Bardugo, a tale of power, privilege, dark magic, and murder set among the Ivy League eliteGalaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug-dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. ... Read more

    $9.99 USD

  • Plain Bad Heroines

    A Novel

    NATIONAL BESTSELLER“A delectable brew of gothic horror and Hollywood satire . . . [and] what makes all this so much fun is Danforth’s deliciously ghoulish voice . . . exquisite." —Ron Charles, THE WASHINGTON POST"A multi-faceted novel, equal parts gothic, sharply funny, sapphic romance, historical, and, of course, spooky.” —ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLYNamed a Most Anticipated Book by Entertainm... ... Read more

    $14.99 USD

  • The Secret History

    by Donna Tartt ...
    series Vintage Contemporaries
    INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER • A contemporary literary classic and "an accomplished psychological thriller ... absolutely chilling" (Village Voice), from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Goldfinch.Under the influence of their charismatic classics professor, a group of clever, eccentric misfits at an elite New England college discover a way of thinking and living that is a world away from the ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • Ace of Spades

    Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully.All you need to know is . . . I’m here to divide and conquer. Like all great tyrants do. —AcesWhen two Niveus Private Academy students, Devon Richards and Chiamaka Adebayo, are selected to be part of the ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • My Dark Vanessa

    A Novel

    INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER“[An] exceedingly complex, inventive, resourceful examination of harm and power.” —The New York Times Book Review, Editors’ Choice“A lightning rod . . . brilliantly crafted.”—The Washington PostA most anticipated book by The New York Times*•* USA Today • Entertainment Weekly • <em... ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • Never Saw Me Coming

    A Novel

    by Vera Kurian ...
    "Fresh, fast-paced and fiendishly clever! If you love watching true crime and wonder about the psychopaths among us, this is the book for you!" — **Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling authorA Most Anticipated Novel of Fall 2021 by Newsweek, Goodreads, PopSugar, Crime Reads, SheReads, Crime by the Book, The Nerd Daily, and more!**You should never trust a psychopath. But what if you had no ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • A Lesson in Vengeance

    by Victoria Lee ...
    A dark, twisty thriller about a centuries-old, ivy-covered boarding school haunted by its history of witchcraft and two girls dangerously close to digging up the past. The dangerous romance and atmospheric setting makes it a perfect read for fans of dark academia.The history of Dalloway School lives in the bones it was built on. Five violent deaths in the first ten years of its existence. ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • Kill All Your Darlings

    by David Bell ...
    **A Most Anticipated Summer Read by SheReads * Motherly * Palm Beach Daily News * Frolic * Crime Reads and more!"Fans of Jean Hanff Korelitz’s The Plot may want to check this one out."--Publishers Weekly"With hints of Patricia Highsmith’s The Talented Mr. Ripley, this is a riveting thriller."--Palm Beach Daily News"Grabs you by the throat and never lets go...with a twist you’ll never see coming.”- ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • If We Were Villains

    A Novel

    by M. L. Rio ...
    “Much like Donna Tartt’s The Secret History, M. L. Rio’s sparkling debut is a richly layered story of love, friendship, and obsession...will keep you riveted through its final, electrifying moments.”—Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, New York Times bestselling author of The Nest"Nerdily (and winningly) in love with Shakespeare…Readable, smart.”—New York Times Book ReviewOn the day Oli... ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • All's Well

    A Novel

    by Mona Awad ...
    From the author of Bunny, which Margaret Atwood hails as “genius,” comes a dazzling and darkly funny novel about a theater professor who is convinced staging Shakespeare’s most maligned play will remedy all that ails her—but at what cost?A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF SUMMER 2021 SELECTED BY * ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY * VULTURE * LITHUB * REFINERY29 * GOODREADS * POPSUGAR * NOW MAGA... ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • These Violent Delights

    A Novel

    A Literary Hub Best Book of Year • A Crime Reads Best Debut of the Year • A Newsweek 25 Best Fall Books • A Philadelphia Inquirer 10 Big Books for the Fall • An O Magazine.com LGBTQ Books That Are Changing the Literary Landscape in 2020 Selection • An Electric Lit Most Anticipated Debut of the Second Half of 2020 • A Paperback Paris Best New LGBTQ+ Books To Read This Year Selection • A Passport ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • Real Life

    A Novel

    A FINALIST for the Booker Prize, the National Book Critics Circle John Leonard Prize, the VCU/Cabell First Novelist Prize, the Lambda Literary Award, the NYPL Young Lions Award, and the Edmund White Debut Fiction Award“A blistering coming of age story” —O: The Oprah Magazine**Named a Best Book of the Year by The New York Times, The Washington Post, New York Public Library, Vanity Fair, Elle, NPR, ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • Vita Nostra

    A Novel

    “Vita Nostra” — a cross between Lev Grossman’s “The Magicians” and Elizabeth Kostova’s “The Historian” [...] is the anti-Harry Potter you didn’t know you wanted.” -- The Washington Post“Vita Nostra has become a powerful influence on my own writing. It’s a book that has the potential to become a modern classic of its genre, and I couldn’t be more excited to see it get the global audience in English ... Read more

    $13.99 USD

  • Truly Devious

    A Mystery

    series Truly Devious #1
    New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • A Study in Charlotte

    series Charlotte Holmes Novel #1
    The first book in a witty, suspenseful new series about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes ... Read more

    $6.99 USD

  • Catherine House

    A Novel

    “[A] delicious literary Gothic debut.” –THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW, EDITORS' CHOICE“Moody and evocative as a fever dream, Catherine House is the sort of book that wraps itself around your brain, drawing you closer with each hypnotic step.” – THE WASHINGTON POSTA Most Anticipated Novel by Entertainment Weekly • New York magazine • Cosmopolitan... ... Read more

    $11.99 USD

  • Bunny

    A Novel

    by Mona Awad ...
    **"Jon Swift + Witches of Eastwick + Kelly 'Get In Trouble' Link + Mean Girls + Creative Writing Degree Hell! No punches pulled, no hilarities dodged, no meme unmangled! O Bunny you are sooo genius!" —Margaret Atwood, via Twitter"A wild, audacious and ultimately unforgettable novel." *—*Michael Schaub, Los Angeles Times"Awad is a stone-cold genius." —Ann Bauer, The Washington PostThe Vegetarian ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • Good Girls Lie

    A Novel

    by J.T. Ellison ...
    J.T. Ellison’s pulse-pounding new psychological thriller examines the tenuous bonds of friendship, the power of lies and the desperate lengths people will go to in order to protect their secrets.Goode girls don’t lie…Perched atop a hill in the tiny town of Marchburg, Virginia, The Goode School is a prestigious prep school known as a Silent Ivy. The boarding school of choice for daughters of the ... Read more

    $7.99 USD

  • We Ride Upon Sticks

    A Novel

    by Quan Barry ...
    **"We Ride Upon Sticks . . . is for the kind of adults who watch Stranger Things and still have, somewhere, an athletic award inscribed on a paper plate." —*NPR**NPR“Best Books of 2020****TIME “Must Read Books of 2020”****Book Riot "Best Books of 2020*******Literary Hub "Our 65 Favorite Books of 2020**Acclaimed novelist Quan Barry delivers a tour de female force in this delightful novel. Set in ... Read more

    $13.99 USD